Originally posted by oxford mushroom:
Haha...
Seditious tendency.
3. —(1) A seditious tendency is a tendency —
(a)
to bring into hatred or contempt or to excite disaffection against the Government;
If you want to press charges, more than half the forumners in Speaker's Corner would have kena charged by now
[/quote]
Hmm, if they(Gahmen) really wants to press charge, it's the moderators they are going after. (I'm not pushing the blame to the moderators) Because they can use a simply excuse that they moderators didn't do their job well in moderating the forum, allowing these seditious tendency to spread in the online community.
But, there are NO moderators to moderate blogs. It is the bloggers that are responsible for their own blogs and all the statement that is publish in the blog. (Hacking is another issue, but think it this way, who would want to hack a personal blog? And we can do something about hacking, like make a police report? Although it is a civil case that won't affect their paycheck, they might want to take care of it because of the Gahmen's goal to make SG a cyber-hub)
If we had the example of the two bloggers prosecuted for spreading racism and sowing the seeds of hatred between races, shouldn't there be another example be set up? Stating the fact that, our Wee Jr is trying to break up our society's cohesiveness by reaping the fruits of elitism and tearing up the peace and tranquility of this small society.
Or maybe there are double standards avaliable and we are going through that now? (Quoted from "Singapore's Story", a documentary made by Discovery Channel. MM Lee's remark, "We go by double standards", I
think{I'm not too sure myself} he was commenting about SIA.)
So I think ObiterDicta's view might be better than some sarcasm from somebody.
Originally posted by ObiterDicta:
It's not a matter of what the lawyer says, nor whether any lawyer dares to take the case up.
Sedition is a criminal offence, which can only be prosecuted by the State. There is currently no option for private prosecutions in Singapore.
regards,
obiterdicta
[quote]Originally posted by letmetalk:
I support Shu Min.. Pull the people back to reality..
It's his life and he is responsible, not the governmentOk, then here comes the million dollar question.
Why should WE pay tax?
Since this worry is OUR'S, so WE must take care of these problems OURSELVES right? Then we could solve the problems better if we don't have to pay tax as we have the extra money, that was intended to pay tax, isn't it?
So, when WE have a worry, is it WRONG to voice it out? (I had one reply which I quoted a story from Records of a Grand Historian somewhere in this forum. You can try to fish it out, I think it's in the "Free media not for Singapore" thread. It talks about forbidding the people to voice out)
So, letmetalk, next time you encounter any problem in work or life, stand by your words. Don't look for any assistance as it is
your problem and
you are responsible for it, not others.