Oh. My. God. Do you know how bad it is in most government schools compared to a SAP school? Our education system absolutely does not recognize late bloomers, just the typically "smart" kids who memorize well. It's all just cram school, route learning. Such late bloomers are regularly told they're not good enough just because the school is concerned about their overall aggregate.. my case is classic - I scored poorly in maths but my other subjects were A1-B3.. SAP school still forced me to drop Art Elective Programme, A maths and only allowed me to take a single science.. wtf is that.. I still dun understand the logic in making me drop all those subjects, why not just put me in maths remedial class? - especially AEP .. it's the subject I was best at! Stupid system.No system is perfect. Maybe you should look at the whole or compare the system to other countries. From what I know, our literacy rates are much higher than the US and they even replicated our Maths teaching system because Singapore students consistently scored high marks in international competitions.
Then my younger sister - she was in normal academic @ a govt sch.. From sec 1-4, her english was far better than her teachers! The teachers couldn't even string a grammatically correct sentence together.. on top of that, they taught the wrong pronounciation/grammar to the students. If my sister tried to correct them, they sent her our of the class! how can teachers be allowed teach subjects that they're obviously not qualified to teach? In 2001, my sis clinched 1st prize at an interschool english competition.. none of the other students in her school even got consolation.. but the school did not even recognize or reward her! Fricking incompetent.. And that's just the surface.
She's now studying overseas, where her talent is actually being recognized and properly nurtured. I'm gonna join her again soon to complete my studies, once I save up enough money!
There is alot of talent in Singapore.. but our education system ignores a large portion of it.
No one disputes the govt done a good job in the past. Now that we know they're good at handling our economy, don't you think it''s time to look at Singapore's social growth? Culture and arts - give Singapore a soul? So that when people say they're proud to be Singaporean, they can really understand what it means. And it's not just about the right to criticize them, it's about having a choice - a say in how OUR country is run. This is stuff that affects us, hello! Otherwise, it's not really our country. It's the Lee Family's country.Maybe it's time. But what do you think you should do? Overthrow the government just because it's time to look at Singapore's social growth? That would be abit extreme. Try to lobby for it through the right channels. Anyway, this is only what you think and not the majority of the people, right? I believe the government tries to listen to the people, but they can't please everybody since there are so many differing opinions. The people have chosen who they want to run the government and I seriously can't see any other party good enough to run Singapore.
Overthrow the government? Where did you get that idea from? hahaha.. read my posts again. =)Originally posted by kecang_puteh:Maybe it's time. But what do you think you should do? Overthrow the government just because it's time to look at Singapore's social growth? That would be abit extreme. Try to lobby for it through the right channels. Anyway, this is only what you think and not the majority of the people, right? I believe the government tries to listen to the people, but they can't please everybody since there are so many differing opinions. The people have chosen who they want to run the government and I seriously can't see any other party good enough to run Singapore.
How then does a first class opposition emerge if expression and mainstream media is so tightly controlled by the government? How then, with the grossly disproportionate coverage, would you know that what you see on TV and read in the news is the absolute truth? Have you done more research on the opposition to come to such an educated decision?No, I haven't. Have you? Maybe you can post some of the links here so that I can read. Maybe I will change sides and join your party.
Originally posted by spinsugar:Sorry lah, no time to read all your posts. I think I made an assumption there
[b]Overthrow the government? Where did you get that idea from? hahaha.. read my posts again. =)[/b]
What has been wrong and neglected is the emotional and social development of the self in our current generation, at the expense of our economic senses.Originally posted by spinsugar:How then does a first class opposition emerge if expression and mainstream media is so tightly controlled by the government? How then, with the grossly disproportionate coverage, would you know that what you see on TV and read in the news is the absolute truth? Have you done more research on the opposition to come to such an educated decision?
*chuckles*
during an ice-breaking session in a Singapore school, if a student says, "My ambition is to be a politician", the whole class will fall silent. Even the teacher would be at a loss for words, at least for a while. It is simply unheard of, not encouraged, not discussed. These sorts of things have to be nurtured from young.. The PAP is smart, of course - if people don't have opinions, they don't' have ideas. If they don't have ideas, there can be little room for political development outside what the PAP desires.
Get the picture?
We Singapore citizens are just not involved enough with our country's affairs.. and the PAP has traditionally been happy to let it stay that way. The most is we flip thru the govt-controlled papers and grumble about policies we don't agree with, but our opinions stay behind closed doors. We are given the illusion of having a choice - lengthy debates about our country's policies are published in the news one day, following week, the news has suddenly and mysteriously come up with a statistic that "most" singaporeans agree with that policy.If we don't question that although we see it, who's fault is that?
