18% returns...hmmmOriginally posted by shade343:The govt has made it clear that they do not micro manage their investment vehicles. They employ people to do that. Our country follows a system of capitalism, if you want the govt to control everything, we might as well switch to a system of communism.
Since the mistake was made by Temasek Holdings, shareholders have every right to voice their displeasure at the management and fire them if they no longer have confidence in their performance.
But I think, everybody makes mistakes, nobody is perfect. And as such, MoF isnt calling for anybody to be axed at Temasek yet. Like what Tharman Shanmugaratnam said " Temasek has been riding the risk well and its returns since 2002 were well above 18%".
You right! Bro.Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:The very first sentence of Today's headline reports blared: Did the Government of Singapore agree with Temasek's investment in Shin Corp?
assuming they didnt agree because temesek is independent of government.
Well who do we pay taxes to? We pay taxes to the government, we expect them to make good use of our money. If they allow the investment branch to squander the nation's resources, then are they fit to even handle the nation's resources? They should well be aware of every cent that is being spent instead of raising taxes and collecting money so freely.
or could it be they are trying to push all responsibility to Temesek.
Comon', we're not fools. everyone makes mistakes. if it was a bad investment, just admit it and move on. im sure singaporeans are forgiving.
its like a kid being caught eating on the train, and the parent says: its not my fault, fine the kid, dont fine me.
Originally posted by shade343:The govt has made it clear that they do not micro manage their investment vehicles. They employ people to do that. Our country follows a system of capitalism, if you want the govt to control everything, we might as well switch to a system of communism.
Since the mistake was made by Temasek Holdings, shareholders have every right to voice their displeasure at the management and fire them if they no longer have confidence in their performance.
But I think, everybody makes mistakes, nobody is perfect. And as such, MoF isnt calling for anybody to be axed at Temasek yet. Like what Tharman Shanmugaratnam said " Temasek has been riding the risk well and its returns since 2002 were well above 18%".
Originally posted by Wakus:Yes, you trusted the govt with your money. The govt has decided to maximise your money and grow your money for you. So what is wrong with that?
18% returns...hmmm
An investment company...run by [b]civil servants and employees? haha...what is their track record in investing? yeah once in a while investors make bloopers...but really why hand people's monies to employees, whose track record in investing is something that every normal singaporean has never heard of and is questionable? Less an endorsement from our dear MM.."HC is the best person to run this company"
But jokes aside seriously, The money is OUR hard earned money given to the government with the faith that it will be well spent and used for the welfare of the people.
What is glaring is how these monies are handed to people who i feel are abit ill equipped to invest. These people are EMPLOYEES not investors...if you're gonna hand the job to someone to invest, for god's sake hand it to someone who has investment experience and the person at least knows what is it singaporeans have in mind for their investment tastes.
Besides...HC doesn't earn her salary from these so called investments...she earns it from her usual salary as CEO of temasek holdings...
So she doesn't feel the sting and worry of losing money in an investment...cause it's not her money...but we feel it, cos it is OUR money...
Point here is, if you're gonna give someone people's monies to invest, please make it an INVESTOR who runs the company, not an employee who happens to be there cos she was someone's wife...[/b]
She has an engineering degree I know.Originally posted by shade343:Yes, you trusted the govt with your money. The govt has decided to maximise your money and grow your money for you. So what is wrong with that?
And again you ignore the track record of Temasek. They have acheived 18% total returns since inception. Temasek top management people consist of Senior fund managers and experienced CEOs of listed companies like Koh Boon Hwee. Ho Ching herself is an economist and an engineering graduate. Are they not people with entrepreneurship and investing experience?
This set back will erode the profits for FY2006, but does that mean everybody on Temasek board of directors should resign? I would think that the entire board has learned a valuable lesson from this set back and as such it does not make sense to demand the resignation of the BOD in Temasek.
At the end of the day, Temasek Holdings is still liable to its shareholder.
yaahhh righhtttOriginally posted by shade343:Why is it people dont understand that Temasek is a PRIVATE COMPANY?
The government has stated many times that they do not interfere in the business decision of Temasek Holdings.
I say again.Originally posted by ctstalin:yaahhh righhttt![]()
temasek is liable to which shareholder?Originally posted by shade343:Yes, you trusted the govt with your money. The govt has decided to maximise your money and grow your money for you. So what is wrong with that?
And again you ignore the track record of Temasek. They have acheived 18% total returns since inception. Temasek top management people consist of Senior fund managers and experienced CEOs of listed companies like Koh Boon Hwee. Ho Ching herself is an economist and an engineering graduate. Are they not people with entrepreneurship and investing experience?
