You mentioned in an earlier post:Originally posted by oxford mushroom:What is the population of Hong Kong? Have you heard of per capita rates?
Public spending includes the salaries of public servants who carry out the policies of the government. Read the referenced paper. Singapore has one of the lowest public spending rates and best social progress index for the moeny spent. In other words, Singaporeans are getting good value for money, unlike most other governments. Hong Kong looks like they are in the same category but no figures were available for this study.
In the words of the author,
"With the exception of Singapore (and Hong Kong, if the data were available), the world's most developed countries receive no gains in social progress for much of the GNP consumed by government."
http://www.ncpa.org/studies/s232/table2.gif
http://www.ncpa.org/studies/s232/s232.html
"Singaporeans enjoyed a 'high quality but cheap government', Mr Lee said. Public spending stands at 14 to 15 per cent of the country's total output, or GDP - among the lowest in the world."So now you are telling me what I was trying to correct you.
(Straits Times 14 Nov)
And the 60% figure will only grow with an aging population. Singaporeans want the government to subsidize more but are unwilling to pay more taxes.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):last time when i still in sch.. i remember with all the tax relief... u need to earn 2500 to 3000 to have a chance of being tax.... that mean.... 60% of singaporean are earning less than that lor...![]()
dunno who the thick one leh.. anyway....not everytime have to increase revenue... u can cut cost too.... and pls dun tell mi cutting mean cutting spending and will hurt our local market hor.... .... can cut all the salary of all the fat cats and also stop those fake business transaction from one GLC to another GLC.......mark up, mark up and more mark up..... public transport, water, housing, etc should NEVER be private company.. their job is not to make profit, it's providing our basic needs and the lowest possible cost and highest standard possible....Originally posted by oxford mushroom:And the 60% figure will only grow with an aging population. Singaporeans want the government to subsidize more but are unwilling to pay more taxes.
The government has achieved very decent results with the contributions of the 40%, although some people are too thick to understand. If we want more public spending for the poor, we must increase revenue somehow. Either lower the tax bracket to make more people pay (but people will kpkb), increase indirect taxes (GST), but people also kpkb or finally, increase direct taxes via income and corporate tax. If you increase taxes on those who are already contributing to the nation's coffers, they can simply move their jobs and investment to Hong Kong or somewhere else.
It will be the poor and immobile Singaporeans without marketable skills who will have to stay and suffer.
Very simple theory, if you are running a corporation, if you can't increase your sales, yet you want to have more profits, lower your cost then. Tax is not the only way out. Sad to say, some people only see one side of the picture.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:And the 60% figure will only grow with an aging population. Singaporeans want the government to subsidize more but are unwilling to pay more taxes.
The government has achieved very decent results with the contributions of the 40%, although some people are too thick to understand. If we want more public spending for the poor, we must increase revenue somehow. Either lower the tax bracket to make more people pay (but people will kpkb), increase indirect taxes (GST), but people also kpkb or finally, increase direct taxes via income and corporate tax. If you increase taxes on those who are already contributing to the nation's coffers, they can simply move their jobs and investment to Hong Kong or somewhere else.
It will be the poor and immobile Singaporeans without marketable skills who will have to stay and suffer.
Well said.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:And the 60% figure will only grow with an aging population. Singaporeans want the government to subsidize more but are unwilling to pay more taxes.
What is wrong with taking care of the elderly? If the govt feels obligated to "take care" of the old guards and ministers who "contributed" to Singapore's growth, should the govt also have a responsibility to take of elderly citizens?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:As I said, what is worse is that with an increasingly aging population, the elderly who do not work and pay income tax also tend to consume more resources, thus exacerbating the crunch on the tax payers.
It is precisely this highly condescending tone of yours that I find difficult to comprehend.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:And the 60% figure will only grow with an aging population. Singaporeans want the government to subsidize more but are unwilling to pay more taxes.
Hello.. 1950? in those days.. police wear shorts! I'm no medical expert.. but I'm not sure if cancer was even discovered in the 1950s! And if it was.. there was nothing they could do about it anyway! Of coz give morphine go home and die lah.. u think have chemotherapy, radiotherapy in those days ar?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The CPF will hopefully cover the retirement needs of the present generation, many older people joined the scheme late and have not put away enough. On top of that, not all of them (eg. housewives) were working.
If you were a tax payer in 1950, old people with cancer were given a supply of morphine for pain and told to go home to die. Healthcare was cheap. With escalating healthcare costs, the small amount you paid in your younger days will not cover the cost of modern medicine today. Similarly, the healthcare costs for us when we retire will cost far more than the taxes we pay today (unless we want the high taxes people pay in Scandinavian countries). That's why we need to save for our retirement and plan for future healthcare needs with medical incurance etc.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Your analysis missed some important indirect taxes.
"Both Japan and Taiwan levy a GST of 5 per cent, but even those in the lowest income brackets pay personal income taxes of 10 and 6 per cent respectively.
