JC students more easily conned.Originally posted by anonymouscoward:In a small section under home, our dear Mr Lim Boon Heng attend JJC's (Jurong Junior College) DND. In his speech, he touch on the topic of elitism and says that the elite in Singapore do have compassion for the under privilege. He went on to say that elites like the students of JJC should take up the responsibility to society and not should any elitism.
Not to insult JJC students but are all JC students considered elites??? If I remember correctly, they are top 10 starting from the bottom of the JC ranking. Even some courses in polytechnic have cut-off points are lower than their's. If that is the case, I think all polytechnic and private students are elites too.
I think they are trying to blur the lines to confuse the public and pushing the responsibility away. LBH is making a fool out of the students and himself.
Errrmmmmm....Originally posted by anonymouscoward:In a small section under home, our dear Mr Lim Boon Heng attend JJC's (Jurong Junior College) DND. In his speech, he touch on the topic of elitism and says that the elite in Singapore do have compassion for the under privilege. He went on to say that elites like the students of JJC should take up the responsibility to society and not should any elitism.
Not to insult JJC students but are all JC students considered elites??? If I remember correctly, they are top 10 starting from the bottom of the JC ranking. Even some courses in polytechnic have cut-off points are lower than their's. If that is the case, I think all polytechnic and private students are elites too.
I think they are trying to blur the lines to confuse the public and pushing the responsibility away. LBH is making a fool out of the students and himself.
In a small section under home, our dear Mr Lim Boon Heng attend JJC's (Jurong Junior College) DND. In his speech, he touch on the topic of elitism and says that the elite in Singapore do have compassion for the under privilege. He went on to say that elites like the students of JJC should take up the responsibility to society and not should any elitism.i think the ministers in singapore all has got the mistaken view that JC students are elites lar (dun get me wrong, i'm in JC myself)...simply put, the gahmen is making it seems as if all s'pore jc students are elites. how wrong can that be...
The PM started this elite thing a few years back.Originally posted by LazerLordz:The use of this term elite is getting on my nerves.For gawd's sake, we pay a minister a king's ransom and he has that limited vocabulary? Hardly an intellectual I would say, merely a technocrat.
JC students are elites.Originally posted by mahawarrior:i think the ministers in singapore all has got the mistaken view that JC students are elites lar (dun get me wrong, i'm in JC myself)...simply put, the gahmen is making it seems as if all s'pore jc students are elites. how wrong can that be...
even heard of how some ppl wif L1R5 of 20 points yet still trying to squeeze into JC, yet how others wif L1R5 of 6 points still choose to go poly? elite my foot.
I was a JC student from Pioneer. My parents are both secondary 2 education, and i can say my results are kinda average...not too high not too low either.Originally posted by charlize:JC students are elites.
Otherwise, how else can a JC student tell a 30 something working adult to "get out of my elite uncaring face" ?
Myopic is an eye deficiency, use the word "short-sighted".Originally posted by Wakus:I was a JC student from Pioneer. My parents are both secondary 2 education, and i can say my results are kinda average...not too high not too low either.
I think you are generalising here...I can tell you STRAIGHT that not all JC students are like Wee Shu Min...Come on shes a scholar from RJC for God's sake!
I know of JC friends...in pioneer and other top JCs who have the same sort of background...and our parents are facing somewhat what Mr. Derek is experiencing, or is going to face...and trust me we know how the uncertainty
of being jobless...or even trying to continue our education is. My dad got retrenched when i was going to take my A levels. Thank god he found a job....but dunno for how long he can stay employed.
So please do not categorise us so sweepingly...not all of us are like that...
Wee Shu Min has a dad who has a good salary and most likely will stay employed till he retires...i cant say the same for my friend's parents and my parents...so she really is myopic...but that doesn't mean we're all myopic...
Originally posted by Hogzilla:Myopic is an eye deficiency, use the word "short-sighted".
Please, don't generalise.Originally posted by Wakus:![]()
But i think same leh...
Hahaha...okokOriginally posted by ditzy:Please, don't generalise.![]()
Haha myopic or shortsighted, we get your point. Cheers to non-elitism!Originally posted by Wakus:Wee Shu Min has a dad who has a good salary and most likely will stay employed till he retires...i cant say the same for my friend's parents and my parents...so she really is myopic and childish...but that doesn't mean we're all short sighted and naive...
My dear.Originally posted by Wakus:I was a JC student from Pioneer. My parents are both secondary 2 education, and i can say my results are kinda average...not too high not too low either.
I think you are generalising here...I can tell you STRAIGHT that not all JC students are like Wee Shu Min...Come on shes a scholar from RJC for God's sake!
I know of JC friends...in pioneer and other top JCs who have the same sort of background...and our parents are facing somewhat what Mr. Derek is experiencing, or is going to face...and trust me we know how the uncertainty
of being jobless...or even trying to continue our education is. My dad got retrenched when i was going to take my A levels. Thank god he found a job....but dunno for how long he can stay employed.
So please do not categorise us so sweepingly...not all of us are like that...
Wee Shu Min has a dad who has a good salary and most likely will stay employed till he retires...i cant say the same for my friend's parents and my parents...so she really is myopic and childish...but that doesn't mean we're all short sighted and naive...
Hmmm....agreed...Originally posted by charlize:My dear.
You need to read more topics in Speaker's Corner to see where I am coming from.
Really.