This set back will erode the profits for FY2006, but does that mean everybody on Temasek board of directors should resign? I would think that the entire board has learned a valuable lesson from this set back and as such it does not make sense to demand the resignation of the BOD in Temasek.
Ministry of Finance.Originally posted by dragg:temasek is liable to which shareholder?
who is the shareholder?
Thank you very much, but I assure you I get my nformation from a variety of sources and not just the Straits Times.Originally posted by charlize:I say again.
He believes everything he reads in the Straits Times or whatever the incumbent party tells him.
Yeah, ask him which ministry is the shareholder.Originally posted by dragg:temasek is liable to which shareholder?
who is the shareholder?
who is the minister of finance?Originally posted by shade343:Ministry of Finance.
it is not about where you get the information.Originally posted by shade343:Thank you very much, but I assure you I get my nformation from a variety of sources and not just the Straits Times.![]()
I want to find out your source which says that she is an economist.Originally posted by shade343:Thank you very much, but I assure you I get my nformation from a variety of sources and not just the Straits Times.![]()
Forbes Magazine. There was one article that described her as an economist with a graduate degree in engineering.Originally posted by charlize:I want to find out your source which says that she is an economist.
Please don't tell me you heard it from your friend's 16 year old brother.
Yah, I know, but generally, I dont see what has that got to do with the shin corp blunder. The shin corp blunder was a mistake which left everybody wiser in the end. I dont see what the big fuss is all about.Originally posted by asdfzhao:lol.. he knows but doesn't wannt say...
but really? who is the minister of finance( boss of Min of finance (share holder of temasek))?
n 2 shade watever, u go b ceo den u make e company lose 3 billion lah...
den u c whether u on fire or not...
I checked out Forbes.Originally posted by shade343:Forbes Magazine. There was one article that described her as an economist with a graduate degree in engineering.
Ok, name me a few of these CEOs.Originally posted by shade343:Yah, I know, but generally, I dont see what has that got to do with the shin corp blunder. The shin corp blunder was a mistake which left everybody wiser in the end. I dont see what the big fuss is all about.
There are top CEO who have made mistakes but their shareholders refuse to accept their resignation because they believe everybody make mistake. The 3billion dollars is like a tuition fee to the BOD of Temasek. I do not see the logic in sacking the BOD when they have become much more wiser.
What if Temasek had made 3Billion in profit? You guys still wouldnt thank or celebrate with them right?
Yes I know, its one in the back issue of Forbes, I read about it last year in the library.Originally posted by charlize:I checked out Forbes.
This what I found:
http://www.forbes.com/lists/2005/11/OO5O.html
She is an electrical engineer by training.
So I find it odd that suddenly she is an economist.
Little Boy.. All working singaporeans contribute CPF to the govt to manage... We DUN FUCKING have a choice... Who says anything abt trust??? In the first place, a degree in economics and engineering doesn't make an expert in investing, LITTLE BOY...Originally posted by shade343:Yes, you trusted the govt with your money. The govt has decided to maximise your money and grow your money for you. So what is wrong with that?
i wonder which company can afford a 3 billion blunder, let alone decide to keep the CEO after that.Originally posted by charlize:Ok, name me a few of these CEOs.
I would like to know how they stayed on the job and learn from them.
Originally posted by Zelphon:Little Boy.. All working singaporeans contribute CPF to the govt to manage... We DUN FUCKING have a choice... Who says anything abt trust??? In the first place, a degree in economics and engineering doesn't make an expert in investing, LITTLE BOY...
Most SAVVY investors are those that are experienced and intelligent. Getting As in all ur subjects and get a good degree only means you are great at studying....NOT really intelligent....Civil servants are there because they are products of the education system of the govt which only looks at one aspect of a person and that is their ability to study...
NO one in their right mind will TRUST a politician to handle their investment portfolio.... As for the 18% returns...U really think it is impressive ??? WHo knows how much of our reserves is being used to generate a pitiful 18%.... In fact, can this figure be trusted? In Singapore whereby the govt controls ALL media, I doubt the figures and statistics released by anything even remotely linked to the govt...
GROW UP...LITTLE BOY.. Seek the truth beneath the layers of lies that were fabricated since the inception of the PAP.. Observe the changes between the PAP in the 1960s and the one today that head the country..
Originally posted by dragg:i wonder which company can afford a 3 billion blunder, let alone decide to keep the CEO after that.![]()