I feel OUR privacy has always been violated. I like this, daddy clearing daughter's shi+
'WHAT she said did come across as insensitive. The language was stronger than what most people could take.
But she wrote in a private blog and I feel that her privacy has been violated. After all, they were the rantings of an 18-year-old among friends.
I think if you cut through the insensitivity of the language, her basic point is reasonable, that is, that a well-educated university graduate who works for a multinational company should not be bemoaning about the Government and get on with the challenges in life.
Nonetheless, I have counselled her to learn from it. Some people cannot take the brutal truth and that sort of language, so she ought to learn from it.
In our current desire to encourage more debate, especially through the Internet, our comments must be tempered with sensitivity.
I will not gag her, since she's 18 and should be able to stand by what she says.
The new media of the Internet is such that if you don't like what she has said, you have the right of rebuttal.
Hopefully, after the discussion, everyone will be the richer for it. As a parent, I may not have inculcated the appropriate level of sensitivity, but she has learnt a lesson, and it's good that she has learnt it at such an early stage in life.'
ANG MO KIO GRC MP WEE SIEW KIM on his daughter's comments
Teen blogger counselled for her 'elitist' remarks
She lacks the substance to even walk on the same path as those Rhodes Scholars or the fine men and women who work in the Peace Corps/Oxfam/Name-Your-NGO here.Originally posted by LinYu:Coming from a well to do family, she fail to see the fear of the ageing (40 and above) as they are the one who is going to lay the food on the table for the family. such fear and worries are not without reasons.
Unfortunately for Miss Wee, she fail to see the fear of the ordinary citizen given her status and family background. Perhaps she should be send to work in Vietnam, Ethopia to help the poor as part of her humatarian studies to understand the under preveilage.![]()
This is how the system is run. Elites have all the controls and opportunities to do as they please. Head I win tail you lose.Originally posted by charlize:Elites 1, Rest of Singapore 0.
And the football match hasn't even started yet.
her family influential meh..??Originally posted by GHoST_18:because it's a private blog, does that means that one does not have to responsible for his/her words...?
look at some bloggers who were prosecuted for sensitive entries in their blogs...
and other blogs that were closed for the same reason...
it's their private blogs...
it's their privacy...
isnt that a violation of their privacy by prosecuting the bloggers or forcing them to close their blogs?
this doesnt mean one can just shoot his/her mouth away just because he/she comes from an influential family...![]()
i dun stay in AMK mar..?Originally posted by anonymouscoward:hello... her father has 66.6% supporters in AMK and sits on the right hand of "God", our dear PM, okay.
Originally posted by anonymouscoward:PM is not "God" - he is only a "BG" : 'Baby God'.
hello... her father has 66.6% supporters in AMK and sits on the right hand of "God", our dear PM, okay.