Originally posted by weiqimun:
Let's face it, everything tt is wrong abt SG soccer is there to be seen:
1. SG is too small to have a soccer league of its own. And if it's serious about it, it has to invest in the infrastructure and put the foundation in place. Firstly, when u have a team called Geylang based in Bedok and Sengkang based in Hougang, you don't have a base fan to start with. The stadiums are not football friendly. Field is in terrible shape to allow attractive football to be played and seats are too far to allow spectators a closer-up to the action.
2. Administrator are run by half baked civil servant who has little knowledge about the game. Imagine a national team that couldn't even get a decent apparel sponsors in the last few years. FAS has to `cook up' a story about how Tiger beer's sponsorship was so great that it warrant having it's logo on the jersey. It's laughable and that they have not done anything to correct this embarrassment is an embarrassment in itself.
3. Players too are demotivated. Imagine 3 quarters of the national team consisting of Mats wearing a jersey with a logo from a liquor company. All of them sinned against their religion, man. How to play well when your conscience isn't even clear?
4. There is no conscious efforts to engage the citizens. Most of the time, nobody knows what's happening with the national team. Everything is by the way type of information, so the support is like-wise. However, given the number of FTs here in Singapore that diluted the loyalty and passion to the game, Singapore realistically cannot garner the type of support anymore.
5. As a nation of gamblers, how can the fledgling league thrive especially when it is on shaky ground....kelong here, there....soccer purists do not have faith in SG soccer.
Singapore soccer will be in the doldrums for the next 20 years or so. it will take a man of vision and conviction to wake Singapore soccer out of its sumber....
I dunno what happen to the $$ given to the various FC club sia. The stadium field looks like you primary school field.
Especially true about 2.
You ask an army colonel to administer the league. Army dun need advertisement one, citizens will come automatically one. (NB, I also automatically went. Lucky I came back liao)
Dunno about this one. No comments.
Like I said,
ADVERTISEMENT. S-League fails terribly. I would give them a G10. Less than F9.

C'mon lah, let's face another brutal truth that kicks every soccer fans.
All soccer results may be rigged. We've seen it happened in Italy, I'm not surprise that it happens in EPL or any other major European league.
20 years?
Too short liao lah.