If not blaming the govt then blame who? You huh?Originally posted by wisefool83:Aiya, cannot like that lar, everything also blame government when no details and no info. Somebody die on MRT track = government fault because didn't give him enough money to survive, sounds like very strange logic leh. Why he die still under investigation. If media really want to blackout, previous mrt incident also can blackout mah, don't need to wait till this one. Don't anyhow anyhow suka suka blame leh, now trying to get credible opposition you know, like that suka suka blame how to be credible? The other post on the HDB flat price one also like that, KNN, any moves by the govt also wrong, don't move also wrong then want them to do what?
I've never blamed the government about this incident. I just dun like the media's (which is, ahem, under government's control) way of covering this matter up. So how are we going to know whether the person (the one lost his life in this incident), and those whom he left behind, need any form of help?Originally posted by wisefool83:Aiya, cannot like that lar, everything also blame government when no details and no info. Somebody die on MRT track = government fault because didn't give him enough money to survive, sounds like very strange logic leh. Why he die still under investigation. If media really want to blackout, previous mrt incident also can blackout mah, don't need to wait till this one. Don't anyhow anyhow suka suka blame leh, now trying to get credible opposition you know, like that suka suka blame how to be credible? The other post on the HDB flat price one also like that, KNN, any moves by the govt also wrong, don't move also wrong then want them to do what?
Yah lah, but at least say one sentence on the news (Chinese news hor, where the caring, non-elites are) mah. But they just cover things up as if nothing had happened before.Originally posted by anonymouscoward:maybe we shouldn't print the news lah. more ppl will commit suicide this way if they think they can get money.
That's why Singapore will not get a credible opposition. Very convenient to blame the government for everything: haze, bus fare, girl-girl didn't get to RGS, kena flamed by elite from RGS, people commit suicide, losing job to FT....Originally posted by wisefool83:Aiya, cannot like that lar, everything also blame government when no details and no info. Somebody die on MRT track = government fault because didn't give him enough money to survive, sounds like very strange logic leh. Why he die still under investigation. If media really want to blackout, previous mrt incident also can blackout mah, don't need to wait till this one. Don't anyhow anyhow suka suka blame leh, now trying to get credible opposition you know, like that suka suka blame how to be credible? The other post on the HDB flat price one also like that, KNN, any moves by the govt also wrong, don't move also wrong then want them to do what?
So you live or study in the west?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:That's why Singapore will not get a credible opposition. Very convenient to blame the government for everything: haze, bus fare, girl-girl didn't get to RGS, kena flamed by elite from RGS, people commit suicide, losing job to FT....
Blame the government for everything bad...and everything in the West is better
West Coast Road,Japenese Pr sch opposite NUS.Originally posted by charlize:So you live or study in the west?
In the UK?
Surely that's an unfair sweeping statement.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:That's why Singapore will not get a credible opposition. Very convenient to blame the government for everything: haze, bus fare, girl-girl didn't get to RGS, kena flamed by elite from RGS, people commit suicide, losing job to FT....
Ok, let's examine everything you listed.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:That's why Singapore will not get a credible opposition. Very convenient to blame the government for everything: haze, bus fare, girl-girl didn't get to RGS, kena flamed by elite from RGS, people commit suicide, losing job to FT....
Originally posted by Hogzilla:hmm.. The govt did pressure indonesia to take some actions. Tourism was affected by the haze =D
Ok, let's examine everything you listed.
[b]Haze: A very old problem. It coexist with us for 10 years already. The Indonesian government dun do things, can a common Singapore citizen write a letter to the Indonesian president? If they can't, how do you expect a citizen to express his / her frustration to the Indonesian president? Through gahmen. When the gahmen didn't exert enough pressure for any changes to happen, who can we complain to? Like what the Indonesians did, praying for rain?
Bus fare: Well, it's all within the gahmen's control about the bus fare. With a few company monopolize the Singapore transport market, profits are guaranteed. So why is there a fare hike when there are profits?
RGS (linked with the next problem): Every parents want the best for their children. So it is naturally that competitions for a prestigious school come out. Being in a a prestigious school will bring benefits like having a chance to become an elite. But sometimes, it's the brand name symptom at work. But after one (a common peasant [I dun like to use this word]) had calmed down, they will realise that there is nothing another person can do about admitting their children into the school. So, it's a baseless accusation.
Elite-saga (linked with the previous question): Well, the moment one is branded as an elite of the society, that person must bear the burden of helping with those who can't study as well as them, who are not as fortunate as them. Not to put on a smug face and say, "your life sucks because you sucks". And which body imbue us with this kind of mentality? Yours truly, the Gahmen.
