(as posted at youngpap.org.sg on 18.11.06)This is just a propaganda by the ministers and MM Lee. It is not proven in real cases.
roberttehkh wrote:
The key issue of LHL government is how to lessen the cost burdens imposed by GCT and his father.
Solution actually is quite simple. Singapore has now achieved through people's past sacrifices a certain surplus level far exceeding than what is needed for stabilising the currency etc.
He can set up endowment funds from these surpluses to produce interest incomes which can be used to cover some subsistence costs for people who are unemployed. Many people are willing to find works but there is no jobs due to relentless tax-and-recovering policy of the government which caused the whole economy to lose its competitiveness.
This people's problem in finding jobs was caused by ministers' lack of talents as demonstrated by recent recessions when they conveniently blamed it on the people for lack of skills.
Let's say we consider helping people only on the basic i.e. utility and food for three months at reducing quantum over two years at the maximum after which further assistance needs certification.
If we do it like Japanese prime minister Mr. Abe, sacrifice 20% of his own pay and 10% of ministers' pay and do away with uncalled for life-long annuities to all his MPs and ministers who are quite rich and set up a endowment fund for this purpose, I am sure this will amount to hundreds of millions sufficient to help prevent desperate unemployed citizens from jumping the MRT track.
How much do we need to spend on such subsistences for those who are dying and starving. I am sure the whole society will not become a welfare state just because of such a gesture.
So I do not understand the elitist MPs who kept insisting this subsistence from cut-backs on over-generous salaries of ministers will lead to whole economy slipping down the slippery slope of welfare.
With the above-stated returns of repatriation of over-generous salaries packages from ministers and MPs to the people who are dying there will be sufficient fund to save some lives and no one needs to be left behind. There will be no need to increase the GST to cause more suicides.
Ministers and MPs who got lesser pays will not complain because in the first place they were over-generously paid and what is 10% of pay cut compared with people's support for their good deeds.
Republicans wrote:
Our ministers could easily pack their bags and leave office any time they desire.They could be earning more,even a million per annum,if working in the private sector.Its certainly a good investment,on the part of singaporeans,to have an efficient,effective government,where anti-corruption is the key principle,by paying a handsome,substantial sum as salaries to ministers.As taxpayers,you ought to feel proud that we do have indeed a clean efficient and transparent govt.We wouldnt want corruption to seed in,surely.
(as posted at www.youngpap.org.sg on 18.11.06)This is just a hype and propaganda citizens were told by our leaders because even after paying millions there is no guarantee there will be no corruptions.
Lao Xin Zhou wrote:
The government salaries are a little too high up. However, on the good side of this, it can cut down corruption.
If we got to look at Malaysia, for an example, their police force are corrupted because their salaries are low.
So never blame on the government for their salaries because thay explains another reasons why they are not corrupted and are so efficient in their work.
You are right!Originally posted by robertteh:This is just a hype and propaganda citizens were told by our leaders because even after paying millions there is no guarantee there will be no corruptions.
Legalistic passing of laws to increase ministers' own salaries and allow MPs to become directors in private sector companies to earn extra fees while working for the government does not make it moral or correct in the eye of the people.
Even if our ministers pass the laws to give themselves higher rewards the people do not consider such laws as legal as there is a conflict of interest.
So higher salaries to ministers and MPs and civil servants are not well proven in our case.
Many civil servants could not get similar jobs with similar pays after they resign from their superscale A/B/C jobs worth close to million in the private sector because their positions and salaries were inflated by the government.
This fact that higher salaries do not lessen or stop corruption was well proven in the NKF saga. NKF CEO was originally paid as recommended by government patron peanut salaries worth up to million dollar plus after bonuses.
He was found to have misled people over the charity donation reserves and application of charity donation to patient treatment subsidy. He was easily replaced by better people with lesser pay who could provide a more accountable and transparent service to NKF without all the corruptions and malpractices as revealed in official inquiry.
So MM Lee's claim that by paying ministers higher salaries it will stop or lessen corruption is not proven in practice as found in the NKF saga.
People call this kind of practice or use of power to increase own salaries legalised corruption which may be worse than corruption.
I hope Pap would review its policies of salaries, rewards and perks for their officials and elites. This is not right.....they have got wrong value for life....one do not need sooooooo much money to live in luxury...neither they can bring the $$$$$$ to another world after their death...their children and grand children do not need sooooo much $$$$ to live in superb luxury life too....They can't eat the $$$$ too.Originally posted by googoomuck:I remember a time when a jet plane went down. Among those killed were many senior executives of a Japanese company, Matsushita. The posts left vacant by the untimely death of these senior executives would take months to be filled by suitable candidates. Meanwhile, the thousands of employees just turned up for work as usual. The company did not go belly up.
On the other hand, if the thousands of employees were to go on strike over high cost of living, the company will stand to lose millions of dollars in lost productivity.
I'm not suggesting people should go on strike but this is an illustration to indicate which one can cause a greater impact to a company's survival.
If the CEO and his sidekicks go play golf during office hours, the company will still be standing tomorrow as long as it's business as usual for the other employees.
Time will prove that high salaries for Singapore's elite is not justified. That is, time will prove that MM Lee is wrong
i'm still waiting for the secret PM leh.. u got urs from anyone?? well i think we are still too choosy and whine too much lor...or maybe we can only ask for peanuts nia...Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:i very simple, just provide me with cai png everyday and i will be a good minister.
i will be asking for 2 1/2 more bowl of rice nia... but still no one PM me lehOriginally posted by onceinabluemoon:With the announcement of 1.2 times monthly salary bonus on top of the 13th month, they just hit the jackpot of at least 1/4 of a million?
Tio beh pio also not so shiok...