Ya!! Let's move on!!Originally posted by BillyBong:That's what fears the ruling party: an inability to control or contain comments in the internet. Just look how fast Mr Brown's Mee Pok Man's podcast spread during election time?
But the question is really: why should they fear it when they should be embracing it? Regulating comments on the net is as good as govt censorship.
Anyway, Wee Senior gave an upfront apology. Time to move on.
Maybe somebody got a call from the PM.Originally posted by pierre^^:but Mr Wee got apologise lei
Read HOME of today Straits time
u guys got read papers anot or just skip to forum oni
Apology is a minimum quarter page announcement in the main paper, not integrated into a news article that takes up only 1/8 of the page.Originally posted by pierre^^:but Mr Wee got apologise lei
Read HOME of today Straits time
u guys got read papers anot or just skip to forum oni
Funny leh, zao bao one very big leh.Originally posted by ditzy:Apology is a minimum quarter page announcement in the main paper, not integrated into a news article that takes up only 1/8 of the page.![]()
Why only extracts?Originally posted by Hogzilla:Funny leh, zao bao one very big leh.
Maybe he(or "they", I cannot confirm which one, but since it is "he" who made an apology, so I use "he" first lor) thinks that he need Chinese readers' support more or this saga affects the Chinese readers more. But extracts of Mr Chia's unpublish letter was in the newspaper.
Because Mr Chia not with PAP, so only selective extracts right? If Mr Chia with PAP leh? Half the page guranteed?Originally posted by Hogzilla:Funny leh, zao bao one very big leh.
Maybe he(or "they", I cannot confirm which one, but since it is "he" who made an apology, so I use "he" first lor) thinks that he need Chinese readers' support more or this saga affects the Chinese readers more. But extracts of Mr Chia's unpublish letter was in the newspaper.
Originally posted by charlize:Why only extracts?
Because he is opposition?
Dunno leh. Ask the chief editor of zao bao lor.Originally posted by ditzy:Because Mr Chia not with PAP, so only selective extracts right? If Mr Chia with PAP leh? Half the page guranteed?![]()
Now why would PAP want to discuss this embarassing issue in Parliament?Originally posted by Hogzilla:Dunno leh. Ask the chief editor of zao bao lor.
But if PAP's member bombard MP Wee in the Parlianment, sure hit headlines one. Just need to start with these, "I am disgusted with the way Mr Wee educating his daughter and the elitist ideas that he imparts to her. So on and so forth....."
Wah piang!! I surely rally everyone I know to vote for that chap (who dares to bombard his own party members) in the next GE one. But must report in news lah. I sometimes very lazy to read newspaper one.
If opposition, I also hope that they will do what they did in this year's GE. But no SDP, pls. Extracts of a roughly translated TV presentation of SDP's promotion propaganda.
".......(In Chinese) The elderly were walking around hawker center peddling.....(a rather long short-pause) tissue (in English)"
Wah Kao!! That statement really made my day sia. I had a hard laugh for like 10 minutes and I can't even remember who are rest of the speakers of the various party following him.
Originally posted by charlize:Now why would PAP want to discuss this embarassing issue in Parliament?
it might not be all truth but i believe not too far away from yr statement!!!Originally posted by thinkloud2004:I dread to think that what MP Wee Siew Kim has written is a true reflection of what and how he feels for the less well-off. If we have many of such people in Parliament and top civil service posts, can we not expect the cost of living to keep going up?? And the poor become poorer?
And he expects all the graduates and high earners to think and do alike, i.e. just accept the challenges, work hard and aim high for their own personal gains. How about those who are at the bottom of the rat race ? Is it wrong for somebody who is more capable to speak on their behalf. Or should they be ignored and if possible eliminated ?
Do we need to see more people committing suicide (like throwing themselves at a moving MRT train) before our "elected" leaders reaslie that society as a whole is not as rich and glamorous as what they see, or pretend to see.
So sad.Originally posted by the Bear:well, if they want to make that fella a scapegoat, they can kill him politically while claiming that they are "open to criticism and will do the right thing" then milk it for all it is worth...
i still think the asswipes like Gomez and CSJ are PAP moles
Originally posted by charlize:So sad.
If PAP won't even help one of its own ...
I'm not sure which person would trade their diginity and well-being for such acts.Originally posted by the Bear:well, if they want to make that fella a scapegoat, they can kill him politically while claiming that they are "open to criticism and will do the right thing" then milk it for all it is worth...
i still think the asswipes like Gomez and CSJ are PAP moles
Seriously, 15years + back then, there wasn;t such thing as 'elitism' be it if you studied in RJC or SJI or HJC OR some other top ten colleages in S'pore. Back then, my friends who studied in those schools were more than happy to mingle and make friends from all circles even if you were from some normal stream schools. When did this so called 'elitism' started? and will it ever end? i doubt not. just read an article on 'elitism' today on asiaone..and you wonder why the kids are all infactuated with the word ELITISM..Originally posted by raymond_sianz:Please not everyone is so fortunate. seriously RJC produce this type of students.. Kinda sad that our future leaders might be like that. only help the rich but not the poor. Is true that ppl should not depend on government too much but sometime we need help... If the government cannot help, then why we need them? Maybe ppl here might think "My words are too Brutal" that you guys cannot take itBut i'm so sorry this is the truth fact.
(By the way I no need anyone to slam to learn. I did it on purpose)
It was practised, my dear friend.Originally posted by 4getmenot:Seriously, 15years + back then, there wasn;t such thing as 'elitism' be it if you studied in RJC or SJI or HJC OR some other top ten colleages in S'pore. Back then, my friends who studied in those schools were more than happy to mingle and make friends from all circles even if you were from some normal stream schools. When did this so called 'elitism' started? and will it ever end? i doubt not. just read an article on 'elitism' today on asiaone..and you wonder why the kids are all infactuated with the word ELITISM..
Singapore is all about money, money and more money.Originally posted by BillyBong:I'm not sure which person would trade their diginity and well-being for such acts.
Imagine getting a token sum for the kind of shit you have to go through.
Originally posted by BillyBong:I'm not sure which person would trade their diginity and well-being for such acts.
Imagine getting a token sum for the kind of shit you have to go through.
Read the apparent "apology"... the essential words are all there... the content really isn't that apologetic...Originally posted by BillyBong:That's what fears the ruling party: an inability to control or contain comments in the internet. Just look how fast Mr Brown's Mee Pok Man's podcast spread during election time?
But the question is really: why should they fear it when they should be embracing it? Regulating comments on the net is as good as govt censorship.
Anyway, Wee Senior gave an upfront apology. Time to move on.
It better be an obscene amount....else it's definitely one ellaborate wayang show...Originally posted by the Bear:one person comes to mind... Mata Hari...
who knows what goes through the minds of such people?
Quite hard lor.Originally posted by Squiggly:Read the apparent "apology"... the essential words are all there... the content really isn't that apologetic...
Daughter faulted... she should handle it... Daddy simply screwed everything up doing his "show hand" apology.
I think the netizens were just looking for a simple and sincere apology from his daughter...
e fella is e rated as e CMI minsterOriginally posted by kopiosatu:i actually would prefer mah bow tan to get off immediately