In fact we should thank the uncaring elite otherwise we would not know what kind of MP we have.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Fact is, Shu Min can say all she wants, and get flamed or fight her own stand. No one has a problem with that.
But when her father has to step in, that's when it has crossed the line, and the furore increased.
And kio his sai, I don't think so lor.Originally posted by charlize:You think any other MP or minister wants to come out and defend Mr Wee here?
Or maybe the PM has to issue an official reply to appease the people?
Maybe another MP wants his or her 15 minutes of fame.Originally posted by ditzy:And kio his sai, I don't think so lor.![]()
not all truth but i believe not too far away!!!!!Originally posted by thinkloud2004:I dread to think that what MP Wee Siew Kim has written is a true reflection of what and how he feels for the less well-off. If we have many of such people in Parliament and top civil service posts, can we not expect the cost of living to keep going up?? And the poor become poorer?
And he expects all the graduates and high earners to think and do alike, i.e. just accept the challenges, work hard and aim high for their own personal gains. How about those who are at the bottom of the rat race ? Is it wrong for somebody who is more capable to speak on their behalf. Or should they be ignored and if possible eliminated ?
Do we need to see more people committing suicide (like throwing themselves at a moving MRT train) before our "elected" leaders reaslie that society as a whole is not as rich and glamorous as what they see, or pretend to see.![]()
The only apology I will accept is a FULL Cabinet resignation and declaration of their assets.Originally posted by charlize:You think any other MP or minister wants to come out and defend Mr Wee here?
Or maybe the PM has to issue an official reply to appease the people?
Now that amuses meOriginally posted by Hogzilla:I know this is olds but look at this, our controversal Wee Shu Min has made her way into wikipedia!!!
Check it out
http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Wee_Shu_Min&redirect=no
omg..did they submit it themselves??Originally posted by JackOT:Now that amuses me
No... scarly, her genes not elitist. the truth is a beggar named Old old Wee long long ago kena adopted into the early parliament, then suddenly, life for him changed!Originally posted by Zelphon:Well done !!!!
So this is what an MP of our 1st WORLD GOVT is thinking....
So most of us is wasting our time moaning at the govt instead of getting on with challenges in our life...
Hhahaha... Sad to say that WE COMPETENT SINGAPOREANS are a patrotic bunch and not only have we faced our challenges upfront, we still have time to moan abt the govt ...Why u might say ?? Obviously the govt created the situations that Fucked up our lives and that's why we moan abt them...
A guy recently commited suicide in our 1st world country due to poverty..
Now an MP daughter who's in RJC thought that she is an elitist and is above every singaporeans cos she thinks she is an elitist..What a Joke !!!!
What makes u to be an elitist ?? Cos u are in RJC ?? cos ur daddy dearest is an MP ??? Laughable... Even till date, i am still fuming mad at our PM's natinal rally speech which indirectly hints at singaporeans to go solve ur own problems instead of relying on the govt...
MPs and the govt draw their fat fat paycheck which conincidentally happens to be the highest in the world (I heard that our dear PM draws a higher yearly salary than the President Bush of USA) So good sia...get paid to do nothing but tell their employer (the citizens) to go fuck themselves... Wow..I wanna be an MP too...
COINCIDENTALLY, the AMK MP happens to be the director of UTAC ...or so i heard...perhaps, our citizens in UTAC can do something...
Nonetheless, i believe HEAVEN has eyes...no wonder she is such a FUGLY BITCH...![]()
Her beauty must be inherited from her ELITIST genes...
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Hmm, seriously speaking, how is Mr Wee defined as having ablities/skills/other qualities to be in demand, or even respected? Frankly speaking, I didn't know his existence untill this issue came along ...
[b]In a market order a certain form of elitism is unavoidable. A person whose abilities, skills or other qualities are in demand is likely to be more respected and more economically powerful. This, in itself, is not an evil as those who desire his service freely concede that position.
(http://www.ourcivilisation.com/cooray/btof/chap13.htm)[/b]
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Put the red parts together, and bucks to your aunt's cherry Singaporeans will start thinking not only of this sad and sorry Wee affair, but of peanuts, public service imcompetence and a one-party government.
Elitism, privilege, authority and control by vested interests are focused on by Marxists and other socialists. Elitism and authority are inherent in any human organisation. The idea of a society of equals is a dream world, existing only in the minds and writings of those with little or no understanding of human nature and human history: a dream world of drabness, monotony, stagnation, poverty, non-fulfilment and non-achievement. Marxists and socialists themselves are highly elitist in their belief that they know, better than the people themselves, what is good for the people. They flourish in that most elitist of institutions, the university.
Elitism, authority and privilege exist, but in the western democratic order there are a number of countervailing factors:
the merit principle,
the concept of individual responsibility,
the control of public power by constitutional and legal safeguards,
moral values and
the existence of a considerable degree of upward (and downward) social mobility
These may seem insignificant. Yet their significance becomes apparent when compared to other systems (past and existing). If they are less effective now than they were some time ago, the reason is the growth of government, the influence of the progressivists and counter-productive reform.
