tis more than just elect and water bill lah...Originally posted by foomwee88:Shd this family tragedy happen in Spore??
Just cant pay 4 the elect n water bills,kill a life in MRT line!!!!
really make us heart broken this is happening in Spore!!!
A so called first world country!!!!
I think the issue here is $ rite!!!!Originally posted by Mospeada:tis more than just elect and water bill lah...
the man has gone jobless for awhile...
If i know that, I'll post it...Originally posted by bluejuice:how to break the cycle?
This is not a cycle,this is wat u r in wat u will be !!!!Originally posted by MohamedF:If i know that, I'll post it...
they did got help from some welfare ogranisation before...Originally posted by foomwee88:I think the issue here is $ rite!!!!
Jobless is not the issue if he has a saving .
Why he cant pay the bills n resort to commit suicide????
Why our society cant help these ppls???
the govt should and must play an active role.Originally posted by bluejuice:how to break the cycle?
This is 2 tell us wat our society is 2 be??Originally posted by Mospeada:they did got help from some welfare ogranisation before...
but when they tried to enlist help again, they were turned down cos their total family income was over S$1000...before the man lost his job
i wonder why din singapore powers give more grace period...why must they force him and his family?
i seriously doubt he has any savings considering the fact that they were having instant noodles and biscuits for meals.Originally posted by foomwee88:I think the issue here is $ rite!!!!
Jobless is not the issue if he has a saving .
Why he cant pay the bills n resort to commit suicide????
Why our society cant help these ppls???
U r rite!!!Originally posted by dragg:i seriously doubt he has any savings considering the fact that they were having instant noodles and biscuits for meals.
not only academic qualifications but also educating on various aspects of life like self-pride, mental health, etc.Originally posted by dragg:the govt should and must play an active role.
the only way to break the vicious cycle of poverty is not only just by providing monetary help.
education is important for children of families living in poverty. only with proper academic qualifications can these children break the cycle.
Your're right about this one...though not a very good example, I had a friend who was depressed about something that he stonned from coming to school for 4 whole weeks... when one is depressed, they can't function properly and their decissions are most of the time never right...Originally posted by udontknowme:its not just about being poor...
you know...recently, the government has these ads on 'recognizing depression'...well, i think thats pretty much useless.
people dont go and kill themselves just because they dont have cash.
if you are just poor, you'd think of ways to get cash or something.
only the VERY desperate kill themselves.
honestly, i think people need to be educated on stuff like these.
all these years of health education and moral education in school, not a SINGLE thing on mental health![]()
and all they tell us is that commiting suicide is stupid and selfish and irresposible.![]()
which is probably how a mentally healthy person thinks. but IF you are mentally sound, you wont have to worry about anything like that.
what he should have done was to approach the straits times or TNP. help would come pouring in if their situation were highlighted to the masses.Originally posted by foomwee88:This is 2 tell us wat our society is 2 be??
U die is yr business,nothing concern us!!!!
how?Originally posted by dragg:the govt should and must play an active role.
the only way to break the vicious cycle of poverty is not only just by providing monetary help.
education is important for children of families living in poverty. only with proper academic qualifications can these children break the cycle.
but u see...he will be criticised for it...and pple would say : pple like this is a parasite to the society etc...he should be able to find a decent job etc...is he out to con us of our sympathy etc....Originally posted by dragg:what he should have done was to approach the straits times or TNP. help would come pouring in if their situation were highlighted to the masses.
wrong liao... no more moral education...Originally posted by udontknowme:its not just about being poor...
you know...recently, the government has these ads on 'recognizing depression'...well, i think thats pretty much useless.
people dont go and kill themselves just because they dont have cash.
if you are just poor, you'd think of ways to get cash or something.
only the VERY desperate kill themselves.
honestly, i think people need to be educated on stuff like these.
all these years of health education and moral education in school, not a SINGLE thing on mental health![]()
and all they tell us is that commiting suicide is stupid and selfish and irresposible.![]()
which is probably how a mentally healthy person thinks. but IF you are mentally sound, you wont have to worry about anything like that.
Originally posted by dragg:This is our media failure!!!
[b]
what he should have done was to approach the straits times or TNP. help would come pouring in if their situation were highlighted to the masses.
b]
im not trying to give examples. im just wondering why arent we educated about such things?? mental illnesses like depression are so damn common in singapore right now...i mean...i dont expect the depressed person to recognize his/her own symptoms or whatever after learning it in schoolOriginally posted by MohamedF:Your're right about this one...though not a very good example, I had a friend who was depressed about something that he stonned from coming to school for 4 whole weeks... when one is depressed, they can't function properly and their decissions are most of the time never right...
Why he is depressed????Originally posted by udontknowme:im not trying to give examples. im just wondering why arent we educated about such things?? mental illnesses like depression are so damn common in singapore right now...i mean...i dont expect the depressed person to recognize his/her own symptoms or whatever after learning it in school
its more important that those who are NOT depressed understand the situation better so that they dont judge their friends and say the wrong thing such as "its just a phase" or "just be more positive, being happy is a choice"
but yeah...depression can ruin a person...
thanks for providing the detailsOriginally posted by siaokao:Story summary:
43 year jobless man jumps into an oncoming MRT train.. ended up dead in 3 pcs.
He has abt $10 with him when he died.
He leaves behind his sick wife and 2 kids.
His wife was informed abt his death but could not go to morgue ID her dead husband cos she dun have any cash to utilize our world class public transportation system. A kind policeman, out of his own pocket.. give her $5 for the MRT ride.
Their kids have been eating instant noodles for most of the week.
Before the man leave his 3 room HDB home, he gives his son $9 for 3 packets of chicken rice (as parting "feast" i assume).
Utilities and phone bills has been outstanding for abt a year.
His wife is sick but have no $ to see doc (world class health care system..)
Sick wife works 12 hrs a day as a production operator earning $500/mth.
She has to pay $300 monthly installment for their 3 room HDB.
School fees for the 2 kids have been outstanding for a year.
Before killing himself, he has been trying hard to find a job.
:![]()