If they just survive on Milo and bread, that's enough to spur the economy. So long as they spend. That's all it's needed.Originally posted by anhydrouscoppersulphate:i mean the poor needs to buy stuff like milo and bread right.. still affect them right... i mean poor excuse lor. should use the old excuse of fuel price increase![]()
Originally posted by charlize:I refer you to this recent thread.
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=219779
He obviously believes that many senior citizens are enjoying their retirement strolling the parks and doing taiji every morning.
Come to think about it, do you see any old people doing taiji in the morning nowadays?
waloa, then i think i shld migrate when the time comes. Maybe to Taiwan.Originally posted by gasband:In 1994 when GST was introduced in Singapore, it was already announced that Singapore GST structure eventually wants to catch up with that of Switzerland. 12 years ago, we should already know we gonna get into deeper and deeper in this never ending hell hole.
our dates with gfs are becoming more expensive...Originally posted by browniebaobao:look at those senior citizens collecting cans, paper cartons etc and some sitting at the interchange, underground tunnels etc asking for donations.
we will see more of these ple after the GST increase.
for goodness sake, money is already not enough, expenditure is already so much more than we save, and they are still demanding for more?
i still remember last few years, the cheapest concert tix can be as low as $50. This yr onwards, cheapest tix is $68 for most concerts held at the Indoor Stadium. How abt next yr? $80? and the most expensive seats would be $180?
NUTS!
i think most of us would think of cutting on unnecessary expenses.Originally posted by Diesel_Dimension:our dates with gfs are becoming more expensive...
I must really question their knowledge of econs as well.Originally posted by anhydrouscoppersulphate:oh PM Lee come on i learn econs too![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:they know a lot of peeps nvr learn econs then make them fall for it
I must really question their knowledge of econs as well.
Like granting SBS Transit the right to run the NEL on the basis that it will 'spur competition'... any dumbass A Level Economics student will tell you that that's an unwise thing to do since railway lines are a natural monopoly and that any 'competition' would most likely lead to wastage.
And I can still remember how some minister actually said the following when they thought that it may not be such a good idea after all:
[b]"No, it was not a U-turn, and neither was it a reversal of government policy. But you can call it a rethink."
(by the way, can someone tell me exactly who said that?)
The sad thing is that there are Singaporeans who are actually dumb enough to fall for all this.[/b]
Woo thats my threadOriginally posted by charlize:I refer you to this recent thread.
He obviously believes that many senior citizens are enjoying their retirement strolling the parks and doing taiji every morning.
Come to think about it, do you see any old people doing taiji in the morning nowadays?
Originally posted by Manager433:Woo thats my thread![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:For God's sake, SBS Transit own majority of the public transport. So if that's spurring competition, then what's killing competition? Introduce more competitors?
Like granting SBS Transit the right to run the NEL on the basis that it will 'spur competition'... any dumbass A Level Economics student will tell you that that's an unwise thing to do since railway lines are a natural monopoly and that any 'competition' would most likely lead to wastage.
And I can still remember how some minister actually said the following when they thought that it may not be such a good idea after all:
[b]"No, it was not a U-turn, and neither was it a reversal of government policy. But you can call it a rethink."
The sad thing is that there are Singaporeans who are actually dumb enough to fall for all this.[/b]
i want to see how he/she enjoy when he/she grows oldOriginally posted by charlize:I refer you to this recent thread.
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:For God's sake, SBS Transit own majority of the public transport. So if that's spurring competition, then what's killing competition? Introduce more competitors?![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:woo monopoly results in market failure
people is son of elite u know.Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:please leh....LHL is the minister of Finance in Singapore also leh...u think he is the Prime Minister only meh?
If he is the Minister of Finance, of course he knows econs right?
He 32yo only become SAF BG liao, he is a genius loh...nvr drip sweat or fight wars before also can promote so fast.
Then become Minister of Finance, dun even need to study econs only can be Minister of Finance liao
Such a superman achiever u all say him untill like that,
U are say he sucks as Minister of Finance, IMH i think all of u are just jealous.![]()
But that's the way it's being ran...Originally posted by the Bear:they talk nonsense only lah..
it's not about majority or competition.. it is a PUBLIC SERVICE.. it should never ever have been run like a corporation to maximise profit..
you are certainly smartOriginally posted by stellazio:knn. see la vote for pap kana this shit.![]()
I am trying very hard to figure out if you are being sarcastic or not.Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:please leh....LHL is the minister of Finance in Singapore also leh...u think he is the Prime Minister only meh?
If he is the Minister of Finance, of course he knows econs right?
He 32yo only become SAF BG liao, he is a genius loh...nvr drip sweat or fight wars before also can promote so fast.
Then become Minister of Finance, dun even need to study econs only can be Minister of Finance liao
Such a superman achiever u all say him untill like that,
U are say he sucks as Minister of Finance, IMH i think all of u are just jealous.![]()