but what good does a racetrack serve?....mega events come infrequently...i've been to places with racetracks, they're white elephants most times and more importantly do not generate the kind of economy to justify its existence....Originally posted by rojak12:Gov always say that casino is only a small portion of IR. Whatever that means, can I ask if the IR operators cannot have casino in their plan, will they bid for the IRs?
Our highly regarded papers today mentioned that Johore will have a F1 racetrack and planning is now on the way.
I want a F1 standard racetrack, not a world class casino.
not true lah....Originally posted by countdracula:but what good does a racetrack serve?....mega events come infrequently...i've been to places with racetracks, they're white elephants most times and more importantly do not generate the kind of economy to justify its existence....
No space lah.Originally posted by weiqimun:not true lah....
many f1 race tracks have many smaller races in the year. they r not well publicised so u may not be aware of it. they are also loaned out for car tests, private or corporate events, etc. they can be self sustaining.
and dun forget, the 1 big race it has can potentially generate economic returns that far exceed what it contributes purely on the race track.
btw, i am not exactly supportive of sg having a race track, nor do i think sgp has the guts to build one....
That's wat I thot so too. (I actually want to leave a mesage, "We have one at Kranji")Originally posted by weiqimun:[i thot we need another horse race track initially when i read the topic initially]
been to disney and ir abroad...the ir wins it for me, more entertaining.....disney after a while you get tired of grown men in mickey mouse suit....of the 3 tendering in sentosa, i like the harry island theme thing best..not sure if it's the wizard boy or lky they are naming after....lolOriginally posted by #$%^&*:No I actually thought Disneyland or something like that is better.
lolOriginally posted by #$%^&*:No I actually thought Disneyland or something like that is better.
ya...but need alot of FT leh...or else must conduct skills development courses for SingaporeansOriginally posted by sunny6110:Develop World-class Porn industry oso v Profitable leh....![]()
Singapore location just nice. can go batam get actress an cheaply too. As for actor guys like lao tao zi will do it for free lah.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:ya...but need alot of FT leh...or else must conduct skills development courses for Singaporeans![]()
That's exactly right...you can still bet on racing events without having a racetrack in Singapore. The revenue is from the betting, not from spectator ticket sales.Originally posted by countdracula:but what good does a racetrack serve?....mega events come infrequently...i've been to places with racetracks, they're white elephants most times and more importantly do not generate the kind of economy to justify its existence....
lim boon heng shed crocodile tears when he said 30000 jobs would be created through the ir. can the porn industry can do the same? unless you are planning on a super mass orgy, then you'll see ah lim smiling from ear to ear...Originally posted by sunny6110:Develop World-class Porn industry oso v Profitable leh....![]()
Its what they want..Not what u want!!Originally posted by rojak12:Gov always say that casino is only a small portion of IR. Whatever that means, can I ask if the IR operators cannot have casino in their plan, will they bid for the IRs?
Our highly regarded papers today mentioned that Johore will have a F1 racetrack and planning is now on the way.
I want a F1 standard racetrack, not a world class casino.
Reactionary plans are by nature a step behind. It possesses different qualities from a pre-emptive plan and vice versa. The former contains a gamble in terms of sustainability in the age of fast food paced corporate strategies, and the latter has elements of uncertainty.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:As long as Singapore's economy remains strong in the face of rising competition, any and all strategies are welcome.
Reactionary or visionary...black cat or white cat...as long as it does the job, it's a good plan.
You sound like Mao Zedong.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:As long as Singapore's economy remains strong in the face of rising competition, any and all strategies are welcome.
Reactionary or visionary...black cat or white cat...as long as it does the job, it's a good plan.
It is an industry.. Actor and actresses are only part of in an industry... If u hv an world class product, u can sell to the world in premium...Originally posted by countdracula:lim boon heng shed crocodile tears when he said 30000 jobs would be created through the ir. can the porn industry can do the same? unless you are planning on a super mass orgy, then you'll see ah lim smiling from ear to ear...