Originally posted by Aveme:ok. sry. i c-ckeye
76% of population aged 25 to 64
children are aged 25-64 ah?
there we have it..the true story of the sg unemployed...uncut, uncensored, nothing scriptedOriginally posted by dragg:people unemployed for more than 6 months are no longer included in their statistics.
i believe there are a lot of singaporeans like myself.
so unemployment rate is up coz more and more older people are out of the statistics and more and more youth join the workforce.
Yes, true ...Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:Haha...this reminds me of a radio advertisment. i think its news 93.8 radio.
About a kid playing tennis horribly. The coach was talking to the kid's father saying how bad his son plays. A lot of the coach's words have been blacked out of the media.
thus, the father only hears the "good" stuff.
I like this advertisment, it shows that Singapore radio news is professional and only reports the good news.
Anyone saw that advertisment b4? it has been playing on the TV for months now. Screen adverts on TV is really expensive. About $8-10k per screen? Surely news radio 93.8 has the financial muscle to make such a marketing tool. Afterall, advertisments are free to them right? Everything is govt owned.
they have to set a limit. otherwise they will have to include retirees and housewives in their stats.Originally posted by av98m:I've always wondered what is the justification for that. Quite mind-boggling to me.
Really but according to the economic definition all those that are jobless but is still looking for a job is considered unemployed.Originally posted by hisoka:the "theory" is that they do not want to work and thus are not part of the work force![]()
It's one solution though.Originally posted by pqr:so easy meh ?![]()
If you have the skills that are in demand overseas, go! Ranting in sgforums will not make any difference to your employability.Originally posted by -[0]-:It's one solution though.
I'm not saying it as if it's darn easy. If it is, I would be gone to the states already.
I mean... since you guys are complaining, what else can you do except going overseas?
Look, either you go overseas, or just stay put and suck thumb.![]()
Okay, to clarify myself:Originally posted by oxford mushroom:If you have the skills that are in demand overseas, go! Ranting in sgforums will not make any difference to your employability.
Employers will always sack older workers and look for younger ones unless experience makes such a big difference to their business. Older workers command higher salaries, so unless your skill is in such high demand, you will lose your job to cheaper, younger workers who can do your job just as well. No point blaming the government..it's the law of the jungle in the commercial world.
I totally disagree with you. Why should we run away from our homeland? This is where I was born and grew up. I should fight for what is rightfully mine. Just recently the Alpha-S hit the news again about pay. Where are the other unions? They sing the gahmen songs. A lot of us are jobless after graduating coz these companies want to pay us peanuts. Worse still, gahmen advocate by saying we need foreign 'talent'. Those who cannot tahan just grab first coz we got mouths to feed. You see, this report of rise in employment is a cover-up of the pain and anguish of many of us. Singaporeans are good workers coz they take small pay and the gahmen ensure there are no riots.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:If you have the skills that are in demand overseas, go! Ranting in sgforums will not make any difference to your employability.
Employers will always sack older workers and look for younger ones unless experience makes such a big difference to their business. Older workers command higher salaries, so unless your skill is in such high demand, you will lose your job to cheaper, younger workers who can do your job just as well. No point blaming the government..it's the law of the jungle in the commercial world.
Dear OM,Originally posted by oxford mushroom:If you have the skills that are in demand overseas, go! Ranting in sgforums will not make any difference to your employability.
Mr mushroom... you made the wrong step in trying to explain things to these people... I have always tried to do the same thing as you in other threads, but everytime the same group of people will always argue back with their shallow and narrow insights... They blame everyone else except themselves...Originally posted by oxford mushroom:If you have the skills that are in demand overseas, go! Ranting in sgforums will not make any difference to your employability.
Some money is better than no money.Originally posted by highway69:I totally disagree with you. Why should we run away from our homeland? This is where I was born and grew up. I should fight for what is rightfully mine. Just recently the Alpha-S hit the news again about pay. Where are the other unions? They sing the gahmen songs. A lot of us are jobless after graduating coz these companies want to pay us peanuts. Worse still, gahmen advocate by saying we need foreign 'talent'. Those who cannot tahan just grab first coz we got mouths to feed. You see, this report of rise in employment is a cover-up of the pain and anguish of many of us. Singaporeans are good workers coz they take small pay and the gahmen ensure there are no riots.
This is just a reminder that u have been shot up-down-left-right-center for what u said, in the highly likely case that u will return...Originally posted by freakass:I know that I will be shot up-down-left-right-center for what I just said.... and for supporting Mr mushroom... and also for supporting the government... So i will not return to this thread again... i've had enough of bad experiences...
Don't generalise. To assume that is absolute myopia. That is akin to saying that those who support opposition parties are those who could not make it in society.Originally posted by freakass:I suppose most of you who replied here are unemployed eh? That is why you have so much time to reply threads in sgForums... Or maybe the very fact that you guys are online forum dwellers has lowered your industrial worth in terms of employment? Waste so much time online to whine and do nothing to improve your employability...
Fully agreed!!!Originally posted by ShutterBug:Yes, true ...
Our gov only tells us what THEY wants us to hear...
Yes, whenever they say price of something will INCREASE, it will usually INCREASE.Originally posted by Anycall:Is anything our goverment says believable?![]()