Our Goal for Manufacturing
By 2018
* To double manufacturing output to S$300 billion
* To double manufacturing value-added to S$80 billion
* To raise skill profile of manufacturing from 32 per cent to 50 per cent
Between 2003 and 2018
* To create about 15,000 new manufacturing jobs every year
* The growth in manufacturing will result in about 6,500 spin-off jobs every year in the services sector

Besides Seagate, which has made Singapore their key media production centre, Showa Denko and Hoya also have significant hard disk media operations here. These three companies combined practically create a new hard disk media sector in Singapore. In 2005, Singapore already accounted for 25% of the world market share for disk media.
With SeagateÂ’s new investment into their third media plant, SingaporeÂ’s lead as a key manufacturing location for hard disk media globally will widen
Most of them go to Malaysians, isn't it? Many factory jobs are too low paid and hours too long, resulting in many S'poreans spurning them.Originally posted by lionnoisy:21,500 jobs will be added every year!
Most of these jobs are less than 1K a month and work 12 hr shift. This kind of pay how to survive in Singapore so only Malaysians can take up the offer.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Most of them go to Malaysians, isn't it? Many factory jobs are too low paid and hours too long, resulting in many S'poreans spurning them.
... which brings us back to the issue of FTs...Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:Most of these jobs are less than 1K a month and work 12 hr shift. This kind of pay how to survive in Singapore so only Malaysians can take up the offer.![]()
Originally posted by lionnoisy:So what by showing all these statistic?
21,500 jobs will be added every year!
[b]Pan Sino to build cocoa processing plant in Singapore
u wont think Brass ,tin etc are processed in sg,u are wrong.
To double manufacturing output to S$300 billion
Never mind may be half of the new post taken by Sporean.Every single job
can save a family.Sporean,pl dunt blame foreigners.
over 70% of oil rigs made in Sg
Spore global market share :
Ships repairs---15%,will be expained.
Oil refinery--1.3 mbd out of world 84 million barrel per day
some 3 million cu meter undersea cavern will be built,confirmed
large share in wafer chips making
Looking Ahead: Manufacturing In 2018
see read the above links[/b]
HAHAHA chuckles....Ok, we get ur point.Originally posted by Lowclassman:So...what do you think? Don't fart for the sake of farting.Idiot
True well saidOriginally posted by NUS_Superst@r:Most of these jobs are less than 1K a month and work 12 hr shift. This kind of pay how to survive in Singapore so only Malaysians can take up the offer.![]()
3.If the $5.7 billion of manuf.is fully taxed,sg will gave $1.1 billion
Sectors.............................no. of company......Assessable
................................................................. Income(S$'000)
Manufacturing..................... 2,985...............5,759,079
Wholesale & Retail Trade...... 9,549.............. 6,821,027
Transport & Communications 1,896 ..............4,513,485
Financial..............................3,403................10,051,255
Real Estate & Business Activities 5,822..........4,184,382
Total..................................... 27,545........ 33,177,410
Yes what ur saying is true but that doesn't give gahmen an excuse to gloss over with these stats and say, "People, there are jobs for u!"Originally posted by lionnoisy:every job is important.
If a new factory creating 10 jobs and say, 3 go to sporean,
shall we be happy?Of course,3 more families are
saved from unemployment.
Less factories,more unemployment.
what are your suggestions,then?
It's more important to get the message across.Originally posted by missqi:Walao.
PLease learn how to spell properly before you post here lah.
Wapiang.
"Dieing".![]()
what does "dieing" mean?Originally posted by missqi:Walao.
PLease learn how to spell properly before you post here lah.
Wapiang.
"Dieing".![]()
21,500 jobs will be added every year!Seriously, every year? I would doubt this figure. Technology evolves fast, for all you know, in 5 years everything is done by robots and you don't even need 21, 500 workers. You need just 500 to operate it, maintain it, repair it, etc.
This has been a dream for some countries or some people but it should not be fulfilled as many medium and low cost businesses are still relying heavily on manual methods to produce their goods and delivery their services. The cost of the businesses do not justify the cost invloved for high tech Robotic machineries and skilled engineers or technicians to service the hardware.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Seriously, every year? I would doubt this figure. Technology evolves fast, for all you know, in 5 years everything is done by robots and you don't even need 21, 500 workers. You need just 500 to operate it, maintain it, repair it, etc.
Originally posted by pipipopo:2....6 out of 10 new created jobs in 2005 went to locals.
21,500 jobs created...if only . 3/10 goes to Singaporean thenn its as good as only 6450 jobs created.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:What would the ground's reaction be if ST reported that 4 in 10 jobs went to locals? Think again.
2....[b]6 out of 10 new created jobs in 2005 went to locals.
6 oct 2006 friday,STimes ,front page,column 4.
No one hates Singapore. Just because you disagree with certain policies enacted by the government doesn't make you less patriotic or someone who hates his country. In fact, government critics criticize in order to bring about change in what they see as wrongs, as it pains them to see that mistakes are being made in the governance of their country.Of course, there are exceptions to that as there are exceptions to some 'self-proclaimed patriots' whose embrace of the ruling party is to serve their own personal interests. Even they love Singapore as they are still successful under the Singapore system. Let me tell you who hates Singapore - individuals that detests our existence. To find that, you would have to look across the causeway. So next time u plan to simply apply the logic to equate anyone who disagree with the governmental stand point as someone who hates Singapore, please think again.Originally posted by saline:wow, there are some singapore hating ppl here. so seriously, when are u guys leaving this place?![]()
Originally posted by lionnoisy:Statistical publicity is merely 'blowing hot air' for the sake of publicity.
3.if u want the remaining 4 also goes to locals,
the first 6 may not be created .Think hard.
See how those protective countries have been doing.
No policy is perfect.[/b]
Title : Intel Corp and Micron Technology launching new joint venture in S'pore2. 09.11.2006 Natural Fuel invests US$130 Million to build world's largest biodiesel facility in Singapore
By : Ng Shing Yi, Channel NewsAsia
Date : 07 Nov 2006 2100 hrs (GMT + 8hrs)
SINGAPORE: Singapore is set to have one of the most advanced chip manufacturing plants in the world, according to Economic Development Board (EDB).
It was commenting on plans by Intel and Micron Technology to launch a new joint venture in Singapore, to make NAND flash memory chips, in the second half of 2008.
NAND flash is used for consumer gadgets like digital cameras and mobile phones.
No financial details were given, but according to the EDB, the project is a multi-billion dollar plant.
Aylwin Tan, Director of Marketing Communications at Economic Development Board, says: "It's significant in that it's the first NAND flash wafer fab in Singapore that is based on the 12-inch technology. At the 15 nanometre technology level, it's also one of the most advanced in the world.
"The project will be a multi-billion Singapore project. We'll employ about 1,500 people, with ratio of 50 percent engineers and technicians. The other 50 percent will have a high percentage of skilled operators."
The venture is Intel 's first manufacturing investment in Singapore but the fourth manufacturing facility to be jointly run by Intel and Micron.
The two partners formed a US$2.4 billion joint venture called IM Flash a year ago to make NAND flash memory chips.
Construction of the new plant will begin in the first half of 2007, with production expected in the second half of 2008. - CNA/so
Originally posted by lionnoisy:Wait.
3.if u want the remaining 4 also goes to locals,
the first 6 may not be created .Think hard.
See how those protective countries have been doing.
No policy is perfect.[/b]