Of course, the govt will say we are heavily subsidised....the land cost which the lift occupy is base on their XXX figure to calculate mah...Originally posted by ShutterBug:Ten months later, still no lift-upgrading work
Sep 22, 2006
The Straits Times
I LIVE in Block 132 in Simei. Last November, residents voted for lift upgrading. Ten months later, physical work for the lift upgrading has yet to start. I enquired with the appointed contractors on the tardiness and was told that they were awarded the contract only recently and were still sorting out some paperwork.
I am aware that government departments, including town councils, assign contracts through tenders but 10 months is too long for work to start on a relatively small project.
Residents were told the lift upgrading was heavily subsidised and we were slated to contribute only 5 per cent of the cost. Each household would be required to pay about $1,300. The total cost would therefore amount to about $1.5 million.
While I have no problem in contributing my share, I would like to know how the high figure of $1.5 million was arrived at for three lift shafts for a four-storey building housing 54 apartments.
More than 80 per cent of Singaporeans reside in HDB flats and the Government is embarking on lift upgrading for all blocks where feasible.
HDB and the town councils owe residents an explanation on the speed of the work process and the costing/proportion of residents' share.
Tan Say Yin (Miss)
I know I voted against but somehow it always seem to become a yes...Originally posted by charlize:I have often heard this among some Singaporeans who voted against upgrading, that somehow or other, the results of the voting are never publicised to the residents.
They just tell you yes, they are upgrading or no, they are not.
Is it really true?
So where do they officially put up the results like how many people voted, how many voted for or against etc?Originally posted by mistyblue:I know I voted against but somehow it always seem to become a yes...
No numbers, just send a flyer into mailbox and state above X% voted for the LUP. I went like LPPL!Originally posted by charlize:So where do they officially put up the results like how many people voted, how many voted for or against etc?
They put up the results in the town council or what?
It has been said many times by ministers, not just Mah Bow Tan, that nothing comes free. 'There's no free lunch!', coined PM Lee Hsien Loong during one of his rally speeches.Originally posted by duotiga83:down till the end you need to pay for the upgrade also.....so back to square one...
you pay what you get
Like I said; the ruling party in the next GE, will begin to see the muddy bottom.Originally posted by BillyBong:It has been said many times by ministers, not just Mah Bow Tan, that nothing comes free. 'There's no free lunch!', coined PM Lee Hsien Loong during one of his rally speeches.
Certainly, with the skill that makes houdini appear juvenile, the ruling party has mastered the art of give with the right, take with the left. Now, they seem to have 'upgraded' to 'give once and take twice', a remarkable strategy when the ruling party implored residents to give them their votes, then subsequently sucked more money from them with the upgrading carrot.
But at least, some light has managed to penetrate the dense foliage created, as the WP successfully denounced their upgrading carrot as using taxpayer's monies for a political party's benefit. That the Ruling party sidestepped this line of accusation shows just how on-target the WP was.
Hopefully, Singaporeans who did indeed vote for the Ruling Party the last time round will wake up from their eternal slumber, and learn to wield their votes wisely next time, instead of complaining a million times over but remain a silent PAP supporter.
there is never any push factor to excel if there is no credible political rivalry.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Like I said; the ruling party in the next GE, will begin to see the muddy bottom.
Unless of course, they managed to convert enough FTs and PRs along with whole dolop of PRCs into New Citizens, on time...
But still, there's cause and effect to face, as well as Karma..
but then hor if pay liao cant start is another problem.....Originally posted by BillyBong:It has been said many times by ministers, not just Mah Bow Tan, that nothing comes free. 'There's no free lunch!', coined PM Lee Hsien Loong during one of his rally speeches.
Certainly, with the skill that makes houdini appear juvenile, the ruling party has mastered the art of give with the right, take with the left. Now, they seem to have 'upgraded' to 'give once and take twice', a remarkable strategy when the ruling party implored residents to give them their votes, then subsequently sucked more money from them with the upgrading carrot.
But at least, some light has managed to penetrate the dense foliage created, as the WP successfully denounced their upgrading carrot as using taxpayer's monies for a political party's benefit. That the Ruling party sidestepped this line of accusation shows just how on-target the WP was.
Hopefully, Singaporeans who did indeed vote for the Ruling Party the last time round will wake up from their eternal slumber, and learn to wield their votes wisely next time, instead of complaining a million times over but remain a silent PAP supporter.
u ask our PM's wife lor.. she's the best in that field...Originally posted by duotiga83:but then hor if pay liao cant start is another problem.....throw our $$$ for fun is it????
No leh, I always have this view that the change at the top will be initiated ironically by these "new" citizens.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Like I said; the ruling party in the next GE, will begin to see the muddy bottom.
Unless of course, they managed to convert enough FTs and PRs along with whole dolop of PRCs into New Citizens, on time...
But still, there's cause and effect to face, as well as Karma..