thanks for the pic...Originally posted by Gun:Confirm this is the Oh-wee-so-famous Ms RJC (center) ?
I think the aftermath reactions of both Bloggers speak louder than words.
Derek Wee's blog is still around(Future of Singapore) -
while daughter-Wee's blog is zipped (Now copyrighted in many other blogs likethis one.)
So why is Daddy Wee's reply doing in ST when Derek Wee's article can't even get into ST forum in the 1st place?
"Elite" has become an uglier word...right after "Peanut".
At the next elections, hope you guys can start a thread on this again.Originally posted by abao:AMKers should all remember this and vote him out for the greater good of Singapore.
contents removed alreadyOriginally posted by Hogzilla:I know this is olds but look at this, our controversal Wee Shu Min has made her way into wikipedia!!!
Check it out
http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Wee_Shu_Min&redirect=no
sure or not?Originally posted by PoRen:contents removed already
oh thanks!Originally posted by Hogzilla:sure or not?
Just access it leh. It's still there.
Huh??Originally posted by PoRen:oh thanks!
feel like going to meet the people session to talk some sense into him...
but dunno non-amk residents will be rejected by his kar-kia b4 even getting to see his office door or not
http://www.parliament.gov.sg/AboutUs/Org-MP-MP-Prof-WeeSiewKim.htm
Singapore (Gahmen) style ... get used to it ...Originally posted by Simon Dean:Her essay is so boring, peppered by bombastic words to baffle people but with no content.The same points being are reiterated 2000 times.Please la, if you wanna write an article.Write in a concise and succinct manner.Not to mention, it beats around the bush like hell.
Elitist blogger thinks she can impress you with her arsenal of bombastic words mah.Originally posted by Simon Dean:Her essay is so boring, peppered by bombastic words to baffle people but with no content.The same points being are reiterated 2000 times.Please la, if you wanna write an article.Write in a concise and succinct manner.Not to mention, it beats around the bush like hell.
i sense sarcasm everywhere in his comments...
'WHAT she said did come across as insensitive. The language was stronger than what most people could take.
But she wrote in a private blog and I feel that her privacy has been violated. After all, they were the rantings of an 18-year-old among friends.
I think if you cut through the insensitivity of the language, her basic point is reasonable, that is, that a well-educated university graduate who works for a multinational company should not be bemoaning about the Government and get on with the challenges in life.
Nonetheless, I have counselled her to learn from it. Some people cannot take the brutal truth and that sort of language, so she ought to learn from it.
In our current desire to encourage more debate, especially through the Internet, our comments must be tempered with sensitivity.
I will not gag her, since she's 18 and should be able to stand by what she says.
The new media of the Internet is such that if you don't like what she has said, you have the right of rebuttal.
Hopefully, after the discussion, everyone will be the richer for it. As a parent, I may not have inculcated the appropriate level of sensitivity, but she has learnt a lesson, and it's good that she has learnt it at such an early stage in life.'
ANG MO KIO GRC MP WEE SIEW KIM on his daughter's comments
Teen blogger counselled for her 'elitist' remarks
Ok, let's move on.Originally posted by #$%^&*:I feel this is really much ado about nothing.
Why should anyone pay special attention to her blog, an 18 year old teenager?
Should you pay attention to Steven Lim blog?
Should you pay attention to thousands of other young people, talking and ranting about anything under the sun and in any manner as they like?
I feel that this phenomenon is a bit ugly, it shows the predatory instinct of some section of Singaporeans, who really just want to find something bad or ugly to attack and vent their frustrations, especially towards 'elitism' or whatever it is called. Something like this shows up, people pounce, like a tiger.
It is a little worrying for me, because she is just a teenager writing a blog, a non-issue, and, it is a private thing, should not be extended to her father who is coincidentally holding a public office and therefore politically flogged. To me this is an uncomfortable and awkward privacy intrusion on family relations.
Hi, Master Robert Teh,Originally posted by robertteh:(As posted to YoungPap forum on 26.10.2006)
It will be of no use too if they only know how to talk about noblesse oblige without practising it. I agree that in the first place do the elites ever know their duty to society which give them the opportunity to have all the head-start which others do not have in the public service.
