Why waste your time to send to them? Is this your real name? Are you from one of the opposition parties?Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:Dear All
As of this afternoon. Another letter to the straits times forum page. he he
Don't think they will publish this though. Its far too hard hitting.
Happy reading! PAPpies and its supporters are invited to attack this posting with unrestrained fervour.
Regards
Ti Lik
What do we make out of this?
We have a Government who promised the people immediately after the election that they will implement policies to stay together and move ahead with the people.
Shortly thereafter we had a Minister Mr. Mah Bow Tan deciding to keep opposition wards out of the upgrading queue because “the people had rejected the upgrading program”.
We have seen ERP charges increased, utility charges increased, public transport fare increased to silence from the 82 PAP MPs who claim to speak for the people.
We had a dozen post 65 PAP MPs who were happy to spend time training for a few months to dance hip hop at the coming Chingay procession.
We also have a Government telling us just days ago (with the accompanying articles of support from ST) that the GST needs to be increased to 7% because there is Government expenditure that needs to be financed.
Today, we have the ST attempting to explain that 40% of our bursaries go to foreign students is a justifiable policy which we should accept.
Today, we have the Government announcing a bigger bonus for the civil service of a total of 2.7 months for the entire year.
Given this little summary, we donÂ’t need even a primary six education to tell us that there is something seriously wrong with this country is it not? Time to think.
Chia Ti Lik
Pengz!Originally posted by onceinabluemoon:Why waste your time to send to them? Is this your real name? Are you from one of the opposition parties?
I see... anyway good luck to him.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I believe he is.
And he is currently not a member of the WP anymore.
Hi Ti Lik,Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:Dear All
Happy reading! PAPpies and its supporters are invited to attack this posting with unrestrained fervour.
Regards
Ti Lik
We have a Government who promised the people immediately after the election that they will implement policies to stay together and move ahead with the people.
Shortly thereafter we had a Minister Mr. Mah Bow Tan deciding to keep opposition wards out of the upgrading queue because “the people had rejected the upgrading program”.
We have seen ERP charges increased, utility charges increased, public transport fare increased to silence from the 82 PAP MPs who claim to speak for the people.
We had a dozen post 65 PAP MPs who were happy to spend time training for a few months to dance hip hop at the coming Chingay procession.
We also have a Government telling us just days ago (with the accompanying articles of support from ST) that the GST needs to be increased to 7% because there is Government expenditure that needs to be financed.
Today, we have the ST attempting to explain that 40% of our bursaries go to foreign students is a justifiable policy which we should accept.
Today, we have the Government announcing a bigger bonus for the civil service of a total of 2.7 months for the entire year.
Given this little summary, we donÂ’t need even a primary six education to tell us that there is something seriously wrong with this country is it not? Time to think.
Chia Ti Lik
Originally posted by BillyBong:I have to disagree on you on your statement - "Potong Pasir and Hougang voted out the Ruling Party candidates and therefore their incumbent MPs are in no position to demand funding from the govt'". If the Pap were upgrading the HDBs in their constituency based on the their very own fund which they have raised through the donators and supporters in that area, then it would be right, however the pap controlled constituency are upgraded using the national coffers are they not? of which the citizens of potong and hougang has also contributed? If the PAP uses this excuses, then i would not be surprised to say that if a opposition party wins a majority of the parliament, they are not able to use the national coffer funds because it was the ex ruling party PAP which had managed them in the first place to the current quota..so the opposition ruling party must come up with its own means to raise its own national coffer funds to sustain the nation... does it make sense?
Hi Ti Lik,
In all fairness, politics is like a game.
Mah Bow Tan is perfectly in his right to claim that the people in Potong Pasir and Hougang voted out the Ruling Party candidates and therefore their incumbent MPs are in no position to demand funding from the govt.
It's a simple case of majority rules and if the people in those constituencies have voted as such, then the Ruling Party have to 'respect' their decision. Low Thia Khiang and Chiam See Tong will have to find some other means to obtain their funding. It's no point barking up the wrong tree.
Overall, their attempts in parliament to raise the awareness that taxpayers' monies have been unethically utilized by the ruling party have been sucessful. The ruling party have so far been [b]UNABLE to couter this argument. Their counter position has always been: you didn't vote me, so you get zero goodies.
On the issue of GST increases, let's be realistic: it can only rise. The fact that it came about now is no surprise, seeing as how the public transport companies have also gone through with their price hike despite vehement protests from the people.
It has been a regular trend that prices rise after elections. A smart investor could even put some money into stocks and property and watch them pay dividends after elections. Unfortunately, when we raise price hiking as an issue, we are accused of being whiners and lack constructive criticism. At the same time, Singaporeans themselves are absent minded, having seen first hand the ruthlessness of the Ruling Party in driving their targets thru, without a thought for those who are left behind.
Lee Junior mentioned in parliament that Low Thia Khiang had jumped the gun by assuming that the budget package he proposed would only last a year or so. He emphasized that a 'wait and see' policy should be adopted. Yet he chose to announce the GST increase at this time.
