You sure or not? Who pays for FAS and the trip to DOHA?Originally posted by ctstalin:Err..... wrong forum i think![]()
Sleague is around since 1996!Originally posted by a-Lost-9uY:comeon la sLeague standard n EPL is 1 heaven 1 hell..
u cant compare it de..
EPL started very long ago whereas ours only a few years old
Local soccer is run in part by some of the people who run the country.Originally posted by rojak12:Ok, let's talk about Jleague then. It took them about 10 years to see very fruitful results.
Sleague leh? Another 10 years in the same format, you think we can reach JLeague crowd support and standard? That's a total of 20 years.
Don't get me wrong, I support our local football but I don't think the administration is effective in their execution at all.
Are you saying we are going somewhere? Goal 2010 was drop, vision is still alive. But where are we going?Originally posted by charlize:Local soccer is run in part by some of the people who run the country.
Why do you think it's not going anywhere?
Please read my reply again.Originally posted by rojak12:Are you saying we are going somewhere? Goal 2010 was drop, vision is still alive. But where are we going?
Thailand once mentioned that if given the same re$ources that Singapore is having, they would have reached the World Cup already.
The Doha failure came after the SEA games failure.
Please enlighten me.
I would rather we have our own S-League than to go back to the Malaysia Cup, and having to obey to the whims and fancy of FAM. Going back to the Malaysia League is a step back, because let's face it, their league attendance has dropped drastically. Corruption, lack of interest, and at a point, trying to install the no-foreign players rule ruined the league. How does it benefit the national team to play against the state teams?Originally posted by rojak12:Sleague, FT, no M'sia Cup, etc etc.
I have to be brutally honest.
A PENALTY goal is what we can do against Indonesia who had leaked in 10 goals in their previous 2 games.
FAS, I just want to go and cheer our OWN national teams with 40 ~ 50K people together.
Bring back the Malaysia Cup!
Do a search on any local soccer forum. A majority of them know the EPL teams players much better than our national team players.
FAS, what do you have to say? How about Sleague match attendances?
Don't dig when you are in a hole!
Its simple. More national pride is at stake. Soccer is also about entertainment and winning in malaysian league has more glory. Its only the burecrats blinded by their logic thinks S-leauge is better and can cite many million viewship of ghost audience from god know which country.Originally posted by nanren4ever:I would rather we have our own S-League than to go back to the Malaysia Cup, and having to obey to the whims and fancy of FAM. Going back to the Malaysia League is a step back, because let's face it, their league attendance has dropped drastically. Corruption, lack of interest, and at a point, trying to install the no-foreign players rule ruined the league. How does it benefit the national team to play against the state teams?
Originally posted by nanren4ever:You just brought up a key point.
[b]
I would rather we have our own S-League than to go back to the Malaysia Cup, and having to obey to the whims and fancy of FAM. Going back to the Malaysia League is a step back, because let's face it, their league attendance has dropped drastically. Corruption, lack of interest, and at a point, trying to install the no-foreign players rule ruined the league. How does it benefit the national team to play against the state teams?
b]
Its simple. Learned people do not make mistakes so there isnt a need to change. Dont you know S-league according to them is such a success that is viewed by millions of people all over the world.Originally posted by rojak12:You just brought up a key point.
FAS needs FAM and FAM needs FAS. After Singapore left, MLeague also suffers.
Don't get me wrong, I support our local football. If you read my post in Sports, I even ask forumers to support our Sleague. But most of the reply are not encouraging.
All I am saying is, if you want to carry on SLeague in the same format and structure, I don't think it will make much difference to our present situation.
If we are not going to get results, why stick with current format and structure? I would rather be able to bring my kids to National Stadium and watch Singapore play in the Malaysia Cup.
Which is better? Singapore vs Malaysia State teams or Sporting vs Woodlands which is a few MRT stops away.
New Zealand can do so well in Ruby because the whole nation is so passionate about the sports.
So you think Sleague can generate the kind of passion in our kids?
Soccer is a spectators sport, if you cannot generate attendance, you get nowhere.
The newspaper follow whats hot. Who cares about Tiong Baru versus Clementi? Or geylang versus tampines? We could have City hall versus Raffles place and no one would give a damm.Originally posted by Hogzilla:The success of EPL and other Major European league is that, they are expert in advertising their league. The players do tiny whiny little action, it will make the headlines of their newspaper. (Like Rooney go clubbing etc etc etc). Then when a certain Singapore talented player return late for training, he just disappear from the national team, like vanishing into the thin air.
I watched the beginning of S-League. (yea, the time when Geylang United was invincible) Then after the first season, I was like, "NB, damn sian leh. Don't have the excitement of M'Cup". So that is the time I stopped watching S-League.
During the M'Cup days, whenever there is a match, expect it to hit the headlines. Now, the result just occupy a very small section of the newspaper, it is the interest that mainstream newapaper cultivate, it is also the mainstream newspaper that killed the interest.
What can we do about this?
You mean Quah Kim Song et al cannot be compared with the current national team (er, Team Singapore)?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Could the team in the Malaysia Cup days draw 0-0 with China, lose 1-0 to Japan in Yokohama in deep winter and beat Iraq 2-0? What about holding Japan to a 2-1 loss at Jln Besar?
I can safely say that team would have been taken apart and sent to the cleaners. Singapore lacks strikers who are ruthless. Our defence and midfield, give them a year or two, they should be at their peak.
Guess you never been to National Stadium with >50K crowds when Singapore play Selangor. I will not even care if Man U is playing Chelsea on the same nite. The whole stadium shakes as we stomp our feet when Singapore took corners.Originally posted by nanren4ever:I think the fact that we have a bad mentality also contributes to the fact why we think so little of our own league. Look, for years, we look at our own local bands, our own local singers, and we say, "Sucks lor, cannot make it". Yet, when we look at overseas stars like Robbie Williams or Rain, we cheer them machiam like crazy. Its the same here.People tend to compare the S-League with EPL. How to fight like that? Of course EPL wins! Our mentality is that if its local, it ain't good.
The Malaysia cup days are over. We have no choice but to admit it. The Young Lions participating in the Malaysia FA Cup is the closest we are ever going to get. Just like 1965 when we separated from Malaysia, we now have to look ahead. We cannot keep looking back, and wish we can go back to the competition. We are going in the right direction, with the Singapore Sports School, Centre of Excellences(COE) where the kids are being trained properly. Plus, the fact that under the current coach, we have not done that bad in international football is something worth looking forward to.
Majulah Singapura!
Ya. I still remember the S-League first opening match made up of S-league stars vs Thailand national team. KNN, I still remember the ashes of the fireworks get into my eyes.....Originally posted by rojak12:Guess you never been to National Stadium with >50K crowds when Singapore play Selangor. I will not even care if Man U is playing Chelsea on the same nite. The whole stadium shakes as we stomp our feet when Singapore took corners.
In front of TV, maybe when a goal is scored against your team, you spill your can of coke.
All the programs that you mentioned, can still be on-going even if we go back to "Malaysia Cup format".
I am saying with current SLeague format and structure, we will never need to increase our stadium seating capacities for as long as it is SAF vs Home United.
When you make a wrong turn, you have to U-Turn.