that is because their coolie parents beat them into submission. but then when they survive on their own their ugly sides come out.Originally posted by ShutterBug:From what I noticed and through experience, I find the children of older generations, are 'broader' hearted and have some basic MANNERS, than the newer generations.
Our ancestors came from humbler times and frugal lifestyles, hence I believe they are in possession of better VALUES.
Yes, perhaps some will default into their own ways when they become independant, but today with schools treating students like royalties, there is totally no buffer at all!Originally posted by Cenarious:that is because their coolie parents beat them into submission. but then when they survive on their own their ugly sides come out.
malsing! FARK OFF LAH!!!Originally posted by malsing:Common Courtesy is lacking among the Singaporean people.They seem to think that their is no other place on earth apart from Singapore.My goodness get a life Singaporeans if it wasn't for the foreign workers here, Singapore would be just another third world country.
Where are your values and morals gone e.g when getting on the MRT dont you know its quicker to let the people alight before boarding?
When will you stop using the word lah in every sentence?
When will you stop the discrimination against Foreigners?
When will you start thinking for yourselves instead of going with the flow?
The list goes on and on.
When my contract finishes it will be adios Singapore.
Originally posted by wanker10:what a wanker
malsing! FARK OFF [b]LAH!!!
Yeh, typical Singaporean end sentence with a LAH
Understand??? I say again!!! FARK OFF LAH!!![/b]
students being treated like royalties happens only in recent years so that means those selfish adults and old people you see these days belong to the generation you mentioned. that generation is all about being hypocrites with people and being selfish to people they dont know while our generation is opposite, rude but less selfish.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Yes, perhaps some will default into their own ways when they become independant, but today with schools treating students like royalties, there is totally no buffer at all!
Worse then the past isn't it?
Back then, we at least still have strict parents and schools that will not think twice about flogging students publicly, and teachers slap unruly students around in class. Then we produced better behaved people then now.
Basically, people (locals) I meet or come across are by and large, freindly, accomodating to some degree, and reasonably thoughtful. But after meeting them and they go on their way in their daily life, I don't know.Originally posted by Cenarious:students being treated like royalties happens only in recent years so that means those selfish adults and old people you see these days belong to the generation you mentioned. that generation is all about being hypocrites with people and being selfish to people they dont know while our generation is opposite, rude but less selfish.
The 1st comment is right, 2nd comment isn't right,no comment for 3rd comment,the 4th comment is right.Originally posted by malsing:Common Courtesy is lacking among the Singaporean people.They seem to think that their is no other place on earth apart from Singapore.My goodness get a life Singaporeans if it wasn't for the foreign workers here, Singapore would be just another third world country.
Where are your values and morals gone e.g when getting on the MRT dont you know its quicker to let the people alight before boarding?
The list goes on and on.
bye, one less bloody foreignerOriginally posted by malsing:...................
I once bumped into a Chinese national lecturer n he complaining loudly to hsi fren believed to be from the same coiuntry about local men needing to goOriginally posted by malsing:Common Courtesy is lacking among the Singaporean people.They seem to think that their is no other place on earth apart from Singapore.My goodness get a life Singaporeans if it wasn't for the foreign workers here, Singapore would be just another third world country.
The list goes on and on.
Amen to that but instead of being negative aboout the place and its people one must give some positive thoughts here.............Originally posted by Cenarious:singapore sux
interestingly, this thread is setting a real good example..Originally posted by ShutterBug:Yes, perhaps some will default into their own ways when they become independant, but today with schools treating students like royalties, there is totally no buffer at all!
Worse then the past isn't it?
Back then, we at least still have strict parents and schools that will not think twice about flogging students publicly, and teachers slap unruly students around in class. Then we produced better behaved people then now.
Without the foreign labour working here i.e construction sites HDB cleaners and the list goes on as the foriegners tend to do the work that no Singaporean would DARE do.Singapore wouldn't be where it is now without the foreign labour so all Singaporean take your hats off to us, just a thought I think we should have a public holiday gazetted into the year say May 1st.Originally posted by ctstalin:after reading what malsing has subsequently posted, i do agree with some points he made
but....
dun generalise lah