Originally posted by charlize:I checked out Forbes.
This what I found:
http://www.forbes.com/lists/2005/11/OO5O.html
She is an electrical engineer by training.
So I find it odd that suddenly she is an economist.
you need a degree in finance/economics to play poker?![]()
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):of coz got lah....
wife: wei u pig... after 3min u shoot already and now u are falling alseep?
husband: wah lau i tired what. u think my job easy meh.. u think like u just everyday go shopping.. buy buy buy meh?
Wife: shopping is not easy hor.. must chiong for discount one ok.. need alot of research too hor.. dun pray pray
husband: zzzzzzz
wife: wei.. u listening or not....?? oh ya.. i saw something from thailand that i like leh..i think it's a good buy... so how honey can buy bo?
husband: knn u tiam lah.. u buy what u wan lah i wan to sleep lah.. u tiam tiam ok...
wife: ok u say i can buy one hor... dun say i never buy without ur blessing ok
husband: ZZZZzzzzzZZZZZ![]()
The original aim of Temasek was to promote entrepreneurship and local competition in Singapore. They have now changed their objective to that of a leading world class investor. So I suppose you got to give the company some time in establishing itself.Originally posted by sunny6110:Many businesses world-wide or even Singapore are not clinched successfully going by the front door... It's all about guan xi.. I guess nobody would expect the Man In Power to lose Power overnite....
I agree that someone should be made responsible to the case of shin corp. BTW... I think 18% returns over the yrs in a an investor point of view is simply pathetic... I need not quote any other overseas example... Compare SPH's ROE over 20 yrs to Temasek's result... Tink if Temasek is gonna Listed on SGX, I dun know abt others... But looking at the track record, I wun even look at it....
But then, tink again... where hv Temasek's assets spread in the past? Concentrated mainly in Singapore rite? If Temasek were to be v profit-oriented... I tink many would hv jump Mrt when there are only NS route available then. It is only these recent few years Temasek has decide to spread its wings world-wide. So I tink Temasek's result cannot be measured mainly in monetery returns only...
We can benefit only when there is crisis in Sg... It would be transparent to most people who always complain... Terroism nowadays strikes not only in Bombing... Can oso strike speculating our currency... Our government would need those reserves to stablize our currency in case of any attacks...Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:If this is a mistake by someone, then there must be corrective action.
Dun think anybody will let this case rest, it will be a topic use in next GE.
Wonder when can we benefit from the money that gahmen had collect/invest/save. How much anybody know? 200b? or already 400b?
Ok brader...or sister...I got your point....Yes 18% seems like a big sum...but brader, it still cannot be ignored that they made a lost with using PEOPLE'S MONIES. And even if they have fund managers, could the FUND MANAGER be the CEO? Why? An economist, is not an Investor. A Engineer is not an Investor. Economists studies behaviours in market and market changes. Engineers are well...engineers. so really cant we have someone more credible?Originally posted by shade343:Yes, you trusted the govt with your money. The govt has decided to maximise your money and grow your money for you. So what is wrong with that?
And again you ignore the track record of Temasek. They have acheived 18% total returns since inception. Temasek top management people consist of Senior fund managers and experienced CEOs of listed companies like Koh Boon Hwee. Ho Ching herself is an economist and an engineering graduate. Are they not people with entrepreneurship and investing experience?
This set back will erode the profits for FY2006, but does that mean everybody on Temasek board of directors should resign? I would think that the entire board has learned a valuable lesson from this set back and as such it does not make sense to demand the resignation of the BOD in Temasek.
At the end of the day, Temasek Holdings is still liable to its shareholder.
won't happen lah. by then get another chap to say sorry also must explain and the thing will blow over by casting day.Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:If this is a mistake by someone, then there must be corrective action.
Dun think anybody will let this case rest, it will be a topic use in next GE.
Wonder when can we benefit from the money that gahmen had collect/invest/save. How much anybody know? 200b? or already 400b?
they overpaid.Originally posted by sunny6110:Y is Optus a bad investment decision? Someone update me?
Congratulations, you have just answered your own question.Originally posted by shade343:If shareholders still have faith in the capabilities of the management, why should they fire them?
Originally posted by shade343:And since you have answered our own question, I will answer my own questions that I am going to ask.
Look, Temasek only has 1 shareholder and that is the Ministry of Finance. But it is run in a capitalistic manner. The board consist of directors from both the public and private sector. 4 out of 9 directors in Temasek holdings hold a directorship in listed companies such as DBS, Exxonmobil, GK Goh and Comfortdelgro.
In fact only the only government presence in the board is Lim Siong Guan from Ministry of Finance. The rest are independent of any public positions. Ho ching is not even a minister.
The Ministry of Finance has repeatedly say they do not interfere in the affairs of Temasek Holdings. Period.
You sure or not?Originally posted by the Bear:it's called Singapore Incorporated
I wonder why Lee Hsien Yang quit to be CEO of Singtel....Originally posted by Syndicate:Aiyo, why think until so complicated leh???
Cant you see the link that anyone associated with the Lee's Kingdom will somehow have the 'LUCK' to be CEO , PM or whatever shit post. Why argue if she gonna get sack or resign. Face the real world of SG, HC will never kanna sack nor will she resign. FULL STOP. No need evidence or proof or quote from watever magazine. Its a well known fact that we must admit, eventually.
How transparent you want Temasek to be? Like how they dig NKF ah? Dream on la. Most of us agree that it impossible to send people in to check on their sums. They say 18% increase then 18% lor.. If you know the truth, is your tax gonna get cut? In the end also squeeze ballx and kanna tax. Money go gahmen.
I know $4Billion is bloody alot. Can change into many 10cents and flood SG. Bo bian, lets just face the fact for a moment that HC is nt gonna step down or anything similar to that.
Originally posted by Hogzilla:I wonder why Lee Hsien Yang quit to be CEO of Singtel....
You are mixing them up. LHL is the PM, LHY is the Chairman of Singtel. LHY is LHL's brother....Originally posted by Syndicate:hmm.. cuz he busy being PM ?
optus?Originally posted by Hogzilla:I wonder why Lee Hsien Yang quit to be CEO of Singtel....
I doubt that.Originally posted by dragg:optus?
I think all this is up to the choice of Shin Corp.Originally posted by Hogzilla:I doubt that.
If Optus can make LHY come down, shouldn't Shin Corp also have the ability to do the same to HC?
I think all this is up to the choice of Shin Corp.Originally posted by Hogzilla:I doubt that.
If Optus can make LHY come down, shouldn't Shin Corp also have the ability to do the same to HC?
he voluntarily stepped down, regardless of the reason.Originally posted by Hogzilla:I doubt that.