I mean got hands got legs, literally.Originally posted by siaokao:Got hands got legs.. no job but have bills to pay, kids to feed.. wat to do? We dun have farmland here.. cannot use hands and legs grow your own food leh.. U are not suggesting use hands and legs go rob or something liddat ya?
Comes back to foreign talents... Singapore is too much of a competitive environment... ya fall down, ya are gonna be stepped on... Some Singaporeans who is well educated can't even get a decent job which is a real disadvantage for those with minimum or no education... this guy is lucky...Originally posted by Mospeada:i ever came across someone who was earning 7-8k until he was retrenching...he has worked for the company for over 17 years...and a few more years before retirement....
but he was retrenched...simply cos the management wanted to save that amount of money ....they hired 4 foreign talents from india with that amount that they were paying the man...
he was out of job for a long while...lucky for him...he has got some saving...and he sold his car...
he ended up as a taxi driver...
he was not very well-educated...but climbed his way up based on his hard work...
the ending would have been diff...if this man here, din have any saving...and has got mouths to feed at home...bills to clear....he might just do the same....
She suffers from muscular illness.. she manage to find and keep the job, already can tell the level of determination she has.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Is that very expensive to treat?
A production operator who works 12 hour shifts with only a day off a week can take home $1,000 per mth. If she only earns $500, probably it's p/t.
Maybe the deceased has some gambling habit or some illness himself, otherwise, i don't see why the cause for suicide. So many families out there with 2 kids, having a household income of $1,000 plus a month are getting by.
yah. it's very good already for a lady at her age and suffering from muscular illness to cope with that kind of job which is often very fast paced. management only cares about productivity, efficiency and cannot endure the old and slow.Originally posted by siaokao:She suffers from muscular illness.. she manage to find and keep the job, already can tell the level of determination she has.
When someone is depressed.. they can make decisions most cannot understand. We should stop our speculation abt the deceased man.
This is not the time to be asking questions. Even if so, we should be questioning the govt why the family has been left out and not why they need help.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Is that very expensive to treat?
A production operator who works 12 hour shifts with only a day off a week can take home $1,000 per mth. If she only earns $500, probably it's p/t.
Maybe the deceased has some gambling habit or some illness himself, otherwise, i don't see why the cause for suicide. So many families out there with 2 kids, having a household income of $1,000 plus a month are getting by.
We shd ask why they need help because if it can happen to one family, it can happen to many others.Originally posted by anonymouscoward:This is not the time to be asking questions. Even if so, we should be questioning the govt why the family has been left out and not why they need help.
Help first, ask later.
but thats not the help our TS is questioning here? Hope you get his pointOriginally posted by dragg:what he should have done was to approach the straits times or TNP. help would come pouring in if their situation were highlighted to the masses.
This will also point out that what do they mean when they publish that employment is at an all time HIGH?Originally posted by Aveme:Do you think that some people are able to think that letting someone know will help him? We are raised in a society for decades whereby we are taught that no one owe you a living or anything,everyone for himself/herself.He must have felt that esp couple with a non helpful govt that is only good at helping the rich,daily life pressure mount and accumulate until depression is so easy to set in esp for males that he is not able to think rationally anymore.
Trying to kill himself on the MRT tracks maybe his final show contempt for the govt and want to use it to show to as much people as possible of such ill conditions he had to suffer by making it as big a news as possible,so i can only worry that such cases are going to increase as the economy continue like this in stagflation and govt doing nothing
My apology if I haven't been clear. I am not saying it is the govt's fault but that when such things happen, shouldn't the govt find out why it has, if it is an isolated incident or/and if there is something they should do to prevent these things from happening again.Originally posted by Rock^Star:We shd ask why they need help because if it can happen to one family, it can happen to many others.
Gdness sake too, it's not the govt's fault.
Now you're thinking... But have you not given a thought before? Maybe it's a CONSPIRACY?Originally posted by MohamedF:I got once heard of an article about "The Endless Cycle of Poverty"... According to theory, those who are poor tend to have lotsa children, among these children, chances are they wont get the required education, some may lead a life of gangsterism, then with minimum education, they received minimum wage jobs and has little knowledge to set a planned life... and then the cycle continues... the poor need to break this cycle in order to lead a happy life if not for them then the next generation...
sobOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I just know that the man's younger son is my schoolmate.![]()
Well, the "give-birth-more" is only for the well-educated and the elitist. The rest, I think the gahmen will just say, "Fu.ck off, we only want to leech all your money off you, not providing for you!!"Originally posted by FBI:and the gov actually telling us to give birth more..
I got once heard of an article about "The Endless Cycle of Poverty"... According to theory, those who are poor tend to have lotsa children, among these children, chances are they wont get the required education, some may lead a life of gangsterism, then with minimum education, they received minimum wage jobs and has little knowledge to set a planned life... and then the cycle continues... the poor need to break this cycle in order to lead a happy life if not for them then the next generation...thats just the dumbest article i ever heard...
I had Pm my hotmail 2 U!!!Originally posted by siaokao:Thx bro..