Thanks for the frank answer. Well, let's look at it this way too. There will never be an Indian or Malay PM in Singapore just like there will never be a black president for the US.Originally posted by fudgester:Let me put it to you plainly then:
I won't like it, but I'll do it to defend myself and the ones I care for.
Fair enough?
And I still fail to see how the barring of Malays from sensitive installations has anything to do with the issue of killing another Malay.
Contrary to that, we must apologise. If we are a nation that preaches racial harmony, we must walk the talk. Even if what LKY said is true, that doesn't mean we can chuck bilateral relations aside.Originally posted by oldbandit:wadever it is, this time round i hope singapore garment stand their ground and DONT bow to their demand for apology. We have come along way on our own feet. If worst case senerio 'War' that will be. I dont think singapore will lose out to them.. Mybe juz from the billions of reserve we can use a few million convert to ringgit and 'gib' them and will win without firing a bullet..![]()
Yes, indeed correct.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Contrary to that, we must apologise. If we are a nation that preaches racial harmony, we must walk the talk. Even if what LKY said is true, that doesn't mean we can chuck bilateral relations aside.
Originally posted by PoRen:By Mohd Haikal Isa
JOHOR BAHARU, Sept 28 (Bernama) -- The Malays in Singapore have been systematically marginalised since Lee Kuan Yew became Prime Minister, and the government under the city state's founding father also committed "ethnic Malay cleansing", said Singapore's veteran politician who migrated to Malaysia.If LKY maginalise the Malays, how do our Malay community receive free education? Do they not have equal chance in entering university, polytechnics and applying for a HDB flat?
Prof Mohammed Yacob, who was political secretary to Singapore's second Chief Minister Lim Yew Hock, said the Malays were systematically marginalised since the People's Action Party (PAP) came to power in 1959.
According to Mohammed, the PAP reduced the Malay political power through the implementation of the government's housing policy.
He attested that Malays were uprooted from their villages and were resettled separately at various new townships including Tampines New Town, Bedok North and South, Toa Payoh and Ang Mo Kio.
"The PAP divided and ruled the Malays. The Malays were separated from each other and resettled in various housing estates so that they no longer have a political voice," he said in an interview with Bernama here.Divide and rule the Malays? Don't they do the same to the Chinese and all other race? Chinese don't gather in chinatown anymore. They are scattered all over Singapore and put to live next door with other races.
"The PAP government used the racial quota system to re-organise the population of Singapore to weaken the Malays. Each housing estate must have 72 per cent Chinese, 16 per cent Malays and 12 per cent Indians and others."I don't see any harm in that. This is to ensure racial harmony and encourage inter-racial interaction. Do we want the Chinese vs Malay riot (that took place in the 1960s) to happen again? We are a very small country and cannot and must not succumb our people's life safety to such tragedy, just to please some selfish individuals who want to live with their own ethnic group.
The Malay political clout gradually diminished after the housing policy was implemented, he said.
"The PAP government also deliberately allowed the marginalisation of the Malay language and Malay schools to occur gradually and naturally.
"During the colonial rule, there were so many Malay schools in Singapore including in Kampung Gelam, Tanglin Kecil, Kampung Jaguh, Tanglin Besar and Kampung Melayu. The Tun Sri Lanang and Sang Nila Utama Malay schools were the pride of the Malays then.This kind of schools (grouping same ethnic group in one school) will only deprive the students from knowing about other cultures and ethnics.
"But when Singapore pulled out of the Federation of Malaysia in 1965, Lee Kuan Yew changed the education policy which resulted in the marginalisation of the Malays along with their schools and language.Singapore didn't pull out. Malaysia kicked Singapore out.
"The policy emphasised on Mandarin and English... and today, Malay stream schools are no longer in existence in Singapore.This is certainly wrong. The policy doesn't emphasise Mandarin. It only emphasise English. Speak Mandarin campaign is meant for chinese only cuz during and before the 1970s, the chinese community spoke in all various dialects.