Somehow, it wouldn't be shocking if his budget plan lasted only for a year...
why u quit WPOriginally posted by Chia Ti Lik:Dear All
Regards
Ti Lik
Chia Ti Lik
Keep in mind that the PAP-offered carrot included a requirement that indicates the resident is to agree to a joint-payment scheme to share the cost of upgrading. The balance as defined will be paid by the govt.Originally posted by 4getmenot:I have to disagree on you on your statement - "Potong Pasir and Hougang voted out the Ruling Party candidates and therefore their incumbent MPs are in no position to demand funding from the govt'". If the Pap were upgrading the HDBs in their constituency based on the their very own fund which they have raised through the donators and supporters in that area, then it would be right, however the pap controlled constituency are upgraded using the national coffers are they not? of which the citizens of potong and hougang has also contributed? If the PAP uses this excuses, then i would not be surprised to say that if a opposition party wins a majority of the parliament, they are not able to use the national coffer funds because it was the ex ruling party PAP which had managed them in the first place to the current quota..so the opposition ruling party must come up with its own means to raise its own national coffer funds to sustain the nation... does it make sense?
do you really believe that the pap uses its party fund to upgrade our flats?Originally posted by BillyBong:Again, there is no clear guideline as to whose monies are being used. Which is why Chiam See Tong asked why there is no neutral party monitoring the Ruling Party's use of such funding. Whose is it? What kind of monies are being used? Is it above board? Or are they taxpayer's monies used for one party's benefit? These are important questions that will raise many eyebrows.
It is interesting to note that this question was never really answered before Speaker Abdullah Tarmugi cut in to close the argument and move on. Instead, while the debate was ongoing, Mah Bow Tan and other MPs chose to emphasize that what Chiam and Low were really asking for was a separate funding to latch on for upgrading in Potong Pasir and Hougang, a fact which was flatly denied by the development minister, and rightly so as the residents in those areas voted against the ruling party.
Originally posted by BillyBong:I disagree with you about what you said about Mah Bow Tan. Yes. The opposition party are in no position to demand funds from the government becasue it so happen that they do not belong to the ruling party.
Hi Ti Lik,
In all fairness, politics is like a game.
Mah Bow Tan is perfectly in his right to claim that the people in Potong Pasir and Hougang voted out the Ruling Party candidates and therefore their incumbent MPs are in no position to demand funding from the govt.
It's a simple case of majority rules and if the people in those constituencies have voted as such, then the Ruling Party have to 'respect' their decision. Low Thia Khiang and Chiam See Tong will have to find some other means to obtain their funding. It's no point barking up the wrong tree.
Overall, their attempts in parliament to raise the awareness that taxpayers' monies have been unethically utilized by the ruling party have been sucessful. The ruling party have so far been [b]UNABLE to couter this argument. Their counter position has always been: you didn't vote me, so you get zero goodies.
On the issue of GST increases, let's be realistic: it can only rise. The fact that it came about now is no surprise, seeing as how the public transport companies have also gone through with their price hike despite vehement protests from the people.
It has been a regular trend that prices rise after elections. A smart investor could even put some money into stocks and property and watch them pay dividends after elections. Unfortunately, when we raise price hiking as an issue, we are accused of being whiners and lack constructive criticism. At the same time, Singaporeans themselves are absent minded, having seen first hand the ruthlessness of the Ruling Party in driving their targets thru, without a thought for those who are left behind.
Lee Junior mentioned in parliament that Low Thia Khiang had jumped the gun by assuming that the budget package he proposed would only last a year or so. He emphasized that a 'wait and see' policy should be adopted. Yet he chose to announce the GST increase at this time.
Somehow, it wouldn't be shocking if his budget plan lasted only for a year...
The Civil Service is not the PAP or the government. Most civil servants are just people trying to get an honest day wage. And 2.7 months is nothing great if you compare to the commercial sector or banking sector.Originally posted by Chia Ti Lik:Dear All
Chia Ti Lik
if civil servants are equate to elite, than of couse a 2.7mths is nothing great compare to the commercial sector or banking sector. than again how many are the elite??? but to the gov these group of ppls are oso class under elite.Originally posted by greengoblin:The Civil Service is not the PAP or the government. Most civil servants are just people trying to get an honest day wage. And 2.7 months is nothing great if you compare to the commercial sector or banking sector.
I think it's plainly obvious whose money is being used.Originally posted by lotus999:do you really believe that the pap uses its party fund to upgrade our flats?
do you really expect the pap to answer our questions? anyway, isn't the silence or obfuscation more telling than any answer? actually pap had tacitly admitted that it was public fund when it claimed some thing to the effect that it was because of its good policies that singapore was able to have that money.
You've touched on a good point, and one worth exploring. However, it will take a better man than Chiam or Low to bring that issue in parliament and press home the point.Originally posted by TYING:I disagree with you about what you said about Mah Bow Tan. Yes. The opposition party are in no position to demand funds from the government becasue it so happen that they do not belong to the ruling party.
However, have you stop to think that the country's treasury is suppose to be used for all Singaporeans reagardless of the constituencies they are from? PAP is just the ruling party that forms part of the government, and they are NOT the government. So what gives them the right to deny the people of Potong Pasir and Hougang the funds to upgrade their estates?
If we are to play along with the ruling party resonings that because their party's candidate have not been voted for, and hence, the funds cannot be allocated to that area, then, can we say that a portion of the tax payer's money from that two areas be scheduled to the fundings for these area's upgrading works?
Yah lor so spare the normal civil servants .... they are just working class people like the most. How many can even reach super scale level?Originally posted by Joshua1975:if civil servants are equate to elite, than of couse a 2.7mths is nothing great compare to the commercial sector or banking sector. than again how many are the elite??? but to the gov these group of ppls are oso class under elite.
real elite are those in commercial sector or banking sector or i should say private sector.(again private sector here dun include local company such as SMCs or GLC/GIC)
SG elite mostly had left, plan to leave... some had come back as FT and planning to leave after making $$$...![]()
Originally posted by dragg:long live singapore, short live singaporeans!!![]()
lolOriginally posted by dragg:long live singapore, short live singaporeans!!![]()