"Having enjoyed football as a national sport for decades, we in Singapore have set ourselves the target of reaching the final rounds of World Cup in 2010." - Ho Peng KeeThis guy must be living in his dreamland...
That is extreme bad. If every employer do that, we can bang on the wall.Originally posted by ah-soh:X2
They don't even give us probation period and just reject us!![]()
So when the time comes where the lowest education among any Singaporean is at least a Polytechnic Diploma, say.....by 2030. Will there be enough jobs (diploma level up) for 5 million Singaporeans?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The jobs are there...the challenge is to equip Singaporeans for them. Education is the only solution for low-income groups:
(Straits Times 2 Nov)
What you might not seem to understand is that the middle income job seekers are also being affected...y keep talking about the low income groups and the need for them to be 'educated or upgraded?' when the middle income groups are also slowly getting affected? Lets see what the gahmen has in plans to assist more lower-income singaporeans...all this continous talk about assisting the lower income earners but yet we dun see much action??Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The jobs are there...the challenge is to equip Singaporeans for them. Education is the only solution for low-income groups:
".. Rallying Singaporeans to stay together and move ahead, he pledged to build an inclusive society even as the country's economy undergoes a significant shift.
While globalisation brings benefits to Singaporeans, he acknowledged that there are some who will find it more difficult to cope. But resisting change or hiding from competition would not solve the problem.
'This is futile and will only reduce growth and make things worse for all Singaporeans,' he said.
Mr Nathan said education is the best way to level up the society. He said the Government will continue to provide every child access to a top-rate education, so that he or she gets the best possible start in life.
He said the Government will do more to assist lower-income Singaporeans, to help them progress with the rest of society.
'We will target our assistance, and encourage them to work and upgrade themselves, to build up their assets, and to support their families,' he said."
(Straits Times 2 Nov)
Since lower income group earners dont pay much tax!!!Sg gov u die is yr own business!!!that why the suicide rates go up n up.the poors become poorer who will stage a revolution soon!!!!Originally posted by 4getmenot:What you might not seem to understand is that the middle income job seekers are also being affected...y keep talking about the low income groups and the need for them to be 'educated or upgraded?' when the middle income groups are also slowly getting affected? Lets see what the gahmen has in plans to assist more lower-income singaporeans...all this continous talk about assisting the lower income earners but yet we dun see much action??
Why do you think the Japanese economy has been in the doldrums for so long? Read this:Originally posted by Rock^Star:May I just quote an eg, Japan's construction industry mainly employs Japanese. Wonder how they survive? Go figure.
Better job market this year & best result in 10 years ??? Ya rite no wonder i see so many surveyors nowsaday....Sight...Originally posted by Rock^Star:Wah buay tahan ah! The Ch 8 news just reported what a success our job market is this year. Best result in 10 years!
Sighz............selective reporting. We are reading sh.it and see sh.it every single day.
So wnen u sell ur home and everywhere else is just as expensive, how much does one earn? Unless u sell private property to stay HDB. What abt HDB to HDB?Originally posted by sunny6110:I guess HDB prices should not be kept too low as it affects private housing greatly... One of the people's biggest assets is their Home... It is alrite to me as it appreciates in value as times goes by... U may choose to sell in when u retire... Tat's quite a sum of $$. U wun wanna c it depreciate... I swear~!!
Which world-class city has got Cheap real estate prices? I think HDB flats is still quite affordable
HDB prices raise faster than the pathetic 2.5% cpf ordinary acct is paying... so i think it is better to own a HomeOriginally posted by Rock^Star:So wnen u sell ur home and everywhere else is just as expensive, how much does one earn? Unless u sell private property to stay HDB. What abt HDB to HDB?
HDB prices are steep already. Have u calculated how much u would have in your CPF by age 60 (if u dun buy HDB)? Assuming a certain pay and u have employment throughout. Chances are, if u have bought a HDB and if u r not Elite, u would have very little for retirement.![]()
Wah...if the majority of Singaporeans can afford private property that will really be a success of the government's economic policiesOriginally posted by highway69:In future, 60% of citizens will live in private and less than 30% live in HDB. Those that live in HDB are the not haves. Don't wait until it is too late.