Let me put it this way.. We are not mature as a society yet, although not completely of our own doing, because we are not even aware of our personal rights. It is because of our immaturity as a nation that PAP cannot loosen its hold completely, and suddenly. However, that does not mean that they should not do so gradually. We need progress, and progress of a nation is not just limited to dollars and cents. A nation needs a heart, too.. a soul..an identity.. something Singapore is still sorely lacking.
All that stuff on TV and news about violent riots in the name of freedom is bullsh!t. Come on, give your own Singaporeans some credit. We're tame compared to people in other countries. If our police is so ... resourceful ... as to be able to catch teenagers in parks and issue warning letters, and harass key opposition leaders day and night, why can't they oversee a small peaceful demonstration in a blue moon? Obviously it's not that it can't work.. it's just that some people don't want you to believe it can work.![]()
Originally posted by Sardaukar:dude. lets face it. currently, no one can rule singapore better than the pap.
I am a Singaporean.I have served my NS and finished it.My roots are here.
But the events of the past week show me that the Government,no,the PAP,has not changed,not a bit.Only gotten more intelligent at suppressing dissent and alternative voices.
They have made FOOLS out of our country on a world stage,they don't even allow [b]peaceful protests or expressions of dissatisfaction.Our countrys youth are apathetic and ignorant of the world beyond.
They have shown themselves as authoritarian,inflexible dinosaurs who refuse to adapt and will die,always looking to the past.The damn riots were 40 years ago.Is there a chance now?Yes.It is likely?No.
They suppress our civil rights, brainwash our youth and expect us to conform to a few standard ideals.
I am sick of the apathy of my generation.I am sick of the lack if idealism and motivation among our people.I am sick of people complaining unnecessarily.I am sick of people taking the easy choice instead of the right choice.I am sick that we cannot express ourselves,that we lack self-respect as a nation.
I am sick and disgusted and tired of it and disillusioned with it.I am tired of inaction,I am tired of the government having too much power.I am sick of Lee Kuan Yew and the Lee political dynasty wielding so much power.I am sick of politicians who serve their own interests instead of the people and the country.I am sick of the promises made by Lee Hsien Loong that have not been kept.I remember in his 2004 National Day address,when he promised Singaporeans more freedom,to include each and every Singaporean,regardless of race,language or religion,in the process.
I am sick and tired of how they marginalise Malays during NS.I am sick that they marginalise the other languages,always promoting Mandarin.I am sick of the lack of passion in our people.I am sick that so few of us stand up to the PAP.I am sick that we don't stand our ground.I still remember 2004,when our current PM visited Taiwan,and kow-towed to the mainland.
I am tired of how Lee Kuan Yew still holds the reins,refusing to let Singapore grow,always looking to the past,always pounding on about it.I am sick of the fact that we have a farce of an opposition,simply because Lau Lee,the Old Man,is too damn scared of a little criticism.He had done so much for the country,but he holds it back now,by his continued involvment in politics.His time is past.We can learn,but now is our time,not his.
My name is Yap Shi Wen.And I can't stand it any more.Any one can find me on Frienster.Any one can send me a message.That is my real name.I have had it,and I'm not tolerating it any longer.
I agree with you. The leaders of Singapore should be among the most capable and also honest ones around here, to be able to take care of us. PAP has ruled Singapore for 41 years and Singapore has established itself as a reputation of a clean, green city with different races living together and striving to live a better life.Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:dude. lets face it. currently, no one can rule singapore better than the pap.
why?
because the pap hasnt allowed the opposition face of singapore to grow.
so now we're all stuck in the choose-us-or-die-trap.
how to break free of that trap? thats the first question we must answer before we can even talk about changing the face of singapore.
honest? i beg to differ...all politicians are great in mind and speech games..Originally posted by tanjun:I agree with you. The leaders of Singapore should be among the most capable and also honest ones around here, to be able to take care of us. PAP has ruled Singapore for 41 years and Singapore has established itself as a reputation of a clean, green city with different races living together and striving to live a better life.
I dun really comprehend your phrase over here "I beg to differ" regarding honesty as it can bring about lots of intrepretations. Do you mean that they are not transparent or they are corrupt for example?Originally posted by duotiga83:honest? i beg to differ...all politicians are great in mind and speech games..
what imean was in the world of politics there is no black or white.....there are lots of grey areas....Originally posted by tanjun:I dun really comprehend your phrase over here "I beg to differ" regarding honesty as it can bring about lots of intrepretations. Do you mean that they are not transparent or they are corrupt for example?
Originally posted by Sardaukar:Aiyah Singapore very good already lor...go other places also got other things one la...think again...how many countries in this world allow to log on to the net in ur comfy chair and let u sitback and kaobei on all these stuff? Go some jungle and live alone la...u be ur own gov...im sure pretty soon u'll be craving for combat ration...
