I agree with you to some extent on this one.Originally posted by malsing:Shuuterbug,
Why oh why do the people stand for it? You all had the perfect opportunity to voice your concern but hey he got in.I am not on expat wages I am on a local wage but I for one cannot tolerate people just saying "Yes I hear what you are saying but" and to quote a Sing expression "What to do?
Well guys I will quote say to you "Its Time"
Stand up and say its okay to say I cannot tolerate this no more,I dont have to go and migrate to another country in search of a better life this is my home.![]()
Originally posted by malsing:Shutterbug or anyone else
Can you answer these questions?
Why do Singaporeans lack common courtesy?is all about me myself and i....
Why does the gov promote the English language when simply when you listen to the guys and gals talking they are speaking in there native tongues?education doesnt work
Is there life after work for Singaporeans?subjective to individual lifestyle
Doe the almighty dollar mean everything so one can shop at Orchard?materialism yes.
Does wearing the latest fashion mean one fits in?current trend nw
Does one try and talk to other races of people so that they have a better understanding?subjective...
Why is there so much discrimination against foreign workers?taking lower pay but getting the same job, thus lowering the pay requirement.
Why can't the foreign workers (Contruction or other labourers) be ferried around in a bus rather than on a back of a truck like animals.they are human also.....
Why cant we tolerate?can you tolerate this also??
it is obvious that your proficiency in english is totally f*cked up. c'mon. get a life, sucker! foreigners? boy.. you sound and seem like a f*ckin bangla worker. (bangladeshi contruction workers). useless c*ck!Originally posted by malsing:Common Courtesy is lacking among the Singaporean people.They seem to think that their is no other place on earth apart from Singapore.My goodness get a life Singaporeans if it wasn't for the foreign workers here, Singapore would be just another third world country.
Where are your values and morals gone e.g when getting on the MRT dont you know its quicker to let the people alight before boarding?
When will you stop using the word lah in every sentence?
When will you stop the discrimination against Foreigners?
When will you start thinking for yourselves instead of going with the flow?
The list goes on and on.
When my contract finishes it will be adios Singapore.
Originally posted by spinsugar:ok thats understandable.. i have being a witness to various occasions here pregnant ladies were not offered seats in the mrt station.. a common instances occurs in the 'seats for elders only' where young kids/adults would just take the seat without thinking twice and 'pretending' to be asleep...
Just recalled something. A pretty girl friend of mine is 6 mths pregnant, has a significant baby bump. She's 25, but easily looks 18 or younger..she's petite, but her tummy protrudes significantly from the baby doll dresses she wears.
Unforunately, she's not too well-off, so she has to take the MRT everyday incl peak periods.
- [b]In the past 4 mths, she has only been offered a seat twice. Those seated usually pretend to sleep or read ESPECIALLY right after they spot her. She recalled how 1 kind woman spotted her thru the crowd, stood up to give her a seat, and beckoned her to come over. A fit-looking chinese man in his 20s saw this and tried to squeeze past the woman, but the woman gamely blocked him using her body so my friend could sit! There were curious/disgusted stares but nothing else.
- During peak periods, people often push her baby bump with their bodies or bags to get past her without bothering to offer a simple "excuse me". She tries to stand further away from the door to avoid this, but it's not always possible.
- When the train is super packed, kiasu commuters sometimes push the passengers at the door to squeeze in.. this often means that the person in front of her will suddenly step back and apply vaiying degrees of pressure on her stomach (sometimes they don't apologize..some don't even notice)
- Once, this "uncle" practically body-slammed his way into the sardine-packed carriage. (There were people who couldn't board and were waiting around for the next train) In doing so, the front rows of people fell on each other like dominos.. my gal fren was standing in the middle.. she got hit so hard in the stomach that her vision whited out for a few secs. She let out a sharp yelp, but nobody noticed or bothered. She was so disturbed that she alighted at the next stop and took a cab home.I'm really disappointed and, frankly, pissed off at some Singaporeans' lack of civic mindedness and lack of shame. A few instances would be understandable, but not if this happens every other day.. come on Singaporeans!
nw the fact is that this country lack patriotism period with exception of national dayOriginally posted by malsing:The home is where the heart is and if you read the article posted before yours my goodness I would be ashamed to call myself a Singaporean.