In effect, they impose an even greater tax burden on lower-wage workers, compared to Singapore 'where lower-wage workers, and indeed [b]around 60 per cent of Singaporeans, do not pay any personal income tax'."
(Enlarging the Budget pie and slicing it differently, Straits Times Nov 1
It is not widely known that only 40% of the population are paying income tax to support 60% of the population. Increasing revenue from direct taxes will penalise the very people who have been contributing to the nation's coffers. With countries in the region cutting their corporate taxes, Singapore has to rely on higher indirect taxes and reduce the proportion of revenue arising from income and corporate taxes. Otherwise, the minority tax payers can very well vote with their feet and offer their investments and skills to someone else.
On transport, the government should increase ERP charges and road tax for private vehicles and invest revenue towards improving public transport or subsidizing the transport costs for the poor. Higher taxes for private vehicles can be used to give poorer Singaporeans a significant discount on public transportation.
No lah. You sa la liao.Originally posted by kilua:Your analysis missed some important indirect taxes.
They are primarily cigarette, alcohol and car.
Consider an average singaporean who smokes a pack cigarette a day. A pack cigarette cost an about $10. The cost of cigarettes in some of the developed countries like Japan cost only 300yen or $4.00 This is to say a smoker may pay up to $6.00 per packet in taxes to national coffers.
For a smoker who smokes 1 packet a day, this would amount to $180 per month or
$180 x 12 = $2160 in taxes a year
For a smoker who smokes 2 packet a day, this would amount to $300 per month or
$360 x 12 = $4320 in taxes year
Some of these smokers earn only $1200 -$1500.
A $180/mth tax on a salary of $1500 would be a equivalent of a 12% tax
A $360/mth tax on a salary would be a equivalent of a 24% tax
What about beer? Or tax on Car? And the current GST?
Do the rest of the 60% really pay no tax? In fact a middle class who smokes drinks and drives may be paying more tax in term of percentage than some of these welfare countries and getting no benefits in return.
I dunno about Singapore lah. But according to China history, in the three kingdom time, Shu-Han have the ratio of 4 civilians providing for 1 civil servant. And Shu-Han is the weakest and die out first.Originally posted by mrwonderful:singapore too many policemen, burden to taxpayers. do nothing but go on patrols and break up ah mah ah gong quarrels. sg i think has one of the highest policeman - civilian ratio in the world.
btw im referring to the generic police officer like constable acai, not the CID, CNB or other branches. those at least have a more impt use, but policeman in
SG really too much, compare us to USA, they make every policeman count there and maximise their efficiency.
yes i know, As long as you earn more than $20,000 per year you are liable for income tax.Originally posted by Hogzilla:No lah. You sa la liao.
Om refers to income tax lah. He quoted an article from 146th saying that 60% Singaporeans pay no income tax.
So you are comparing indirect tax instead of income tax.
But then again har, I remember correctly that my parents need to pay income tax. They are the average blue collar worker, so their individual monthly pay never went up to S$2000. But they still pay income tax mah. Not a lot lah, but $$ is still $$ right?
Then it's the art of bluffing that matters here.Originally posted by kilua:yes i know, As long as you earn more than $20,000 per year you are liable for income tax.
My point was that the lower income group was also contributing to national coffers like taiwanese but in a more indirect way.
For YA2003 till now, chargeable income of more than 20k will incur income tax. Assuming incme relief in total is 4k (I think I am being generous as the average of total relief could be lower), thus residents with annual income of 24k will incur tax. From http://www.singstat.gov.sg/keystats/annual/ghs/r1/t54-61.pdf, only about 997k residents earned more than 24k in 2005. If residen population is 4m, then 25% of resident pays income tax.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:It's simple English. 60% of Singaporeans means 6 out of 10 Singaporeans (or that's how the writer of the article phrased it...)...that includes students, the elderly, prisoners and working Singaporeans whose incomes (after legal deductions and tax rebates) fall below the threshold for income tax payment.
As I said, what is worse is that with an increasingly aging population, the elderly who do not work and pay income tax also tend to consume more resources, thus exacerbating the crunch on the tax payers.
Originally posted by banzie:Do u pay CPF? Should be in the 33% bracket? U like to believe thats not tax?
I agree.... I earn higher than average people during their starting pay and yet I do not pay tax....
but actually I think the 60% includes students and elderly [b]WHO ARE WORKING Fair enough.... Singapore is well known for its low taxation.... I wonder why so many people are still complaining? It will never be able to satisfied EVERYONE ALL THE TIME. But seriously.... I don't like gst to go to 7% too... I guess most people as they are spending to buy for their luxury goods... haha .... though looking at the macro level... it is logical. Just I don't like it personally.... anyway we are into what's rite and not what's wanted... to do the right thing sometime there is a need to sacrifice...[/b]