??? CPF is CPF what? anyway my cpf is not with the government... I invest it all...Originally posted by siaokao:Do u pay CPF? Should be in the 33% bracket? U like to believe thats not tax?
U r investing on gov's behalf. Can u cash out the $$?Originally posted by banzie:??? CPF is CPF what? anyway my cpf is not with the government... I invest it all...
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Is it amazing that one can BLINDLY quote the government and accept it as bible truth - without a blink of the eye or a pinch of salt ?
"Both Japan and Taiwan levy a GST of 5 per cent, but even those in the lowest income brackets pay personal income taxes of 10 and 6 per cent respectively.
In effect, they impose an even greater tax burden on lower-wage workers, compared to Singapore 'where lower-wage workers, and indeed [b]around 60 per cent of Singaporeans, do not pay any personal income tax'."
(Enlarging the Budget pie and slicing it differently, Straits Times Nov 1
It is not widely known that only 40% of the population are paying income tax to support 60% of the population. Increasing revenue from direct taxes will penalise the very people who have been contributing to the nation's coffers. With countries in the region cutting their corporate taxes, Singapore has to rely on higher indirect taxes and reduce the proportion of revenue arising from income and corporate taxes. Otherwise, the minority tax payers can very well vote with their feet and offer their investments and skills to someone else.
On transport, the government should increase ERP charges and road tax for private vehicles and invest revenue towards improving public transport or subsidizing the transport costs for the poor. Higher taxes for private vehicles can be used to give poorer Singaporeans a significant discount on public transportation.
Originally posted by freakass:Pre GE2006
oxford mushroom, if I were you, I wouldn't post such threads in sgForums... Seems like the opposition parties have planted their supporters in this online forum... I'm not taking sides with the PAP or wat, but I do realise that there's a trend to criticize whatever policy made by the government, be it good or bad... If it's good, they will say that the government has an ulterior motive... If it's bad, they will take the chance to shoot off like there's no tomorrow... This only happens in sgForums...
So my point is... mushroom guy, just give up lah... abandon this thread and never start threads regarding the government anymore... It's just not worth the time and effort...[/b]
And their general consensus is made up of the senior civil servants?Originally posted by ditzy:Maybe if PAP suggested that the gst might go up 2% during GE2006, the general consensus might still be inclined to accept, like wow PAP is so frank.![]()
Sorry lor, my friend'd cousin also tuition like mad till he become a total nerd, but only got into some ulu JC.Originally posted by o_x:another primary student, family rich, tuition like mad.. score class top 3, receive scholarships and bursary.. branded as ELITE..
hahha, those tax monies went into paving the tramac for your new SUVs long long time ago, and CPF? ahahaha...what CPF?Originally posted by TYING:Then what is CPF for? Yes, the government do give subsidies which is still from the tax payer money. But isnt the elderly using the tax money that they once paid too?
According to what Low Thia Khiang said in parliament, quoted from some statistics, you'll need about $1300 for necessities per family; excluding supporting 3 children and 1 parent.Originally posted by o_x:anyone can help calculate.. roughly how much it is needed for someone to survive in singapore? take to consideration for house, food, transport, education and other basic needs for 3 children and 1 parent..
Then they will say that the lack of consumer spending has severely impacted the economy.Originally posted by dokono:Guys, we all complain and complain. But what's the point? Every month, their salary still gets into their pocket while we complain. You think they really give a damn? Nah~ They are ignorant to the sufferings.
All we can do is spend less and earn more to increase cashflow and reduce spending.
doko
if what i learnt from poly is right..Originally posted by fudgester:Then they will say that the lack of consumer spending has severely impacted the economy.
1.3k enuff meh?Originally posted by anonymouscoward:According to what Low Thia Khiang said in parliament, quoted from some statistics, you'll need about $1300 for necessities per family; excluding supporting 3 children and 1 parent.
Alamak, you notice the word "necessities"?Originally posted by shinta:1.3k enuff meh?
i 1 person eat nia... also not enuff...
=( somemore i no give mother money de...
hanorOriginally posted by Hogzilla:Alamak, you notice the word "necessities"?
That means only for necessities like food, water, transport, electric bills, education etc etc etc.
But I wonder is the electric bill of running a computer counted or not......
Woooo~Originally posted by shinta:hanor
necessitites lor..
eat n transport and sometimes er wat u call it? shampoos n all that..
cos i more troublesome... must use different shampoo.. otherwise the head so greasy very disgusting
Originally posted by Hogzilla:Woooo~
That's another issue lah....
Businesses are profit-motivated and individuals are self-centred. That is a fact of life. The tax policy in Scandinavian countries like Finland penalizes the young workers to benefit the old and unemployed. As a result, tax payers like this Finnish guy would rather bring his skills to Singapore, where he is better off financially.Originally posted by highway69:Cool it man. The thread starter merely posting about an article in the papers for all to discuss. No need for all that bashing.
IMO, this article is yet another excuse for raising the GST. Take for example, the Finnish guy who came to work here coz of the 'lower' income tax. In his words, he doesn't 'benefit' from the high income taxes back home. Isn't this self-centred? He would rather have lower income tax and raise GST which obviously affects all including those old, sick, and jobless.