hi ant...I said, "...On top of that, costs of living is lower in Singapore"Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Wah... oxford, bad joke.
Your typo error is way too bad; their cost of living can't be lower than us. If that is so, it makes no sense for that ang moh to move here and say that he support our economic model.
Very bad insult.![]()
thats why hog say if i go there i can get good payOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:They write very well, but their spoken language is very bad.
It's very evident in RP. We have many of them who could write good essays, tell them to do a presentation, you see the difference.
Plus their accent affects their pronunciation... it's quite bad.
Oh sh!t, now I'm a pig.....Originally posted by shinta:thats why hog say if i go there i can get good pay
i can't rmb if its zila or zilla so cut short ur nickOriginally posted by Hogzilla:Oh sh!t, now I'm a pig.....![]()
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:
hi ant...I said, "...On top of that, [b]costs of living is lower in Singapore"
The highest prices for goods in Europe tend to be in Scandinavian countries, except for condoms, which are more expensive in UK...http://www.pricerunner.co.uk/pressrelease47.html
"No sex, please...we're British"[/b]
Honestly Ti Lik, you should try to use simpler words that the majority can understand easily. Using big words is not going to make your argument sound more intelligent.Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:Dear All
"In short, our Government has a flawed character: A recalcitrant unwillingness to spend the peopleÂ’s money on the people and an assiduous need to balance the account books at the expense of the people whenever any expenditure is required.
If the recent suicides (via MRT or otherwise) have caught the attention from our Members of Parliament, then none of them should stand by and allow this latest GST hike.
All public office bearers, the people who have benefited and are still benefiting from this country have a sacrosanct duty to their entrusted ward, the people at all times.
A Government has duties to fulfill, questions to answer and a people to take care of in its entire term of office and not only just prior to the next General Election.
It is depressing to every Singaporean to have to remind the PAP Government of its duties and its own promises so soon after the recent General Elections is but what needs to be done has to be done.
Let this be a gentle reminder to the Ruling Party: That no amount of figures and arguments can rationalize the illogicality of a GovernmentÂ’s actions and the inherent contradiction with its own promises. Let not the administration of Singapore degrade itself to mediocrity. .
....."
Dear AnonyOriginally posted by anonymouscoward:Honestly Ti Lik, you should try to use simpler words that the majority can understand easily. Using big words is not going to make your argument sound more intelligent.
Using sophisticated words make your composition bumpy and reading it is such a pain. It's tiring when you do not go straight to the point.
Maybe I'm stupid because I used an online dictionary a fews times to understand some of the words you're using; but then again, I believe most of us here are not elites.
You are comapring to their vocabulary or grammar?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:They write very well, but their spoken language is very bad.
It's very evident in RP. We have many of them who could write good essays, tell them to do a presentation, you see the difference.
Plus their accent affects their pronunciation... it's quite bad.
Originally posted by ditzy:Paging for oxford mushroom, paging for oxford mushroom.![]()
Already mentioned before that whatever package they give you, sooner or later sure MUST return them back one. They wayang until can win Oscar and gong gong people think PAP very nice people. They always use money to lure us.Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:No point complaining, b4 election ppl say why spoil the comfort life after collect $$ from gahmen. Now make noise after cost increase, b4 next election coming u will still collect $$ from them again then say they r very nice. I see ppl have no idea at all, complain is useless as we know. There is no way this system can change unless ppl vote for it. As long as they have 2/3 of the seats, u still have a comfortable life.
Yah GONG GONGOriginally posted by Syndicate:Already mentioned before that whatever package they give you, sooner or later sure MUST return them back one. They wayang until can win Oscar and gong gong people think PAP very nice people. They always use money to lure us.
Think twice when they offer any other package cuz in the end after much calculation, we still Lu Gi alot.
Each one of us is holding a vote. Choice is ours. If you choose PAP, then dont complain about their management. Last time dinosaurs cross the road , mata wears shorts. Now life diff liao, and we are sick and tired of their pattern more then badminton style. Next GE , only the people can make a difference.
Originally posted by Hogzilla:You are comapring to their vocabulary or grammar?
Their vocab is superb lah. This one I would say they beat Singaporeans hands down. Confirm + guarantee + chop. bo bei zao
But they seems to be lacking a bit in the grammar department. That is what I observed from a few months of online chatting in English with them.
Worried? It affects everyone!!!!Originally posted by thelesis:Hahaha... I go where, also can hear ppl discussing abt the GST. I guess everyone is very worried about this..
According to the NewPaper few days back. They did increase on Basic Necessities. Track back page 17 of this thread. I got write.Originally posted by Gordonator:i think gahmen should only increase GST only for luxurious items and not daily necessities like rice, oil, water and electricity etc. cos many singaporeans are in the neither here or there category, they are not poor until cannot support themselves or rich enough to keep ends meets. they won't be able to sign up for all those schemes gahmen is coming up to help them.
I wouldn't be surprise if you hear things like KNN, CB or whatever swearing word from everybody....Originally posted by thelesis:Hahaha... I go where, also can hear ppl discussing abt the GST. I guess everyone is very worried about this..
Im nt surprise. Will you be surprise in future, SG is only an island for the FT and the rich & famous?Originally posted by Hogzilla:I wouldn't be surprise if you hear things like KNN, CB or whatever swearing word from everybody....
No.Originally posted by Syndicate:Im nt surprise. Will you be surprise in future, SG is only an island for the FT and the rich & famous?