Originally posted by LinYu:So what does Medisave, Medishield & Medifund do?![]()
KBW please explain.
Our Minister of hell Mr Cold said hor....our sg land very very very expensive lah....so bopian...they have to increase costs loh..must create scientific calculation for cost of land, govt services, medical and so on... if not... how is he and the other mini-stars keep on drawing millions dollars salaries, perks, bonuses and life long pensions????Originally posted by LinYu:ST Forum 28 Nov 06 - Why medicine cost more at ployclinic
I REFER to Mr Tan Bee Loke's letter ('Why the big difference in subsidy?'; ST, Nov 15) and National Healthcare Group (NHG) Pharmacy's Ms Ng Mok Shiang's unhelpful response ('Polyclinic patients enjoy higher subsidies'; ST, Nov 23) on subsidised medication sold at polyclinics and restructured hospitals.
Mr Tan was referring specifically to subsidised medicines but Ms Ng clouded the issue by digressing into the cost of subsidised consultation, laboratory fees, etc.
Secondly, she said there is a long list of medicines where prices are not identical, without offering any explanation on why this is the case, especially as both institutions referred to are part of the NHG cluster.
The root of the disparity in prices lies in the way polyclinics and restructured hospitals charge for medicine.
Medicines dispensed at the hospitals are sold on a per-pill basis. At the polyclinics, 'expensive' medicine is sold on this basis while the rest, the 'cheap' ones, are sold at $1.40 per week.
Take the case of a 450mg calcium-carbonate tablet. At Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH) each costs three cents, at the pharmacy in the hospital it is five cents but at the polyclinic it costs 20 cents!
Another example: an Allopurinol 100mg tablet costs three cents at TTSH but 20 cents at the polyclinic. While the cost of the medication goes down to 10 cents if the daily dosage is two tablets, it is still costlier at the polyclinic.
Why this great disparity? Where is the subsidy in this group of 'cheap' medicines?
Finally, there is the question of transparency in the way charges are presented on the invoice. Currently, medications dispensed at the restructured hospitals are cost itemised, whereas at the polyclinics this is shown as one lump sum.
Chua Koon Ngee![]()
To be fair as much as I don't fancy defending the so-called affordability of the healthcare system back home, WHY THE HECK DID THEY GO TO GLENEAGLES ? It's private !!! What they heck did they expect! Each time a consultant go visit for 5 mins - 600 to 800 dollars bye bye. WHY should the healthcare system to accomodate their PRIVATE hospital accomodation?Originally posted by LinYu:ST Forum 28 Nov 06
ALL citizens who have contributed to Medisave qualify for health insurance, in the form of MediShield.
This is so that, with rising health-care costs, they have insurance to fall back on when they are taken ill.
However, what happened to my mother-in-law recently proved unsettling.
My mother-in-law was admitted to Gleneagles Hospital following a heart attack and the specialist there recommended that she undergo a bypass immediately. Unfortunately, she died without regaining consciousness.
Now we are laden with medical bills of more than $50,000.
As my mother-in-law was covered under MediShield, we expected at least a small portion of the bills to be taken care of by the insurance.
However, after a long wait, the Central Provident Fund Board has granted us a payout of only $1,438, less than 3 per cent of the total bill. How is the payout determined?
By subscribing to MediShield, we expect that it would help us to cover some of our medical costs but it is not of much help when the payout is so little.
I hope the authorities will look into this issue.
We are not asking for welfare - just a reasonable payout from MediShield.
Chew Kai Hwa (Ms)![]()
Originally posted by fymk:
To be fair as much as I don't fancy defending the so-called affordability of the healthcare system back home, [b] WHY THE HECK DID THEY GO TO GLENEAGLES ? It's private !!! What they heck did they expect! Each time a consultant go visit for 5 mins - 600 to 800 dollars bye bye. WHY should the healthcare system to accomodate their PRIVATE hospital accomodation?
If they stayed at Singapore General Hospital , I say that is too much for them . But if they chose to admit her into Gleneagles - they shouldn't complain at all since they should be well aware that if they cannot afford it , they shouldn't go there.
If they went to Singapore General Hospital and stay in a subsidised class , it will be less than 50k . My relative stayed in b1 class in SGH for a cardiac bypass - it was still below 50k. [/b]
Originally posted by fymk:The crux of the issue is the amount of subsidies, not the cost of the treatment.
To be fair as much as I don't fancy defending the so-called affordability of the healthcare system back home, [b] WHY THE HECK DID THEY GO TO GLENEAGLES ? It's private !!! What they heck did they expect! Each time a consultant go visit for 5 mins - 600 to 800 dollars bye bye. WHY should the healthcare system to accomodate their PRIVATE hospital accomodation?
If they stayed at Singapore General Hospital , I say that is too much for them . But if they chose to admit her into Gleneagles - they shouldn't complain at all since they should be well aware that if they cannot afford it , they shouldn't go there.
