Originally posted by Rock^Star:$70000 A MONTH??!?!?!?
NTUC Secretary-General, Lim Boon Heng, said: "If the lower-income (groups) feel that they are being excluded from society, then there will be unhappiness and social tensions will arise. So we have to make sure that the social gap does not increase. This means the better off should help the less well off."
Click [b]here for a further read-up.
Let's hope he means it. However, with his $70,000 a month salary and retrenchment proof job, has he even got the right to say this?[/b]
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
NTUC Secretary-General, Lim Boon Heng, said: "If the lower-income (groups) feel that they are being excluded from society, then there will be unhappiness and social tensions will arise. So we have to make sure that the social gap does not increase. This means the better off should help the less well off."
Let's hope he means it. However, with his $70,000 a month salary and retrenchment proof job, has he even got the right to say this?[/b]
Hard to say, not wise to officially define too as it will create unhappiness among the weff-off.Originally posted by play_n_play:some clarification maybe needed,
1. who is defined as better-off?
2. who is defined less-well-off?
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Talk is cheap.
Ya!! Confucius said, "When a prince's personal conduct is correct, his government is effective without the issuing of orders. If his personal conduct is not correct, he may issue orders, but they will not be followed."Originally posted by Rock^Star:Hard to say, not wise to officially define too as it will create unhappiness among the weff-off.
He's talking without setting a public example.
True.....reminds me of ah-nehs who shake their heads and say yes.Originally posted by Hogzilla:Ya!! Confucius said, "When a prince's personal conduct is correct, his government is effective without the issuing of orders. If his personal conduct is not correct, he may issue orders, but they will not be followed."
So, how?
You are wrong, they are paid $70K to talk,Originally posted by Rock^Star:True.....reminds me of ah-nehs who shake their heads and say yes.![]()
Well, obviously Confucius was confused! His personal conduct wasn't that flashy when he was in power, killing his political opponent with real lame excuses.Originally posted by Hogzilla:Ya!! Confucius said, "When a prince's personal conduct is correct, his government is effective without the issuing of orders. If his personal conduct is not correct, he may issue orders, but they will not be followed."
So, how?
Another person, by the name of Wang Meng, later in China history (North-South period, for the state of Xian-Qin) mentioned this, "Use rites and conducts to rule a state in peace time; Control a state with laws during wartimes."Originally posted by wisefool83:Well, obviously Confucius was confused! His personal conduct wasn't that flashy when he was in power, killing his political opponent with real lame excuses.
Anyway, backed to what he said, if you reversed the logic, does that mean that if the government is effective then the "prince" or ruler's conduct is good? Cause Singapore was certainly much more effectively than during the initial stage of our independence, so does that mean that LKY's personal conduct is correct?
Furthermore, subsequently after Confucius time, his own state is annexed by Qin, the very state that conquered the entire China. Rather effective government no? Guess Qin Shihuang's personal conduct is pretty good then. And guess who took over the Qin Dynasty? A hooligan by the name of Liu Bang, don't remember that guy getting best conduct prize award.
Good Personal Conduct = effective government? BS!
Wah piang! You guys are better than me sia!!!Originally posted by Rock^Star:When Lim's son was Sec 3, he was already getting $500/mth allowance and me? $100/mth![]()
. That was 1994.
Ah Sia really ah sia.
My sch canteen sell one chicken rice $2 and western food $3. Then i still got to take 2 buses to sch and back. Was financially as poor as u lah........Originally posted by Hogzilla:Wah piang! You guys are better than me sia!!!
I only have $40 of pocket money for one month when I was in Sec 3 and that was in 1997.
(Ok lah, my school is my neighbour lah, so no transport worries.)
Originally posted by Rock^Star:When Lim's son was Sec 3, he was already getting $500/mth allowance and me? $100/mth![]()
. That was 1994.
Ah Sia really ah sia.
500 per mthOriginally posted by Rock^Star:When Lim's son was Sec 3, he was already getting $500/mth allowance and me? $100/mth![]()
. That was 1994.
Ah Sia really ah sia.
who ask u dun study hard?Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:$70000 A MONTH??!?!?!?
I DUN EVEN HAVE $35000 A MONTH!!!
I DUN EVEN HAVE $7000 A MONTH!!!
I DUN EVEN HAVE $3500 A MONTH!!!
heck! i dun even net 2k a month
surely he is a very capable guy right? i work everyday, long hours and i do not even own a hamster.
Ya lor, ya lor. Everyday $2, one week $10, one month $40. Then recess time are well spent in the library. So everyday save $2....Originally posted by shinta:500 per mth![]()
my mother gave me 2 buckz per day nia... somemore not every day get de..
that was in 1999
Study hard also pointless.Originally posted by NT2:who ask u dun study hard?