I am a Singaporean.I have served my NS and finished it.My roots are here.
But the events of the past week show me that the Government,no,the PAP,has not changed,not a bit.Only gotten more intelligent at suppressing dissent and alternative voices.
They have made FOOLS out of our country on a world stage,they don't even allow [b]peaceful protests or expressions of dissatisfaction.Our countrys youth are apathetic and ignorant of the world beyond.
They have shown themselves as authoritarian,inflexible dinosaurs who refuse to adapt and will die,always looking to the past.The damn riots were 40 years ago.Is there a chance now?Yes.It is likely?No.
They suppress our civil rights, brainwash our youth and expect us to conform to a few standard ideals.
I am sick of the apathy of my generation.I am sick of the lack if idealism and motivation among our people.I am sick of people complaining unnecessarily.I am sick of people taking the easy choice instead of the right choice.I am sick that we cannot express ourselves,that we lack self-respect as a nation.
I am sick and disgusted and tired of it and disillusioned with it.I am tired of inaction,I am tired of the government having too much power.I am sick of Lee Kuan Yew and the Lee political dynasty wielding so much power.I am sick of politicians who serve their own interests instead of the people and the country.I am sick of the promises made by Lee Hsien Loong that have not been kept.I remember in his 2004 National Day address,when he promised Singaporeans more freedom,to include each and every Singaporean,regardless of race,language or religion,in the process.
I am sick and tired of how they marginalise Malays during NS.I am sick that they marginalise the other languages,always promoting Mandarin.I am sick of the lack of passion in our people.I am sick that so few of us stand up to the PAP.I am sick that we don't stand our ground.I still remember 2004,when our current PM visited Taiwan,and kow-towed to the mainland.
I am tired of how Lee Kuan Yew still holds the reins,refusing to let Singapore grow,always looking to the past,always pounding on about it.I am sick of the fact that we have a farce of an opposition,simply because Lau Lee,the Old Man,is too damn scared of a little criticism.He had done so much for the country,but he holds it back now,by his continued involvment in politics.His time is past.We can learn,but now is our time,not his.
My name is Yap Shi Wen.And I can't stand it any more.Any one can find me on Frienster.Any one can send me a message.That is my real name.I have had it,and I'm not tolerating it any longer.
Let me say something from the other side of the fence. I have been abroad very frequently on a yearly basis, often for weeks and months. And I have friends and family who live abroad.Originally posted by gohkatkat:if you have not gone overseas and stayed in their place for some time....you won't be able to differentiate whether our country is really F uped......
i would rather say...........the gov is doing a job by protecting the country's interests...........although we might have lost in terms of free speech and democracy.......we have a huge enormous economic powerhouse.........our economy is quite okay.......considering we are so small
in some countries........if you ever heard.....like i heard that south africa whites are quite racist..........economic poverty in poland with lots of unempolyment.........
racial tensions..........which i am happy to say....in singapore.....which is small........survives on race stability......which i am happy because i have encountered racial tensions myself before...........
used to be like you who complained about this and that previously.....but now...i rather think about loving my country.........only when you have been exposed to outer influence and seen such race relations tensed up..........would you then realise that singapore is better at handling race relations........
Originally posted by Matthew Lim Li Hao:correct
there...Originally posted by hard888:Go to Malaysia or Indonesia lah, no one will marginalise Malays there, but will marginalise Chinese.
They always promoting Malays, so u will not be sick!
A very good point you have brought up here.Originally posted by CosmoKing:This is a very dangerous comment...if such postings were brought to the attention of the authorities or escalated to the media by disgruntled readers, it will easily get the writer in trouble. Don't forget that there is a precedent case of bloggers being charged for racist comment and the government will just be too happy for some more to take the bait. that way, they are seen to be doing their job and 'justify' their reasons to police the net. Usually starts like this... some xxx poster left some racist comments that caused discomfort to readers, someone calls the media or reports to mda, the media follows-up, someone wrote to the authorities, they investigate, tracked down xxx, springs a surprise visit at 2am in the morning, seized his/her computer..thereafter, they interviewed the xxx poster, family/friends, let off with a stern warning, fined, jailed, community service, black list front page news etc etc...perhaps, just one passing silly oft the cuff comment, but in life as on the internet and even in a community forum, when one gets in trouble, friends desert and he is often left alone to bear the brunt. many are just self-serving and try to push the envelope to see where the ob markers are. in a bigger picture, racists feelings at one point or the other, are always present for most, perhaps this can be attributed to the society we live in, the education system, upbringing and the elitist mindset, but just be cafeful, it is not worth to be the pawn or sacrificial lamb even if you are extremely bored.