Thomson medical centre, is it private?Originally posted by play_n_play:My son is sick these several days, fever up and down, up and down...
I bring him to the Thomson medical Centre Children Clinic 4 times this week. It cost me more than 800 plus...finally my son is almost recoverred...
But the expense is really very high...![]()
Its a private clinic, of cos much more ex than govt ones, simply because u are paying all the consultation (more of the doc u seeing is a registar or consultant level) of the doctor, and medication.Originally posted by play_n_play:My son is sick these several days, fever up and down, up and down...
I bring him to the Thomson medical Centre Children Clinic 4 times this week. It cost me more than 800 plus...finally my son is almost recoverred...
You think doctors are cheap huh?Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:wa, 800 plus, i think you kena daylight robbery. If only cure fever, how can it be so expensive?
only when u go to polyclinicsOriginally posted by Lowclassman:You guys should feel ''Lucky'' you know.
Our Grablurment hor... don't know which....Mr khaw or Mr cold....said hor....our medical is already heavily subsidised. What else you expect....free? Nah!!!
You people complain so much...later when you people gets old....I will throw you people at Bintam or Batam..then you know...but you people still could enjoy the minah there wah...no good meh?.....still want to complain?![]()
Anyone tried getting a one day MC for a fractured arm in cast? After that, you have to wait for three hours to get the doctor(who claims that he is doing an operation, who knows) to issue the correct MC in an empty clinic in SGH? Or maybe pay $100++ for the equal amount of time doing physiotherapy(the physiotherapy excerisecan be done in some other less-known place)?Originally posted by Wakus:Subsidised medical care eh?...
private practice what to do confirm ex one....
Then again parents panic when their precious ones become sick...maybe they not patient enough to wait in long queues...hehe...
Not really...subsidised medical care = high demand = long queues
Originally posted by play_n_play:My son is sick these several days, fever up and down, up and down...
In UK, you may have to wait 6 months for your old granny to have a hip replacement done after she fell from the stairs and fractured her hip bone, if she survives that long.....Originally posted by Hogzilla:Anyone tried getting a one day MC for a fractured arm in cast? After that, you have to wait for three hours to get the doctor(who claims that he is doing an operation, who knows) to issue the correct MC in an empty clinic in SGH? Or maybe pay $100++ for the equal amount of time doing physiotherapy(the physiotherapy excerisecan be done in some other less-known place)?
I agree with the long queue. But if you consider waiting for 6 hours, just to change an error on the MC on the hospital part, is short, I think I have nothing more to say.
Originally posted by play_n_play:As you said it, there was nothing seriously wrong. No wonder it required a specialist to find something minor. Junior doctors are expected to pick up serious abnormalities, they cannot be faulted if they miss minor anomalies...that's why they are junior.
I dun know whether u guys have the same experience as mine in KK, that is why I will never go to the public hospital for my son.
my son was born in 2004. After his birth, just around 10 days, one day he cried for hours, then no more sound. so my wife and i rushed to KK, the doctor in the 24 hour children clinic did not know what happened, and she kept telling she does not have any experieces before... when i heard that, i was really very worried about my son. after that, she called a bit more senior doctor, the doctor said he did not find out what is wrong with my son either, but he suggested to see the specialist some day later. then i asked him, when can see the specialist. he told me at least one week later...i was again very worried. but luckily the nurse helped me to book one appoinment the second day. fortunely there is nothing serious with my son's throat after seeing the specialist. while i was indeed very angry and sad to see such a service in KK, the so called singapore best hospital for kids and women.
BTW, the expense is not that cheap either.
probably someone hinted, yi fen qian, yi fen huo. but i really find out the doctors/nurses in private hospital are far more responsible and experienced.
yup we're moving to be worldclass in healthcare too so patience my friendOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:In UK, you may have to wait 6 months for your old granny to have a hip replacement done after she fell from the stairs and fractured her hip bone, if she survives that long.....
That doesn't applies only to the healthcare industry, it applies to everywhere in the world.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:In Singapore, You got $$$ doctors will save you.
If you no $$$$$ the doctors don't care who you are even you're PM or MM.
Hey, that is free treatmentOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:In UK, you may have to wait 6 months for your old granny to have a hip replacement done after she fell from the stairs and fractured her hip bone, if she survives that long.....
Subsidized by the high taxes. As the population ages, those taxes will no longer be able to cope with the rising medical costs...just look at Europe.Originally posted by justcooler:Hey, that is free treatment
Now in australia and my wife is having a baby soon, i notice that 90% of consultations and testings are free, 10% if you wanted more, physo, gym etc etc..... so effective free ...
and i am only a PR here
That is heavily subsidise medical care
Originally posted by justcooler:Hey, that is free treatment
Now in australia and my wife is having a baby soon, i notice that 90% of consultations and testings are free, 10% if you wanted more, physo, gym etc etc..... so effective free ...
and i am only a PR here
That is heavily subsidise medical care
well my friend was screwed at a private hospital where the doctor said that there was nothing wrong but somethign was found to be wrong at a public hospital........ and the private hospital seems unwiling to admit to the wrong-doing.Originally posted by play_n_play:I dun know whether u guys have the same experience as mine in KK, that is why I will never go to the public hospital for my son.
my son was born in 2004. After his birth, just around 10 days, one day he cried for hours, then no more sound. so my wife and i rushed to KK, the doctor in the 24 hour children clinic did not know what happened, and she kept telling she does not have any experieces before... when i heard that, i was really very worried about my son. after that, she called a bit more senior doctor, the doctor said he did not find out what is wrong with my son either, but he suggested to see the specialist some day later. then i asked him, when can see the specialist. he told me at least one week later...i was again very worried. but luckily the nurse helped me to book one appoinment the second day. fortunely there is nothing serious with my son's throat after seeing the specialist. while i was indeed very angry and sad to see such a service in KK, the so called singapore best hospital for kids and women.
BTW, the expense is not that cheap either.
probably someone hinted, yi fen qian, yi fen huo. but i really find out the doctors/nurses in private hospital are far more responsible and experienced.
Did you miss out JB?Originally posted by Lowclassman:You guys should feel ''Lucky'' you know.
Our Grablurment hor... don't know which....Mr khaw or Mr cold....said hor....our medical is already heavily subsidised. What else you expect....free? Nah!!!
You people complain so much...later when you people get old....I will throw you people in Bintam or Batam..then you know...but you people could still enjoy the minahs there wah...no good meh?.....still want to complain?![]()