Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:
Ok, i have to admit. i have very lousy foodcourt manners.
I basically do not care whether the table is "chopped" or not.
Usually i will take away their tissue papers and newspapers and sit down. If the office ladies came back and notice their tissue papers been thrown away, they will stare at me.
I just stare back. Thinking, "Put tissue paper means "chopped" table ah? Get lost lah."
Neither do i ask for permission whether taking other people table's chairs.
And when i leave the table, its usually full of prawn shell spits and chicken bones. Sometimes, i play with ice and let the ice melt on the table, leaving it dripping wet.
When i accidentally dropped utensils or food on the floor, i dun pick it up. Its the cleaners job. Neither when the cleaners cear our table, i dun thank them. Its their job.
When i am carrying my food back and if their a crowd blocking my way, i will shout, "Lai, SIO! 'cuse me!"
lastly i always use pressure tactics, example,
when i see a group about to finish their food, i will stand really close to them, if i have a bag or a carrier, i will put it on their table or vacant chair already, exerting more pressure on them. Soon, they will feel uneasy and finish up their food hastily and leave the table.
If i do not resort these tactics, it takes 30mins just to wait for a seat. Owning that our office lunch break is just 1hour.
Me pathetic and rude and eat like pig? DEFINATELY. I am so ashamed of myself.
But then again, isnt Singapore's competitive, kiasu and nature that nurtured our actions? I think to myself, if i dun do it, many others will do the same too.
I guessing i am going to change. Are u one of me?
Here's my strategy:
To avoid competing with others for a table or being annoyed by piggish people, I'd always have lunch late, like around 2pm when most will have finished lunch so that there will be tables available.
Same with parking at certain places where there is a Food Court - people will be hunting for parking lots and when they found one, they will park their car painfully slowly while a line of cars builds up behind them.
One time, I saw one car in front stop and one passenger gets out to go book the table first while she slowly parks!!! Nah beh - si-beh tulan see already!