How come you can post before the OP? How come?Originally posted by Chelzea:![]()
hanor!Originally posted by Cystaire:How come you can post before the OP? How come?![]()
Actualy u got ur basic point right, by try telling that to a layman like me....Originally posted by Cystaire:A few years ago during the economic downturn I took a taxi.
The taxi uncle of course complain to me how life is hard and all the costs are rising.
Then he blames the gahmen this and gahmen that. The complaints become bigger and bigger and more absurd.
I think: how can you blame gahmen for everything? How can? How can?
Suddenly I realize that the taxi uncle doesn't know that there are many things the gahmen cannot control.
But the gahmen never tell him dat. Any progress we have is due to good governance. What about the global economic climate? What about our hardworking people? What about luck?
Actually wat I want to say is: Singapore has no example to compare with. No other country of this size (people and land area) is of comparable success.
Our gahmen has done a good job, but we can't tell how good because we have nobody to compare, and some more dunno what the gahmen can control or cannot control.
I also dunno, I never study econs.Originally posted by kaka_22:Actualy u got ur basic point right, by try telling that to a layman like me....
I juz dun understand why cost of living is rising.![]()
Actually simply said, it is because, alot of other countries have confidence in the US dollar, and are also tied to the US economy in terms of investments, money, infrastructure, defence...(and it goes on and on)...Originally posted by Cystaire:I also dunno, I never study econs.
Which is why I dun understand how if all the industries are becoming economy of scale, things are made cheaper everyday, how come costs are going up?
I also dun understand how come Bee Kok (USA) can be in trillions of dollars national debt but can still have so much money to be king of the world.
Does somebody have any idea? Or maybe nobody really knows.
Solid point.Originally posted by Wakus:I dunno we are living in a scenario of a lot of uncertainty..PARTLY (though i would like to say most likely, but for arguments sake lets let it go at partly)...caused by government policies...(GST, FARE HIKES, UTILITIES BILLS, CPF, etc.)
Yet, we find our salaries is not keeping up with these changes of policies...
We find ourselves struggling with money...and our survival...
With FTs threatening our rice bowls in the near future...(think about when all the Baby boomers are gonna retire and whos gonna take their place...us...or them...who really costs much cheaper) its really this uncertainty that unsettles people...
We are in a stage of transition...i'll give the government that much...but really, while there are groups that benefit from these changes, there are people left behind in this transition period...and these people are really struggling...whether they make up the bulk of singaporeans i do not know...(again benefit of doubt)...but i know this....This number is increasing, when these back to back changes suddenly start appearing...