If you tell me that the rich take simpler and easier tests, or that they have a quota set aside for them in uni (a la bumiputra policies) that would be unfair. The top president scholar from my cohort took the RGS/RJC route, but her dad was a taxi driver. She was not unlike any other street punks i know; smoking drinking etc, but she also knew how to work within the system.Originally posted by baby_tiger:Why do so many people say that the education system is fair? I think it's not.
If a student is from a good primary school, it is most likely that the student will go to a good secondary school, then a good JC, and finally a good Uni. Am I right?
In this case, isn't it easier for children with rich parents / parents from some elite group to enter a good primary school (e.g. RGS), and therefore end up with an even better life?
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):u mean neh vs brain vs looks?![]()
Originally posted by gd4u:Lol, she kena suaned by by her 'public apology' ... 2 wrongs doesn't make 1 right, huh ?
it's fair what.. the rich stay rich and the poor stay poor.. fair whatOriginally posted by baby_tiger:Why do so many people say that the education system is fair? I think it's not.
In this case, isn't it easier for children with rich parents / parents from some elite group to enter a good primary school (e.g. RGS), and therefore end up with an even better life?
Well, what have we here in Singapore, people with an over-inflated sense of self-worth.Originally posted by undisputed_seraphim:I am going to answer to this whole thread in general.
Hah! Elitists, snobby bastards who think that just because they've got a bunch of papers and moneis they can throw it in people's faces and treat everyone else like scum.
Tell me, was Bill Gates not a high-school drop-out? Aren't some karang-guni men millionaires by their own right? Aren't most entrepreneurs in Singapore Poly students and some school-skippers??
Tell me that this doesn't mean anything and I'll give you an overwhelming array of evidence that qualifications aren't everything. In fact, our Education System has been widely criticsed by overseas as "imagination-stfling, creativity-locking" regime.
Elitists piss me off. I come from an avergare secondary school, have average grades (except for English, my best) and yet I come from a club that maps trajectories of stars and work out masses of black holes.
I get your point. But my point is that Good English does not equate to superior intellect.Originally posted by anonymouscoward:Correction. Being able to write in good English does not mean you can write well.
Originally posted by packjust:
I get your point. But my point is that [b]Good English does not equate to superior intellect. [/b]
No!Originally posted by GHoST_18:so what went wrong...?
our society...?
or the educational system...?
Originally posted by packjust:totally agree. and Ms Wee has demonstrated that point
I get your point. But my point is that [b]Good English does not equate to superior intellect. [/b]
Well, she either picked it up from her school or her family. Judging from some RJC students I know, I'll pin the blame on her parents.Originally posted by GHoST_18:so what went wrong...?
our society...?
or the educational system...?
Nothing will happen to her dad. People will just talk about it and forget everything at the elections when the government hands out Singapore Shares...Originally posted by charlize:All of you are concentrating on the girl.
Nobody cares about what will happen to her dad.
Haiz.
shu-min saysi think the gahmen had a hand in helping her with the apology reply..
dear wei kiat,
i apologise if i have distressed you with my tendency to rant. while i will not dispute some of the points you make in response to what i have written, i would like to bring to your attention the fact that the post in question was never meant to be a cogent response to the specific points raised in derek wee's article. it is, quite obviously, a rant in the heat of the moment. in addition, i don't believe that my blog has the wide readership of derek wee's, or even your own, and my intention was more to vent my own frustrations than public denouncement.
i'd also like to clarify my use of the word "elite". while i understand how misinterpretation may have arose, i intended to use it in irony, as a label that people assume i enjoy, and not one that i take particular pleasure in.
finally, i admit that i was harsher than i should have been, although the the crux of my belief in self-improvement and self-determination has not changed. once again, i apologise if my words have unintentionally offended you - i was under the rather naive impression that nobody reads my blog Smile
10/19/2006 11:45 PM
+1Originally posted by undisputed_seraphim:I am going to answer to this whole thread in general.
Hah! Elitists, snobby bastards who think that just because they've got a bunch of papers and moneis they can throw it in people's faces and treat everyone else like scum.
Tell me, was Bill Gates not a high-school drop-out? Aren't some karang-guni men millionaires by their own right? Aren't most entrepreneurs in Singapore Poly students and some school-skippers??
Tell me that this doesn't mean anything and I'll give you an overwhelming array of evidence that qualifications aren't everything. In fact, our Education System has been widely criticsed by overseas as "imagination-stfling, creativity-locking" regime.
Elitists piss me off. I come from an avergare secondary school, have average grades (except for English, my best) and yet I come from a club that maps trajectories of stars and work out masses of black holes.
Nice summary. Isn't almost all government apologies like that?Originally posted by laurence82:What is the point of apologising with lots of 'buts' in it?
If you look at her apology, its more like 'i am sorry but i am still right neh neh ni boo boo'![]()
Erm, Gates... did not drop out due to poor grades.. He 'dropped out' just to spend time to build "Windows" ... IMO, Ur definition of 'drop out' seems mean, 'kena kicked of of sch.. cos the person sux' ...Originally posted by undisputed_seraphim:Tell me, was Bill Gates not a high-school drop-out? Aren't some karang-guni men millionaires by their own right? Aren't most entrepreneurs in Singapore Poly students and some school-skippers??
it was meant to be sacarstic..haha... but i guess only people in RJC know about bourgeois society, proleteriat class and Plato's republic...Originally posted by nomood:No it wouldn't.
you're thinking of bringing the disadvantaged up; communism works the other way round.
it brings the advantaged/elite down. Breaking down of the bourgeois society to form a unified proleteriat class, remember?
Or was your history class too disruptive for you?
Not many lah. Only the unorthodox channels only. Given her "background", I don't see why the local gossip papers will want to take up this issue. Even XiaXue and Mr.Brown not talking about this. So only the few technologically savy forumers will know.Originally posted by kilua:it was meant to be sacarstic..haha... but i guess only people in RJC know about bourgeois society, proleteriat class and Plato's republic...
All these profound views from the ruling class cannot be comprehend by peasants like us/
I guess Miss Wee got her punishment already... Shes already infamous on Singapore's Internet forum so there isnt really a need to flame her anymore...