"In other words, the PAP government made a mockery of the constitution in paragraph 153 (2) which states that Bahasa Melayu is the national language of Singapore. PAP is committing ethnic Malay cleansing in Singapore," he said.
Mohammed sought refuge in Malaysia in 1978 after he heard that he was going to be arrested. He is now a Malaysian citizen.I dunno this Mohammed, whether he exists or what he said. But if he really made such false statements, he deserved to be arrested. Good for him to become Malaysian, cuz Singapore don't need him.
Recently, Lee said Malaysia and Indonesia systematically marginalised their ethnic Chinese, sparking outrage among ethnic Chinese in both the countries.Let's not forget the anti chinese riots in 1997 and the fact that it has always been very difficult (almost impossible) for Malaysian Chinese to enter MY universities. You can hardly see a chinese degree holder who grad from MY uni.
-- BERNAMA
http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news_lite.php?id=222287
Rather have two malay generals in the SAFOriginally posted by ShutterBug:If Malays were marginalized here, would there have been TWO Malay Singapore idols in a row???
Yeh, the last time he gaffed on the shootings and muggings in JB, there was an apology from him subsequently. He will do the same this time.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Yes, indeed correct.
We shouldn't apologize - it's LKY who NEEDS to apologize.
We have Malay ministers and MPs, don't we?Originally posted by zanadu:Rather have two malay generals in the SAF
Would the Taiwanese defend themselves if they are attacked by China ?Originally posted by Rock^Star:Hmm, my question was not specifically answered. Would u kill a fellow Malay across the causeway?
I would hesitate to kill a fellow Chinese. Our defence policy towards Malays is not one out to marginalise. It is really an issue of sensitivity here.
They may join China..hahaOriginally posted by zanadu:Would the Taiwanese defend themselves if they are attacked by China ?
I think that is quite POSSIBLE, but generally, I note that Malays are much more gifted / talented in the musical and entertainment arenas. Therefore, am not surprised they made it twice in Singapore Idols.Originally posted by zanadu:Rather have two malay generals in the SAF
I disagree. I think that Singapore will sooner or later have an Indian PM and later, a Malay PM.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Thanks for the frank answer. Well, let's look at it this way too. There will never be an Indian or Malay PM in Singapore just like there will never be a black president for the US.
On the other hand, the willingness to defend one's family and land is good enough reason why we shouldn't restrict Malays who are in public service.
Please get real !Originally posted by Honeybunz:They may join China..haha
After all, some of the Taiwanese were from mainland China who settled in Taiwan to run away from communism.
Well.... chinese loyalty is very subjective esp in the case of Taiwan and China.
But as far as Singapore Chinese is concerned, if China or Taiwan attack us, we will defend regardless of our race. But of course, there will be some who run away lah.
Open your eyes lah.Originally posted by valentinoo:now have or not? navy totally dont have..
Our neighbour's policy is they can speak anything about Singapore, but Singapore must not speak anything about them.Originally posted by 798:yes, sg is racial harmony, but why LKY has to cause disharmony n interfene wif other countries' affair? didnt dat old fuck know he will cause dispute for our neighbours n dissect their racial harmony, that kind of words by him is totally uncalled for!
I don't see any link between the Quran & Malaysian politics, and Quran han't got anything to do in shaping their politics, so I suggest you stick back to the topic before you say something stupid that reflects your ignorance furtherOriginally posted by -[0]-:It's a shame that Malaysia is many times the size of Singapore plus two major community of races and yet fail to maintain racial order.
Look at Singapore, how many major community of races do we have? We have four! And I can say that there is still racial order or at least some racial harmony being practiced here. We are so fortunate to be treated equally.
I really doubt the doctrine of the Qu'ran. No offence. You can call a jihad against me if you like but, if the Malaysian government really 'know' their islamic doctrines well, they shouldn't have practised such racial inequality in their management of their country. This speaks so much of how they wanted to shine for their god in this manner.
Now.. speaking about a bad testimony...
Ah well...