To be fair, we must make Singaporean women do national service as well. Why should FT be required to put in the sacrifice that we do not demand of our women. Without a change in the gender policy for NS, the only FT we will get will be PDMMOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Protecting your new home is called suffering? something must be wrong with the migrant's values then.
FTs more cc then Singaporean women ??Originally posted by oxford mushroom:To be fair, we must make Singaporean women do national service as well. Why should FT be required to put in the sacrifice that we do not demand of our women. Without a change in the gender policy for NS, the only FT we will get will be PDMM![]()
Originally posted by PoRen:Although I agree with the foreign talent concept, we Singaporean males did serve 2-2.5 yrs of NS plus 13 yrs of reservist, up to a maximum of 40 days a year.
It involves a lot of sacrifices to job, family, time and even personal injury/death!
How do you think we should be compensated, now that there is aggresive poaching of foreign talents to Singapore?
Ermmm, you think the first gen FTs stupid one meh? When they have a chance to run, they quickly zhao liao lor. Still wait for so long ah?Originally posted by play_n_play:why u worry, their 2nd generation (if male) must have the NS...
i will give that amt to them and tell then dnt ever call me back for ictOriginally posted by pipipopo:if not...increase tthe incentives!
pass - S$500/-
silver - S$1000/-
gold/ monetary - S$4000/-
anyone who take the test (even oif fail) - S$100/-
i dun mind doing annual ICT/non-ICT IPPT up to 45 years old![]()
WELL dats idealismOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Simple, adopt a pro-rated NS system for new immigrants, similar to the National Guard system where they train on weekends.
We must weed out those who are willing to stay here and are committed, from those who want to treat us like a stepping stone to elsewhere.
I do not know what the Singapore Government means by foreign "talent". Do we need more foreigners to do the jobs that Singaporeans can do? Or do we need foreigners that can do the jobs that Singaporeans cannot do? By the latter, I mean jobs that require so specialized knowledge that right now not many Singaporeans can fill. Example, as researchers in the biomedical sciences trying to discover wonder drugs for terrible diseases.Originally posted by kaister:I sense a feeling of bitterness. I too, feel unfair, especially when I served 2.5 years of my life away. Bet this is the same feeling all male Singaporeans felt. Why us? How many two years can we give away? This cannot be measured by money. There is no way those 2 years are coming back. No form of compensation is ever enough.
However, if FTs are not sought after and kept in Singapore, they could be working for other countries and be contributing to their economy instead of ours. Would you rather see that? It is unfair but that's how Singapore works.
As long as our economy does not suffer as a result, knowing that my kids can be safe and not go hungry, that'll be more than enough for me.
America has a draft system too. If they implement it.. hehe..Originally posted by Chelzea:WELL dats idealismTHE real world is about realism dude
FTs wld probably go somewhere w-o NS ,maybe US or HK![]()
Originally posted by packjust:Why we can't earn the same as foreign Talents?
I do not know what the Singapore Government means by foreign "talent". [b]Do we need more foreigners to do the jobs that Singaporeans can do? Or do we need foreigners that can do the jobs that Singaporeans cannot do? By the latter, I mean jobs that require so specialized knowledge that right now not many Singaporeans can fill. Example, as researchers in the biomedical sciences trying to discover wonder drugs for terrible diseases.
I used to work for a Singapore company in Changi South Street 1 (it starts with an 'E' and rhymes with 'Esso', spelling is only different by the second last letter) where almost 90% of the staffs is made up of foreigners, as accountants, engineers, purchasers, sales marketeers, graphic designers,...,etc. You get the picture - they are doing jobs that Singaporeans can do and are willing to do. But as you know, as in any business, they objective is to profit. So, the company hires more foreigners 'cos they are cheaper at the expense of Singaporeans. It's sad. Why can't the Government tell companies operating in Singapore to at least place a limit on the number of foreigners they can hire? Maybe, 1% the most. I find it very sad that as a Singaporean with all the promise of studying hard, I can find a job easily. I have a Bachelors degree (with honours) in Electrical & Electronics Engineering. I still find it difficult to compete with foreigners who are willing to work for less. Foreigners are under-cutting us and to a boss, money saved is money earned. [/b]
Originally posted by Lowclassman:Medical is subsidised in Spore for Sporean. Education thought is free for primary school children until end of primary school?
[b]Why we can't earn the same as foreign Talents?
It is because of our land values are over priced which indirectly pushing up all costs, too many taxes, tighted up with expensive housing loans, expensive education, expensive utilities, expensive medical, conservancy charges, expensive government services and etc. on top of all these, we have to support family, old age parents. Even, monthly hair cutting or salt for cooking; we still have fork out $$$ to pay... [/b]
Dont know, & dont think we will ever knowOriginally posted by PoRen:has my question been brought up in parliament?
Loophole has been covered. For that purpose, Singapore can recognise dual citizenship because your son automatically qualifies to become a Singaporean if you, his daddy , is Singaporean. National service is enforced on him once he touches "any benefit" in Singapore.Originally posted by PoRen:Won't it be a good idea that my son be born a Johorean, then study and work in Singapore?
Enjoy the benefits but no obligation to the country.
They drafted in WW2 as well as Vietnam war.Originally posted by LazerLordz:America has a draft system too. If they implement it.. hehe..
Who says we have no natural resources....................?Originally posted by Tissot1853:although i hate the annual IPPTs n ICTs , it is no choice that we are living in a small country like Singapore. We do not have a strong army in terms of numbers to protect our homeland and hence the compulsory national service of all adult man. Nobody is gonna do it for us and save us in times of war. In fact, by right why should we be asking for compensation when we are protecting our loves ones..??
Singapore has no natural resources to depend upon and the only reason why we are so successful is due to our high skilled labour and perhaps efficient governance, since our only resource is dwindling, it is only natural that we import this resources. Face it, whatever we have now might be acheiveable by any other countries given time and better governance but whatever other countries have we would never have it no matter how hard we try to acheive it. We do not have enuf land, big domestice market, natural resources. FT will only go to places where they have the best living conditions and opportunities unless we are able to sustain our own economies and stop relying on the government to attract MNCs to Singapore, this is something that we have to live with in this global world. For I say, it is getting tougher for the poor and middle class Singaporeans.