People commit suicide (linked with the next question): I don't care when rich man commit suicide. Yes, it will be news but it is will be just a gossip, something like coffe talk, you say it today and you'll forget it tomorrow. But if someone commit suicide because of poverty, it's something worth look into. When our Gahmen boost to have a safety net, why did Mr Tan Jee Suan still wants to commit suicide? When things happen, it tells a problem. It's to tell our Gahmen that some people are not within the safety of the net and fell through a hole, SOMETHING must be done to mend the hole.
FT (linked with the previous question): If you still have the, "your life sucks because you sucks" mentality, I dun think we need to discuss this. The policy of welcoming FTs unconditionally, is putting a strain to our middle to lower income group. They dun feel secured. They live in fear of losing their job. When one live in fear / stress, how can they procreate? Since our own citizen cannot meet the population replacement requirement, then we have to rely on FTs. But FT's arrival puts stress to the salaried class, they hesitate to have babies and a vicious cycle wil go on. So who are the person unconditionally welcomes FT? Again, Yours truly, Gahmen.
Virtually all the problems (minus the haze, I think Gahmen also a bit, only a bit, LPPL), sad to say, our Gahmen took a large part in it. Are you implying that we should suffer in silence, reach a point when the Singaporean can't take it anymore and take up arms to overthrow the government in a coup (not a bloodless one for sure)? Or we want to see the Gahmen change their mindset, be more "citizens-orientated" and preserve the stability of the region?
The choice is yours.[/b]
Well-saidOriginally posted by Hogzilla:Virtually all the problems (minus the haze, I think Gahmen also a bit, only a bit, LPPL), sad to say, our Gahmen took a large part in it. Are you implying that we should suffer in silence, reach a point when the Singaporean can't take it anymore and take up arms to overthrow the government in a coup (not a bloodless one for sure)? Or we want to see the Gahmen change their mindset, be more "citizens-orientated" and preserve the stability of the region?
The choice is yours.
Actually, it happened around 8pm... Yup. I was there.Originally posted by Hogzilla:Now that's a smart move by CNA!!
So our 146th have successfully execute a media blackout. Anyone was at Clementi MRT station during 2130-2300HRS on 30102006?
ONE WORDOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:That's why Singapore will not get a credible opposition. Very convenient to blame the government for everything: haze, bus fare, girl-girl didn't get to RGS, kena flamed by elite from RGS, people commit suicide, losing job to FT....
You think there won't be POLITICS within the RULING PARTY itself...?Originally posted by sunny6110:I thought Politics is abt making Life better for The People? if lidat, join the ruling party can oso hv the same effect mah... if u r capable enough la...
But frankly, being in opposition wanna make a difference in People's life will need 2X the capability bah..
U needa hv The Art to outshine others...Originally posted by Devil1976:You think there won't be POLITICS within the RULING PARTY itself...?
MOREOVER, being SO CLOSELY MONITORED by OTHERS (& your 'boss') who have DIFFERENT OPINIONS from you... Don't ya think you're just waiting to be BASHED![]()
I think yr father name is Mao n yr monther name is Ching!!!Originally posted by oxford mushroom:That's why Singapore will not get a credible opposition. Very convenient to blame the government for everything: haze, bus fare, girl-girl didn't get to RGS, kena flamed by elite from RGS, people commit suicide, losing job to FT....
But got change or not? No, rite?Originally posted by o0Nite0o:hmm.. The govt did pressure indonesia to take some actions. Tourism was affected by the haze =D
Virtually all the problems (minus the haze, I think Gahmen also a bit, only a bit, LPPL), sad to say, our Gahmen took a large part in it. Are you implying that we should suffer in silence, reach a point when the Singaporean can't take it anymore and take up arms to overthrow the government in a coup (not a bloodless one for sure)? Or we want to see the Gahmen change their mindset, be more "citizens-orientated" and preserve the stability of the region?It is Singaporeans that need a change of mindset. The needs of the economy has changed, as the President said in his speech. If you want good salaries, you have to go into knowledge-based industries like biomedical sciences, digital/IT and water technologies, where the government is also pumping the funds into. Unskilled workers will have to compete with the bottomfeeders and they will inevitably lose out to cheap foreign workers. Don't blame the government: upgrade yours skills and be prepared to accept jobs you previously would not. There are shift jobs in wafer fabs that Singaporeans still avoid because they have to wear protective clothing and work long shifts.
Is that the best you can come up with? You are losing your touchOriginally posted by foomwee88:I think yr father name is Mao n yr monther name is Ching!!!
That why u call Mao Ching!!!!live in East talk CC!!!