good for you... the govt has been encouraging us to go oversea and explore... everytime i go to some official functions.. they always KPKB, ask us go shanghai, go bombay, go to some unknown lands and ask us to learn from them.Originally posted by Coquitlam:I encourage one and all to seek your fortune elsewhere...If they FTs can come, we can also be FTs mah....our standard of english is not too bad compared to others, of course not saying perfect, we should try our luck elsewhere...be FTs...though we all should know it won't be a bed of roses elsewhere but at least there will be wide open spaces....more variety and more flexibilty...
What say you all we also become FTs....why stay....let's all move
foreign workers does help to bring down the cost side of construction like your HDB flats, but the amount it bring down is dependent on the proportion of their wages as compare to the overall total cost of construction.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Foreign, construction workers, architects and engineers bring down the costs of our HDBs? Somebody pls tell me he's kidding. Is this another "mee siam mai hum" boo-boo?
In the 60s it was common to drop out of school and "not a very fantastic figure" actually made it past O'Levels. So today, one may still see aunties and uncles with loew education working in coffeeshops, as delivery drivers, technicians etc. Now let's fast forward 20 years. Then will be the day where the average joe in the street are poly and degree holders, how many low educated people left to work in such low paid job? Locals? Unlikely, most probably foreigners. It is already happening today.
Ever noticed that a lot of salesgirls in our deparment stores and waiters in restaurants are helmed by Malaysians? It's too low paid already, few Singaporeans would want to hold full-time jobs there. So I would be right to say that our retail sector would collapse, should we not have these Malaysians.
Let's look at our certain industries in a healthy and objective manner. Though Oxford Mushroom is a PAP supporter but that does not mean he does not have valid points. He is actually right to say that bringing in Indian and Mayanmar doctors will help to lower healthcare costs for all Singaporeans.
BUT the govt also has to take a careful stand between "bringing in foreigners for profit reasons and the intention to support the economy."
i think they do and they should.. remember who put them in office?Originally posted by seancannot:In a nut shell
On a bigger picture FT is indeed good for Sg to stay competitive in the global enviroment... but the PM should also spare a thought for the poorer citizen who are not doing well and have problem finding a job... we cannot be conveinently marginalised to be Taxi driver , guards or cleaner ...
Just hope the government plan the policies with our welfare in mind as well
FTs, where do you put them? how much do you pay them? isnt that the decision that your boss decide?Originally posted by weiqimun:i hv not really read the postings above, especially the lengthy ones but one clear trend is already upon us,
these so-called FT are filling up posts at all levels of the work strata in SG. we are not talking about filling a gap; unlike in the past where no SG wants to get their hands dirty doing menial works, today we see these `FT' all over, from entry level to executives, mid-mgmt level, etc. if u r not in `sensitive' industries, like dealing in arms or in a govt-link job, u will have to compete with these FTs.
the playing field has change and the train left the station alredy. if u are still under the illusion that foreigners comes to take jobs SGeans dun want, the sooner u wake up, the better it is for you.
the question then is does SGeans have an inalieanable right to jobs in SG? of cos not, if one were to talk abt the meritocracy the gahmen preach. but for the same job, is it the same level playing field between the FTs and SGeans? unfortunately, the answer is again no. FTs will most lkly be here on their own and do not have the same level of commitment SGns hv (family, loans, etc). n becos they need to `get tt break', they r willing to compromise on the pay first just to land the job, or a job. Ft's motivations is to find a better life for their family back home. SGns on the other hand, have different motivations to say the least. for mid- to entry level jobs, the competitive pressure then is driving the renumeration down. u have more candidates now for the same finite number of jobs. tis unfortunately affect the bulk of Sgeans. for a S$3k job, if the FT is willing to settle for S$2.5k, the SGeans are in for a rude shock
On the flip side, for the lucky few SGeans who are in the upper echelon of the work force, they are in for a better time. this fenomena is the reverse. FTs will drive up the income level, due to the `skillsets' they bring. Sgeans, with the similar skillsets, will ride the wave.
the only safe hobbits are the ones in government org.
this will drive 2 trends:
1. income disparity amgst Sgeans widens amongst the haves and the have nots.
2. SGeans will be encourage to go to the foreign lands to find work. repeating the exact same thing that is happening here. go to a city/country tt will pay u `better wage', read `below market rate over there'. dubai, hong kong, usa comes to mind.
for the less mobile, they r the unluckiest lot. they just need to depend on the progress package. but to get that, mk sure they cast the right vote....
I don't see how or where FTs has brought down costs of an HDB flat, prices are still no much lesser than a private condo.Originally posted by tripwire:foreign workers does help to bring down the cost side of construction like your HDB flats, but the amount it bring down is dependent on the proportion of their wages as compare to the overall total cost of construction.
but the HDB selling prices is determined by demand side factors which could be "controlled" and manipulated to ensure a good return on "investment"
to put it simply... lets say you grow apple... if you use singaporean to grow apple.. it cost 1 cent to grow one apple, and you sell it in the market for 30 cent each.
tomolo u get a foreign labor to grow apple... and it cost 0.001 cent to grow one apple (cost did come down), and you go to market to sell apple.. but you still sell it at 30 cents each.or maybe even at 40cent each if you feel your apple is of higher quality because of your FT.
so... the cost did come down.. but the price did not...
and as i noted.. we dont have enough people... so die die must depend on FT.. not happy, also no choice.. unless you want our retail to close shop. but of course.. if needed to... we can easily diversify our labor source.. so we are not over-reliant on one particular nationality.![]()
Didn't you read Tripwire's illustration about apples? The costs have certainly come down but prices reamin high because there are people who are prepared to pay for them. The government stopped building 3-room flats for quite a while because there was no demand. Despite the lower prices, Singaporeans were prepared to pay more for a 5-room or Executive flat...with increased demand, prices rise.Originally posted by ShutterBug:I don't see how or where FTs has brought down costs of an HDB flat, prices are still no much lesser than a private condo.
Hence, this greatly reduces and ties up people's CPF funds, which in turn translates into aged people who have little or no "Retirement Funds".
It's a flawed system.