these days cannot use CPF to buy HDB liao?Originally posted by siaokao:U r investing on gov's behalf. Can u cash out the $$?
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You are spot on about individuals being "self-centered" - as you are such an expert with your examplary attitude towards the less fortunate; and topping it up with your conceitedness.
Businesses are profit-motivated and individuals are self-centred. That is a fact of life. The tax policy in Scandinavian countries like Finland penalizes the young workers to benefit the old and unemployed. As a result, tax payers like this Finnish guy would rather bring his skills to Singapore, where he is better off financially.
As stated in a review by KPMG, ".. from our past 14 yearsÂ’ tracking experience it appears to be economically and socially desirable for countries to strive for lower corporate income taxes. Corporations are sensitive to income tax rates, and the enhanced mobility of capital and labor all over the world increases their ability to transfer functions from a high tax regime to a low-tax country."
(http://www.kpmg.com/Services/Tax/IntCorp/CTR/)
Originally posted by Atobe:How dense can you be? The reason why so many do not pay income tax is because they fall below the lowest tax bracket after the generous tax reliefs to benefit low income earners.
Still how can the Singapore Government account for the fact that they have been [b]NEGLIGENT in allowing 60% of Singaporeans to escape from paying Income Taxes ?
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:So the PhD Mushroom from Oxford finally is enticed to respond to his "Absolute Rubbish" .
How dense can you be? The reason why so many do not pay income tax is because they fall below the lowest tax bracket after the generous tax reliefs to benefit low income earners.
Perhaps you think that the minimum qualifying income is too high and the tax reliefs have been too generous? I suppose you would rather make more low income earners pay income tax.
It's alright now, they fixed that problem of your parents not paying income tax, now they have to contend with 7% GST next year.Originally posted by the Bear:in my family, 66% do not pay income tax... my folks are retired..
that's why they need indirect tax lor, also dont forget corporates pay taxes too. what about the cheap loan you give to sg govt they call the cpf?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:It's simple English. 60% of Singaporeans means 6 out of 10 Singaporeans (or that's how the writer of the article phrased it...)...that includes students, the elderly, prisoners and working Singaporeans whose incomes (after legal deductions and tax rebates) fall below the threshold for income tax payment.
As I said, what is worse is that with an increasingly aging population, the elderly who do not work and pay income tax also tend to consume more resources, thus exacerbating the crunch on the tax payers.
Businesses are profit-motivated but does that mean at any social,moral or even inhuman cost?? Drug dealing is also business, does that mean is ok?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Businesses are profit-motivated and individuals are self-centred. That is a fact of life. The tax policy in Scandinavian countries like Finland penalizes the young workers to benefit the old and unemployed. As a result, tax payers like this Finnish guy would rather bring his skills to Singapore, where he is better off financially.
As stated in a review by KPMG, ".. from our past 14 yearsÂ’ tracking experience it appears to be economically and socially desirable for countries to strive for lower corporate income taxes. Corporations are sensitive to income tax rates, and the enhanced mobility of capital and labor all over the world increases their ability to transfer functions from a high tax regime to a low-tax country."
(http://www.kpmg.com/Services/Tax/IntCorp/CTR/)