Yes....we were told before on TV from someone BIG...that there is no free lunch in singaporeOriginally posted by Aveme:Do you think that some people are able to think that letting someone know will help him? We are raised in a society for decades whereby we are taught that no one owe you a living or anything,everyone for himself/herself.He must have felt that esp couple with a non helpful govt that is only good at helping the rich,daily life pressure mount and accumulate until depression is so easy to set in esp for males that he is not able to think rationally anymore.
Trying to kill himself on the MRT tracks maybe his final show contempt for the govt and want to use it to show to as much people as possible of such ill conditions he had to suffer by making it as big a news as possible,so i can only worry that such cases are going to increase as the economy continue like this in stagflation and govt doing nothing
No, I dont think it is the gov fault!!!!Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:PAP Govt is the killer. They shld be responsible for the man's death.![]()
set up a fund? who is going to manage it?Originally posted by foomwee88:No, I dont think it is the gov fault!!!!
It is our society fault!!!!
we cant save a life!!!!!!
How 2 resolve it ????
I think we shd set up a fund for the needy sporeans who r really poor n helpless!!!
Shall I suggest SG forum to start a ball rolling!!!!i
Originally posted by foomwee88:No, I dont think it is the gov fault!!!!
It is our society fault!!!!
we cant save a life!!!!!!
How 2 resolve it ????
I think we shd set up a fund for the needy sporeans who r really poor n helpless!!!
Shall I suggest SG forum to start a ball rolling!!!!i
WHY??? there is no why. sometimes there is no reason. he could have been depressed long before already. but perhaps his being jobless and his family suffering so badly was the final straw for him.Originally posted by foomwee88:Why he is depressed????
Cant pay the bills rite???
Why noone he cud seek 4 help????
this is a failure of our society lah!!!!
Anyway address or other contact details or at least means to find them out so we can send in our help? For the moment lets just leave the political bullshit out of this and concentrate on helping these poor folks.Originally posted by siaokao:Story summary:
43 year jobless man jumps into an oncoming MRT train.. ended up dead in 3 pcs.
He has abt $10 with him when he died.
He leaves behind his sick wife and 2 kids.
His wife was informed abt his death but could not go to morgue ID her dead husband cos she dun have any cash to utilize our world class public transportation system. A kind policeman, out of his own pocket.. give her $5 for the MRT ride.
Their kids have been eating instant noodles for most of the week.
Before the man leave his 3 room HDB home, he gives his son $9 for 3 packets of chicken rice (as parting "feast" i assume).
Utilities and phone bills has been outstanding for abt a year.
His wife is sick but have no $ to see doc (world class health care system..)
Sick wife works 12 hrs a day as a production operator earning $500/mth.
She has to pay $300 monthly installment for their 3 room HDB.
School fees for the 2 kids have been outstanding for a year.
Before killing himself, he has been trying hard to find a job.
:![]()
The person whom I respected the most is Mr Lee of OCBC bank founder!!!Originally posted by Mospeada:set up a fund? who is going to manage it?
what happened to our SARS fund.....
sorry..wrong infoOriginally posted by wisefool83:Anyway address or other contact details or at least means to find them out so we can send in our help? For the moment lets just leave the political bullshit out of this and concentrate on helping these poor folks.
Thk u!!!Originally posted by Mospeada:i think the wake is being held at Blk 37 of sin ming road
i am not sure if the info is correct...u need to check...Originally posted by foomwee88:Thk u!!!
I think we shd concern the family members especially their children as well!!!
I will go there 2day!!!!
yes...anyone calling?Originally posted by dragg:call wanbao for the info.
Pls make sure lah~~~Originally posted by Mospeada:i am not sure if the info is correct...u need to check...
Thk u very much 4 yr kind assistance!!!Originally posted by Mospeada:i know u are concerned...but i am trying to find the number to call wanbao
Thk u!!!!Originally posted by siaokao:Yes, as much as our society has failed to save this family, this same society is shaped by our gov. (see young Miss WeeÂ’s comment)
I agree with another post in the forum that our gov have got no clue what is happening in this sector of our society. The ruling elite class is too remote to even imagine their difficulties.
Raising transportation fare is less than a peanut to these elite.. but imagine no $ for MRT ticket to go ID dead husband! (well, to make things worse, I doubt these very poor has store value tickets.. thus have to buy the more expensive single trip ticket)
There are private charities and community services around to assist this group of people. But perhaps because they are so poor and kept to themselves (outcast?), they have limited knowledge on assistance available to them. Charities have been working hard to reach out to this sector of society but I guess they missed this family.
Managing SGforums funds can be tricky, I think itÂ’s unnecessary. We can plan our own private contribution.
If anyone has address to this unfortunate family, please let us know. (kindly do not post address openly, we'll PM u for it.)
Thats where the wake is being held.. i think it ends today.Originally posted by Mospeada:ok...got it...it is indeed Blk 37 Sin Ming Drive...
yes...u mean u knew it all along?Originally posted by siaokao:Thats where the wake is being held.. i think it ends today.
Thk u very much!!!! May God bless U!!!!Originally posted by Mospeada:ok...got it...it is indeed Blk 37 Sin Ming Drive...Sin Ming Funeral Parlour