Shame Singapore Shame
i can tell you that in japan, at no matter what time of day, no matter how packed the station is, people will give way to those alighting. if the train is packed and people can't alight, people will alight so those behind can alight.Originally posted by BillyBong:You should look at Taiwan, Hong Kong, Japan, even France before you even dare comment on our MRT entry/exit policy.
to make it short....living here is like a MATRIXOriginally posted by malsing:National Day singing that song My Island Home, thats right you are an island shut off from thinking for yourselves,your narrow mindness attitudes you have lost the original post about common courtesy amongst yourselves.
Do unto others as you expect they do unto you.
Well I have taken that commandment its called the Singaporean way as the old saying goes "When in Rome do as the Romans do"
I have become a more hardened person less tolerant of my fellow human beings dont give a hoot about the other person as long as I am okay,welcome to Singapore so I presume I will get my PR on these attitudes.
Believe me, i dislike the crowded train exits as much as the next person, including the disgusting fact that people cannot stand aside and let people out before barging into the trains to snatch empty seats.Originally posted by nismoS132:i can tell you that in japan, at no matter what time of day, no matter how packed the station is, people will give way to those alighting. if the train is packed and people can't alight, people will alight so those behind can alight.
when in trains, passengers set their phones to silent. if they need to make a phone call they'll get off and take the next train. most people will speak softly so as not to disturb other passengers. people will give up their seats for elderly and children.
how often do you see this in singapore?
You know Billy, I have taken the MRT a few occasions during peak hours, and what I noticed is that the short time it takes before the doors closes and the train starts to move off.Originally posted by BillyBong:Believe me, i dislike the crowded train exits as much as the next person, including the disgusting fact that people cannot stand aside and let people out before barging into the trains to snatch empty seats.
But before the thread-starter goes flaming singaporeans for their lack of courtesy, he should get out of his well and see the world.
Generalisation merely reflects ignorance.
And yes, some japanese do give way and even alight to allow other commuters to disembark. I happen to do the same on the MRT. But there are those who remain oblivious to their surroundings and literally transform into an immobile tree.
Not all Singaporeans are that disgusting, and by that regard, not all Japanese are as civic-conscious.
WORDS OF IGNORANCEOriginally posted by Vonderful:I think you should be courteous enough in the first place never to start a thread to criticise Singaporeans...
We are all nobodies to judge anyone... Your country's isn't at all perfect too, is it? There are nice and irritating people around anywhere, so what's the main issue?
Even God's blessed land- Israel- is at constant civil war... Who's perfect?
Don't judge. You aren't God.
Dun worry dude, ever since u stepped onto this island as FT, u already qualified for a PR..Originally posted by malsing:National Day singing that song My Island Home, thats right you are an island shut off from thinking for yourselves,your narrow mindness attitudes you have lost the original post about common courtesy amongst yourselves.
Do unto others as you expect they do unto you.
Well I have taken that commandment its called the Singaporean way as the old saying goes "When in Rome do as the Romans do"
I have become a more hardened person less tolerant of my fellow human beings dont give a hoot about the other person as long as I am okay,welcome to Singapore so I presume I will get my PR on these attitudes.
The extent of your ignorance includes the fact that China = the world?Originally posted by malsing:But before the thread-starter goes flaming singaporeans for their lack of courtesy, he should get out of his well and see the world
I have seen the world, working in several Countries including China, Inner Mongolia to be precise, but the Chinese Nationals are far more friendly than the so called Singaporean Chinese.
tats true..only thing is we don;t have 'NEO' here to save us..Originally posted by duotiga83:to make it short....living here is like a MATRIXis all about wayang here