u mean neh vs brain vs looks?Originally posted by ctstalin:god is fair![]()
Gosh..now that you mention it...Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):u mean neh vs brain vs looks?![]()
I would grade:Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):u mean neh vs brain vs looks?![]()
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):u mean neh vs brain vs looks?![]()
No, I think her lao peh and lao bu saw what she was posting and told her to shut her blog down immediately.Originally posted by Terribear:She prolly had to close her blog so her lao peh won't get into trouble.
No, I don't think that was the reason why her parents told her to shut her blog down.Originally posted by Skibi:I think she kind of scary leh...calling derek her "darling".![]()
Do you know what how disruptive some of the classes in normal stream are? Can turning communist make the classes quieter?Originally posted by nomood:The education system, is fair on the fundamental promise that it is a standardized exam. As such, that's the only real suitable adjective.
I don't think it can be made any fairer without turning communist.
I think when you turn communist, you can just shoot them to death. Problem solved.Originally posted by kilua:Do you know what how disruptive some of the classes in normal stream are? Can turning communist make the classes quieter?
Will turning communist provide better English teachers for neighborhood schools?
Will turning communist provide a full-time counselor to help students chart their future? Or help some students from broken families? ( The divorce rate in Singapore 1 out of 3)
yes.Originally posted by dragg:her father is MP of ang mo kio??
According to some forumers here, he is.Originally posted by dragg:her father is MP of ang mo kio??
John Riemann Soong says
Spelling and grammar be not everything; for there be those who discard the rules of prescriptive grammar and spelling to achieve an effect.
It's the rhetoric that matters.
Shu Min:
"i would like to bring to your attention the fact that the post in question was never meant to be a cogent response to the specific points raised in derek wee's article"
Really! I seemed to have the impression that you would want to have the largest audience possible to d'accord you. That would actually be a good thing (writing with a purpose) if not for the fact that you chose not to stick to your words. Prithee, it did not seem that obvious that you did not think it had some cogency and that you intended it to be a scathing criticism of the blog you attacked. I would think a good rhetorical analysis of your post would reveal otherwise.
Shall I break down your mistakes, comrade?
Firstly, "distress" is terribly euphemistic and impertinent to the matter at hand. We are not distressed as much as we are incensed.
Secondly, you contrasted a noun abstraction with a verb "to vent frustrations" versus "public denouncement" - this is a rhetorical error. A more effective writer would continue the use of the infinitive.
Thirdly, a gross mistake was your misuse (and misconjugation) of the preterite for the verb "arise". "Arise" is a class I strong Germanic verb, do pay attention to the use of Indo-European ablaut. "arose" is a preterite; "arisen" is the past participle you are looking for.
Fourthly, "in irony" is awkward; "ironically" is the word you are looking for. But that is not surprising, considering that you like to hide yourself behind noun abstractions, and also omit grammatical articles to try to achieve this effect. I suggest you read George Orwell's "Politics and the English Language". You desperately need it.
You think you're superior because you think you may have (that's modal subjunctive to you) a superior command of English than most Singaporeans. You think you're a language genius and have the edge - but you can't even distinguish between the preterite and particple Germanic ablauts of English, because you think the preterite "-oh" vowel will give you the strong past tense you are looking for. How can you survive lah?
You talk about irony, but oh the irony!
Phase 1: For a child who has a sibling studying in the school of choice.In this case, isn't it easier for children with rich parents / parents from some elite group to enter a good primary school (e.g. RGS), and therefore end up with an even better life?
Phase 2A1: For a child whose parent is a former student of the school and who has joined the alumni association as a member not later than 30 Jun 2005; or whose parent is a member of the School Advisory/Management Committee.
Phase 2A2: For a child whose parent or sibling has studied in the school of choice; or whose parent is a staff member of the school of choice.
Phase 2B: For a child whose parent has joined the school as a parent volunteer not later than 1 July 2005 and has given at least 40 hours of voluntary service to the school by 30 June 2006; or whose parent is a member of the church/clan directly connected with the school; or whose parent is endorsed as an active community leader.
Phase 2C: For a child who is ineligible for or unsuccessful in earlier phases.
(This is taken from MOE's website - http://www.moe.gov.sg/esp/schadm/p1/phases.htm)
She didn't know that substance is much more important than form? Seems like she's just trying to nit-pick.Originally posted by gd4u:Lol, she kena suaned by by her 'public apology' ... 2 wrongs doesn't make 1 right, huh ?
No it wouldn't.Originally posted by kilua:Do you know what how disruptive some of the classes in normal stream are? Can turning communist make the classes quieter?
Will turning communist provide better English teachers for neighborhood schools?
Will turning communist provide a full-time counselor to help students chart their future? Or help some students from broken families? ( The divorce rate in Singapore 1 out of 3)