Term after term, despite all the self-praises heaped upon their own select MPs, Ministers and all the scholar elites they have been caring only for their own policies or self-rewards and afraid to lose their positions or high office.
So people are left to fend for themselves and some committed suicides by jumping the MRT tracks being unable to cope up with the perpetual fee increases and creative accounting dished out on the lower and middle class.
So if our MPs and Ministers and the elites occupying high positions in GLCs etc have lost the respect of the people who give them the opportunities but they have failed to serve their due to society.
So in Singapore the elites who are called talents or scholars have gradually lost their right to lecture or teach anyone else about morality, citizenship duties and responsibility.
That is probably why with such poor records our elites are no longer trusted but were seen to be hypocrites.
When MPs fail to empathise with the poor suffering unemployed they will cause resentments if they try to be hypocritical by saying they want to look after the public donations for the family whose bread winner has just committed suicide.
That is why when Ms Wee Shu Min wrote what she wrote against Derek Wee she was instantly condemned due to the pent-up feeling of the people towards the uncaring elites.
The elites have lost the right to lecture or moralise any citizens because people have seen through their hypocrisy. The only cure is the remaking of mentality of our leaders, and all the elites so that they will do something to pay back to the people to improve their fellow citizens.
People expect them to speak up and stand up and challenge wrong policies of the past which resulted in unhappiness and inequities otherwise they will not count as elites or be respected by the people.
Firstly, a blog, seems to be like a personal diary, unfortunately, the blog is for all to see. Hence, writing such comments (which angered many) on her blog, doesn't seems to be a private thing anymore.Originally posted by #$%^&*:I feel this is really much ado about nothing.
It is a little worrying for me, because she is just a teenager writing a blog, a non-issue, and, it is a private thing, should not be extended to her father who is coincidentally holding a public office and therefore politically flogged. To me this is an uncomfortable and awkward privacy intrusion on family relations.
For this same reason those who post racist or defamatory remarks against any religion must be prosecuted. The threat to sociaol harmony is greater.Originally posted by gd4u:Firstly, a blog, seems to be like a personal diary, unfortunately, the blog is for all to see. Hence, writing such comments (which angered many) on her blog, doesn't seems to be a private thing anymore.
Originally posted by JackOT:From Straits time
I feel OUR privacy has always been violated. I like this, daddy clearing daughter's shi+
It's quite possible.Originally posted by play_n_play:if miss wee becomes one of the SG leader in the future...???
yup he did. but then he wrote 'I will not GAG my daughter since she is 18 YEARS OLD AND SHOULD BE ABLE TO STAND BY HER WORDS".. duh..Originally posted by gd4u:Firstly, a blog, seems to be like a personal diary, unfortunately, the blog is for all to see. Hence, writing such comments (which angered many) on her blog, doesn't seems to be a private thing anymore.
Her father, came out and supported her comments. What does that show about her father views? I dunnoe, i hope that, her father did gave her a serious lecture behind the media spotlight. If not, I will have to seriously worry for my future....
Ermm... think with those HUGE hooters... I don't think she can stand long.. backache lah...Originally posted by 4getmenot:yup he did. but then he wrote 'I will not GAG my daughter since she is 18 YEARS OLD AND SHOULD BE ABLE TO STAND BY HER WORDS".. duh..![]()
Yes, you are right.Originally posted by gorby107:All this of what had happened should go and "thank" of our education policy.
The government need to know what and how are we doing in school. Especially the neighbourhood school. Maybe they can review the policy of it to help out more people from falling into the trap.
If people possess the same mindset as you, then the future of SG is really in dire straits.Originally posted by #$%^&*:I feel this is really much ado about nothing.
Should you pay attention to Steven Lim blog?
Should you pay attention to thousands of other young people, talking and ranting about anything under the sun and in any manner as they like?
I feel that this phenomenon is a bit ugly, it shows the predatory instinct of some section of Singaporeans, who really just want to find something bad or ugly to attack and vent their frustrations, especially towards 'elitism' or whatever it is called. Something like this shows up, people pounce, like a tiger.