If they went to Singapore General Hospital and stay in a subsidised class , it will be less than 50k . My relative stayed in b1 class in SGH for a cardiac bypass - it was still below 50k. [/b]
Ok. Sorry to hear about your slipped disc however we are not talking about slipped disc here . I have 2 slipped discs (cervical and lumbar) and that is what they do to me in Australia - pump me up with muscle relaxants and painkillers then wait 4 months to see a neurosurgeon for assessment . Depending on the severity ...like loss of function , you are categorised according to priority to be seen. Nothing can be done unless they are severe. Even with surgery , the risk is high - loss of life, paralysis etc . It is a lifelimiting condition unless it fully collapses which results in total paralysis. So they often opt for a conservative treatment with the hope that it will subside by itself before they even attempt to open you up. The neurosurgeon told me to look after my back and not to worsen it . Ask Rhonda if you don't believe me.Originally posted by the Bear:could it be that they don't trust the gabrament hospitals anymore?
i went to the gabrament polyclinic with a slipped disc so that they can refer me to the gabrament hospitals... the pain was so bad i could not stand straight... i was supposed to wait 3 to 4 months for a visit to the orthopaedic specialist..
i accepted that as i could see the lady at the polyclinic tried her best..
the next day, the pain was so intense i could not get out bed.. somehow i crawled to the A&E.. the doc at the A&E was literally screaming into the phone but could not get me an appointment with the orthopaedic and i had to wait for a week.. so she pumped me full of painkillers, apologised to me and said i had to go home..
now.. if i had been wheeled into Gleneagles, i'd be treated right? but i'd have to declare bankruptcy after that..
does that answer your question why Gleneagles?
My mom has her illnesses and she chooses to go to restructured hospitals and the polyclinic . So far , she just hates waiting to see them but still she won't go to private doctors . Private doesn't mean the best since she nearly got dosed wrongly by the private doctor until I checked her prescription dose.Originally posted by anonymouscoward:The crux of the issue is the amount of subsidies, not the cost of the treatment.
If your mother is sick, wouldn't you want the best that you can afford? Would you ask the hospital how much is the subsidies before committing your mother for treatment?
The hospital would have brief them about the estimate cost before treatment and they should be well enough to afford it. The payout from medishield would be a bonus but it turn out to be a shocking disappointment.
Ask me. I terminated (opt out) my medishield, healthshield, medicare, medisave, medishit etc.
This brings about another topic. My mother was given $800 progress package before the election but did not receive a single cent because she was automatically opt into a health insurance by CPF. The best part is, the premium is more than $800 annually. What a joke. She canceled the insurance and bought 4D instead.
Look bear , I sympathise with your condition because I have it too . I remember not being able to move for 2 days because of the pain . I didn't seek a private specialist in Melbourne because I knew the public hospital neurosurgeon was one of the best in the country. And he told me that it is life long - nothing to do unless I cannot feel or move my arms or legs.Originally posted by the Bear:why i went to the polyclinic?
because i had prior experience with the gabrament hospitals... if you were wheeled into the orthopaedic place, you will be turned back no matter what condition you were in.. that's what they said to me.. so i had to go through the whole process..
now, i know all about loss of other functions, but when a person is in enough pain where even lying down is pure agony without being doped up, isn't that classified as a severe case? the GPs were too afraid to do anything because they felt they were not qualified to, and the specialists were too mired in an overwhelming backlog of patients...
something is wrong here...
back to the heart condition of the lady... would you trust gabrament hospitals after things like that?
anyway, trust aside.. one would think that if i had a bunch of medishield, or whatever, i'd be able to use MY money to seek medical help.. isn't that what it is for?
there are also scary stories of people i know who have been given the shaft by gabrament hospitals...
i think the bean counters have taken over.. it's no longer about health care at our gabrament hospitals anymore, it's about balancing the books or worse, trying to make a profit..
Wah - Wtf is happening?Originally posted by the Bear:could it be that they don't trust the gabrament hospitals anymore?
i went to the gabrament polyclinic with a slipped disc so that they can refer me to the gabrament hospitals... the pain was so bad i could not stand straight... i was supposed to wait 3 to 4 months for a visit to the orthopaedic specialist..
i accepted that as i could see the lady at the polyclinic tried her best..
the next day, the pain was so intense i could not get out bed.. somehow i crawled to the A&E.. the doc at the A&E was literally screaming into the phone but could not get me an appointment with the orthopaedic and i had to wait for a week.. so she pumped me full of painkillers, apologised to me and said i had to go home..
now.. if i had been wheeled into Gleneagles, i'd be treated right? but i'd have to declare bankruptcy after that..
does that answer your question why Gleneagles?
There is no perfect system . USA has the best advanced medical technology yet the way they take care of their lower socioeconomic classes are shocking as you can in Hurricane Katrina. Australia has a health for all system yet there are waiting lists and some of their hospitals ( especially rural and regional) are shocking in terms of technology and staff shortages. UK NHS has already broken down so many times that it is not funny.Originally posted by the Bear:yeah..
i find it very strange that if it is like that everywhere (notwithstanding the "throw at hospital to go on holiday" ) why doesn't the gabraments do something about it?
here, the gabrament is happy throwing away tons of money paying useless charlatans who pose as "consultants" while squeezing the people and cutting back on basic health care...
there, is probably the same...
i dare say everywhere it's almost the same story..
what scares me is that in singapore, they are talking about increasing the population.. if health care is already working beyond its capacity, when does it explode?
There's no point arguing abt tis topic of subsidys or whatsoever from our farking good govt.Originally posted by fymk:My mom has her illnesses and she chooses to go to restructured hospitals and the polyclinic . So far , she just hates waiting to see them but still she won't go to private doctors . Private doesn't mean the best since she nearly got dosed wrongly by the private doctor until I checked her prescription dose.
Besides the point , let's put it this way . If I wanted to best care possible for my own mom , I would send her to USA for treatment. So am I allowed to claim subsidy for that as well? Singapore General Hospital is quite well known for their cardiothoracic surgeons and I would say practice makes perfect. With them yanking out diseased arteries everyday ....why won't it make them the best?
Yes the amount CPF returned is worse than a private health insurance company . Maybe 4k or so would have been good.
And everything is the joke really - they give you 200 dollars then they take back 400 dollars through indirect taxes - go complain to the 66.6% voters who gave them the strong mandate to rule .