I respect him for the good that he has done, but he must realise that he makes mistakes and own up for them. That makes a great statesmen.Originally posted by jianfish9:I dont think you can even compare what Mahathair is doing now with LKY.
I watched an interview today and he is really so old already yet he is chionging around Mid-East doing this and that. I wonder he is really so old why need to do this. His son is already the PM and he got so much money he can retire and relac but he still so pia for SG.
Even though I don't really agree wif the Govt policy, I think he still very deserving of respect.
SG will be much poorer off without him.
Even Msia has a much stronger political leadership without Mahathair. Wonder if you can say the same for SG
Time different mah.Originally posted by Poolman:During the 70's , one important minister was saying : 2 is enough !! Meaning 2 children is enough ... then now what ?
Now the garmen give us money to make 2 , we also bo hill lan them .
Who said that 2 is enough initially ???
Wah! That means must learn Arabic and Spanish liao lor?Originally posted by LazerLordz:North Africa and Central America.
he is always a few steps behind others and sad to say most SGreans dun have brains or i should say most had get used to being order around by him.Originally posted by Ponders:http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/243130/1/.html
... ... ...
Now he says ppl must invest in Middle East....
Why can't he just let singaporeans have their own brains and do whatever they feel like?
This is the biggest mistake they made, cos they already said ppl is the one and only resource we have. I don't see Singapore can compete or benefit from China cos they don't have a long term planning. When oil price is up and US economy is down, we are suffering. Sooner or later we will be overtake by big city from China, what we can do others also can. The mistake they made determine our survival in the next 20 to 50 years. Even US is worry that China will overtake them.Originally posted by Hogzilla:Time different mah.
That time we have to tackle unemployment, now we have to keep up with population.
But in the past is too many time, too little $$. Now, it's too little time and $$, plus worries for tonnes of things (e.g. children's education and retirement worries)
pls, some like shang hai, bei jing had oredi overtake us... sad to say but SG is 10 years(maybe more for other) behind china now. maybe after tomorrow we will be 50 years behind.Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:This is the biggest mistake they made, cos they already said ppl is the one and only resource we have. I don't see Singapore can compete or benefit from China cos they don't have a long term planning. When oil price is up and US economy is down, we are suffering. Sooner or later we will be overtake by big city from China, what we can do others also can. The mistake they made determine our survival in the next 20 to 50 years. Even US is worry that China will overtake them.
MNC go, ppls working in MNC goes along(be it FT or SGreans... )Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:Or not overtake, it's taking away the MNC base here.
First is production, then is RnD, and later on will be HQ.
Then become China PR!Originally posted by Joshua1975:MNC go, ppls working in MNC goes along(be it FT or SGreans... )![]()
i think china learn form SG, so no mass FT allow...Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:Then become China PR!
Good oneOriginally posted by maurizio13:He's old already, old people say funny things sometimes. Just check out the old folks hanging out at your local kopi tiam.
You should be happy that he's not like Dr. Mahathir, wonder if he would be like Mahathir one day and criticize his successor.
hehehe
That will be the day.
If I get his pay, I'll willingly travel all over the place. U can even get to see places like Eqyptian tombs like what our pres. did.Originally posted by jianfish9:I dont think you can even compare what Mahathair is doing now with LKY.
I watched an interview today and he is really so old already yet he is chionging around Mid-East doing this and that. I wonder he is really so old why need to do this. His son is already the PM and he got so much money he can retire and relac but he still so pia for SG.
Even though I don't really agree wif the Govt policy, I think he still very deserving of respect.
SG will be much poorer off without him.
Even Msia has a much stronger political leadership without Mahathair. Wonder if you can say the same for SG
You mean you followed everything he said?Originally posted by Ponders:http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/243130/1/.html
Long long time ago, he said, people must study Law and Medicine. People did and there is a sudden upsurge of ppl with such degrees. Ended up there is an oversupply, Lawyers ended up not practising but consulting. Doctors open up practices and struggling to make ends meet.
Then he said people have to invest in Shenzhen SEZ. All the hype was there and again, SG govt discontinued support and many ppl find themselves trapped with the investment they did in SEZ.
Then he say, people must study hi-tech and engineering fields. Now many of them end up with jobs they do not really want.
Then he say, must invest in the Riau Economic triangle. Only few succeed, the rest was caught in the red tape.
Then people must study Bio-engineering field... this is still an ongoing trend..
Now he says ppl must invest in Middle East....
Why can't he just let singaporeans have their own brains and do whatever they feel like?