Originally posted by BillyBong:
After sifting through the ST for so many years, its easier to separate the facts from propaganda.
I wonder why there's a constant need to 'reassure' singaporeans that all the policies implemented by the govt 'for the people' are working? Job creation by govt? 650,000 passenger volume = budget terminal success? More satisfied with bus services?
These things i tend to forget overnight.
Here's a collection of quotes from ministers over the years that i DO remember over the years:
-[b] Lim Hng Kiang, regretting the decision to save a baby's life because KKH ran up a $300,000 bill[/b]
With all due respect, Nathan should not come out to say such things, especially making claims such as "The jobs are there...the challenge is to equip Singaporeans for them. Education is the only solution for low-income groups"Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The jobs are there...the challenge is to equip Singaporeans for them. Education is the only solution for low-income groups:
".. Rallying Singaporeans to stay together and move ahead, he pledged to build an inclusive society even as the country's economy undergoes a significant shift.
While globalisation brings benefits to Singaporeans, he acknowledged that there are some who will find it more difficult to cope. But resisting change or hiding from competition would not solve the problem.
'This is futile and will only reduce growth and make things worse for all Singaporeans,' he said.
Mr Nathan said education is the best way to level up the society. He said the Government will continue to provide every child access to a top-rate education, so that he or she gets the best possible start in life.
He said the Government will do more to assist lower-income Singaporeans, to help them progress with the rest of society.
'We will target our assistance, and encourage them to work and upgrade themselves, to build up their assets, and to support their families,' he said."
(Straits Times 2 Nov)
It has been QUITE AMAZING If not 'ENTERTAINING' (hey, isn't that what the MEDIA is SUPPOSE TO BE DOING...??Originally posted by oxford mushroom:SINGAPORE'S job creation rate continued to grow strongly in the third quarter of 2006, with all major sectors adding workers stemming from sustained economic expansion.
Preliminary estimates from the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) released on Tuesday show that employment grew by 41,600 in the third quarter, higher than the 28,500 gains in the same period last year.
The increase in employment also exceeds the 36,400 gains in the second quarter of 2006, the MOM said.
Cumulatively, employment in the first 9 months of 2006 rose by 123,100. This has already surpassed the 113,300 gains for the whole of 2005.
All major sectors added workers, with the bulk of the gains continuing to come from services (24,600). Employment rose in manufacturing (11,300), continuing the uptrend that started in late 2003.
Amid a pickup in building activities, construction increased its workforce (5,500) for the 7th consecutive quarter.
The seasonally-adjusted overall unemployment rate was 2.7 per cent in September 2006, a marked improvement from the 3.2 per cent a year ago.
It has also edged down slightly from the 2.8 per cent in June 2006.
Retrenchment figures went down. The MOM said preliminary findings from a survey of private sector establishments with at least 25 employees show a fall in retrenchment.
The number of people retrenched fell from 3,200 in the previous quarter to 2,300 workers in the third quarter of 2006 and 2,800 in the same quarter last year.
Manufacturing continued to form the bulk of the workers retrenched (1,800), reflecting the on-going restructuring in the electronics industry, the MOM said.
Another 500 of the workers laid off came from the services industries.
(Straits Times, 31 Oct)
I ALSO WANNA RENDER MY ASSISTANCE, ENCOURAGEMENT TO THEM... TO SHOW MYSELF AS A RESPONSIBLE INDIVDUAL OF SINGAPORE AND SUPPORT THE COUNTRY'S PROGESS AND HELP THE LESS FORTUNATES...Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The jobs are there...the challenge is to equip Singaporeans for them. Education is the only solution for low-income groups:
(Straits Times 2 Nov)
Yes 10 years ago, but jobs were easy.Originally posted by sunny6110:Franking speaking, dun u agree that we now hv more job varieties than wat we hv 10 yrs ago?? Thou many manufacturing jobs have been lost to countries wif lower wages....
quite difficult in sg... coz many already hv trouble looking aft themselves. For those who haven, they hv their unfullfilled desires to chase after...Originally posted by posttoday:sorry, i didn't mean to write big caps GOV, actually we are trained to be self-reliant from baby. What i meant was some SANTA CLAUS in the society, or some DIVINE HANDS, or some SHEER LUCKS to come to help people in need.![]()