Elitism today is a dirty word. It is undeniable that some forms of elitism are wholly reprehensible. Privilege and position derived from factors such as birthright, patronage or dictatorial political power are often examples of retrogressive forms of elitism. Such elitism excludes the able, the persevering and the deserving. It rewards not talent and effort, but power and connections. It creates a parasitic elite which stifles progress. In fact the beneficiaries of such a system do not deserve the name elite.
But there are other more important forms of elitism which are indispensable to human progress. A society which does not reward effort and talent cannot progress. A progressive society needs to allocate tasks and responsibilities to those who are most competent to undertake them. It is also unavoidable that the performance of tasks and the discharge of responsibilities requires commensurate powers. But it is important to ensure that public positions are accessible to the most competent through fair and free competition and that powers are coupled with responsibility. To operate a system of productive elitism, it is necessary to have freedom to compete and the right to be judged on merit alone. Freedom and the merit principle operate to allocate tasks according to capability. The capable would not seek position without just reward. Therefore, just reward is an indispensable element in maximising the benefits to society.
Elitism in one form or another is unavoidable. The choice is between productive, merit based elitism and retrogressive elitism. Communist nations which set out to destroy all privileges have only succeeded in establishing the most entrenched forms of bureaucratic hierarchy. They have created impregnable bastions of elitism based not on merit or competition but on political power. In democratic societies there are attempts to prevent elitism, particularly in public institutions. Managers are being replaced by committees and Presidents and Chairmen are being replaced by "convenors". Nevertheless, in their actual functioning these bodies become stratified into a pecking order with some being "more equal than others". Decisions are taken - but when things go wrong no one claims responsibility. Alternatively, they become ineffective and useless forums; nett burdens on the institutions they are supposed to serve.
Elitism which rewards endeavour, and which places the most gifted in positions of responsibility, is the hallmark of a progressive polity. But elitism in this sense cannot be maintained without legal and moral sanctions. It requires guarantees of freedom and checks upon power to ensure that authority is not abused. In short, it can only operate within an institutional framework which promotes freedom and inhibits corruption.
In a market order a certain form of elitism is unavoidable. A person whose abilities, skills or other qualities are in demand is likely to be more respected and more economically powerful. This, in itself, is not an evil as those who desire his service freely concede that position. It is the only way in which an impersonal market can operate to the benefit of all. The qualities that are respected may be very diverse, eg, skill, diligence, effort, honesty or even possession of capital wealth. People who possess such qualities provide services for economic gains or less tangible social gains such as reputation. The important factor is that in a market order elitism is unlikely to last unless the elite pays its price by some service desired by others. In a non market order (such as feudalism, socialism or fascism) elitism will persist where there is no such mutual benefit.
Responsible and merit based elitism is desirable in public institutions, subject to one important qualification. That is, the power of public institutions should be limited. Today, officials who constitute the bureaucratic elite are gaining powers to control the lives of citizens to an alarming extent, reminiscent of the powers of the feudal barons. The first task is to define and limit the power of government. The second is to choose the right people to exercise the powers.
(http://www.ourcivilisation.com/cooray/btof/chap13.htm)
This Wee serve how many MP term already?Originally posted by anonymouscoward:Her elitist father is just another idiot like her daughter. Did he really bother to understand what Derek is trying to say? Is Derek speaking only for himself?
What a crackpot. So this is how our MP thinks. I wonder if PM Lee will stand by him. Now I'm really, really afraid of the kind of people running this country.
This is the typical case of a father failing his duty miserably in educating his children. Instead, he has the cheek to reprimand others for doing his job for him.
Apparently, our MP really thinks so lowly of the average citizens and assumes that we cannot sieve through the language and get the crux of his daughter's message.
Dear Mr Wee and Ms Wee. It is not the language that is offending us. It is the elitist ideology and the 'only the strong will survive, the weak should all die' concept from a highly educated youth (who'll probably be running some big state-owned company some day) that is offending us. Get it?
People who are born to privilege knowledge of how the system works, people like Mr and Ms Wee, should use this knowledge and their privilege position to help those who cannot see nor has the time to understand (because they are working so hard to earn a living). Is not this the reason why we elect them in the first place?
If they fail to see this point and fail in their duty, then I say remove them from office.
And if the PM is reading this, he should do wisely so as not to loose the confidence of the other 66.6% of those who stills support him.
Anyone got photos of the Wee family membres can paste it here?Originally posted by av98m:So what he's basically saying is that his daughter is right and we are all wrong.
The outcome would have been very, very, different if it were the daughter of say, an opposition party member or MP. Probably kena have to pay for full page apology in the papers or something.![]()