pride!!Originally posted by foomwee88:Why they will not call 4 helps????
Actually hor, some(I dunno abt the real situation, at least some of my neighbours belongs to the "some" catalogue) of the old people's children/grandchildren DO give them $$ one, but they dun want to idle at home and no people will employ them, so they go pick drink cans lor.Originally posted by PoRen:You see everywhere in Sgp - old people (some not so old) picking up drink cans and cardboards.
Originally posted by Hogzilla:I think this is bullshit !
Actually hor, some(I dunno abt the real situation, at least some of my neighbours belongs to the "some" catalogue) of the old people's children/grandchildren [b]DO give them $$ one, but they dun want to idle at home and no people will employ them, so they go pick drink cans lor.[/b]
Worst still! the RC still has the cheek to offer help to manage the donation fund for the deceased family . The stupid mp also mentioned that the $ was from the public that the deceased family should not spend it any how?? her statement really made me sick , a typical PAP MP who likes to teach us how 2 f to produce baby!!!Originally posted by ShutterBug:What makes me angrier, is that these government bodies that are supposedly set up to help people in need, are keppin SO QUIET over this incident.
ANd I'd wouldn't be surprised that the gov may even have the bloody cheek to prohibit public from donating to families of people who commits suicide, in their view that others may follow because of the donation outcome.
I won't be surprised at all...
We have about 4.5 years to remind people what they vote for, and what they will get in return.
They may be good in lubricating the engine of our economic machine for their own revenue gains, but they sure as hell suck in caring for the people!
RC offers to help?Originally posted by foomwee88:Worst still! the RC still has the cheek to offer help to manage the donation fund for the deceased family . The stupid mp also mentioned that the $ was from the public that the deceased family should not spend it any how?? her statement really made me sick , a typical PAP MP who likes to teach us how 2 f to produce baby!!!
A life has been lost and I strongly feel that our sg gov shd look into the matter seriouly n we on the hand shd provide ideas as to how we can prevent it 2 happen again ,if possible.
Which is why it's not about the party in power too, we have to change the whole system of doing things here. The need to free up the people's mindset is very important.Originally posted by ShutterBug:What makes me angrier, is that these government bodies that are supposedly set up to help people in need, are keppin SO QUIET over this incident.
ANd I'd wouldn't be surprised that the gov may even have the bloody cheek to prohibit public from donating to families of people who commits suicide, in their view that others may follow because of the donation outcome.
I won't be surprised at all...
We have about 4.5 years to remind people what they vote for, and what they will get in return.
They may be good in lubricating the engine of our economic machine for their own revenue gains, but they sure as hell suck in caring for the people!
Tell the RC go and fly layang!!!Originally posted by foomwee88:Worst still! the RC still has the cheek to offer help to manage the donation fund for the deceased family . The stupid mp also mentioned that the $ was from the public that the deceased family should not spend it any how?? her statement really made me sick , a typical PAP MP who likes to teach us how 2 f to produce baby!!!
A life has been lost and I strongly feel that our sg gov shd look into the matter seriouly n we on the hand shd provide ideas as to how we can prevent it 2 happen again ,if possible.
Lacking??? What lacking??Originally posted by LazerLordz:Which is why it's not about the party in power too, we have to change the whole system of doing things here. The need to free up the people's mindset is very important.
What we have today, is a bunch of citizens who will not use their own mind for most part.. and a party in power that is shockingly myopic and lacking in basic EQ.
If you are a employer, who will you choose to sponsor for training in ITE?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Why should anyone give fish to the man who refuses to fish for himself? Trainees at ITE programmes are given a salary whilst they train for a job. It is sure better than being unemployed and walking the streets. It is also easier for the social worker to get the family on various benefit schemes if one is satisfied that the family is doing everything possible to improve their financial situation.
The poor man must demonstrate a willingness to help himself and he will then be eligible for the various assistance schemes available.
If the young teenager has a father to pay for him, why should anyone sponsor him? On the other extreme, if it is a 66-year old retiree with young children who would have to rely on public funds if he cannot find a job, it certainly makes good sense to sponsor him for training.Originally posted by ObviousMan:If you are a employer, who will you choose to sponsor for training in ITE?
(1) Young teenager attending ITE aged 16 -20
(2) Young Foreign Talent aged 16-20
(3) Experienced Foreign Talent (probably do not need training)
(4) Odd-job labourer currently unemployed, aged 46 (eg. Mr Tan)
(5) Retiree, aged 66
Yes!!!Originally posted by Mospeada:Yes....we were told before on TV from someone BIG...that there is no free lunch in singapore![]()
I fully support your ideal...let's do it....Originally posted by foomwee88:No, I dont think it is the gov fault!!!!
It is our society fault!!!!
we cant save a life!!!!!!
How 2 resolve it ????
I think we shd set up a fund for the needy sporeans who r really poor n helpless!!!
Shall I suggest SG forum to start a ball rolling!!!!i
Ranking order: 4, 2, 1, 5, 3.Originally posted by ObviousMan:If you are a employer, who will you choose to sponsor for training in ITE?
(1) Young teenager attending ITE aged 16 -20
(2) Young Foreign Talent aged 16-20
(3) Experienced Foreign Talent (probably do not need training)
(4) Odd-job labourer currently unemployed, aged 46 (eg. Mr Tan)
(5) Retiree, aged 66
Originally posted by wisefool83:depression can happen to anyone, nothing to do with character.
According to the report in Lianhe Zaobao today the family was receiveing financial help from various help from [b]both Government and charity org including 800 dollars per month into his CPF account to pay for the HDB flat and $1000 per year for one of his son's pocket money and monthly $150-200 allowance from Ci Ji charity. He later stopped receiving these helps after he had a more stable job and the family income was above 1400. After he lost his most recent job however, he did not seek help from any of the organisations. His wife said that he felt that they shouldn't trouble other people all the time.
So in this case, its not that nobody is willing to help him or that he didn't know how to get help. He just chose to die which could be due to clinical depression or (with all due respect), a weakness in his character. I think there is a general feeling that "all dead people are good" and not a lot of people would like to explore the idea of if the suicide victim had any part to play in his own tradegy. [/b]
Most people with depression do not commit suicide. It is irresponsible and selfish.Originally posted by dragg:depression can happen to anyone, nothing to do with character.