Whatever the reason, most Singaporeans vote for the PAP, thus opposition not only have to face the government, they also have limited support from the people.Originally posted by TYING:Come on...
Its not as though that singaporeans really meant to vote for the PAP or with sincerity at least. They have to think about their future. Yes, call us cowards, but in order to live safely and properly (), we HAVE or are FORCED to vote for them.
Those constituencies who did not vote for them end up not having the funds to upgrade their area. This caused a lot inconvenience to the elderly and the disabled as they need the installations a lot. You never know, they might list down those people who did not vote for them and deny them the rights to packages given out by the government.
Hence, we are being force to vote for them. Because, PAP tricked many people into thinking that they are the government when they are not. Also, they abused their authority just because they have the larger number of people in the government, thus they made use of the money meant for the community.
Therefore, the only thing we can do is pray that they will drop dead one by one and be banished to the 18th level of hell. TO HELL WITH THEM!![]()
Let me tell you what I dream of:Originally posted by LazerLordz:If you are a dreamer, you are NOT a loser.
Why do you need to measure yourself by what the others; who are too lazy to wake up their minds and consciously reject the crap that they have been fed; think?
If you are leading a comfortable life, you have a duty to speak out to the best of your ability. We may not acheive concrete change overnight, but if we do not speak our mind, can you tell your kids in their face that "I'm sorry, Daddy didn't do enough, or contributed in his little way when he could?"
It's worth thinking. The minute those of us who are comfortable, lapse into apathy, then it's the death knell of an alternative voice in Singaporean society.
Does it actually matter?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Did you know that only a small percentage of people in Singapore actually had the chance to vote?
But that is on a big scale. And majority of the Singaporeans are not willing to overcome their fear and oppose. Convincing them would take 9 life time.Originally posted by LazerLordz:So, if everyone is less willing to be sucked into consumption, and focus on longer-term issues, a bit of hardship here and there will bring more rewards ain't that so?
The system is not good enough for us today, it has proven inadequate to bring Singapore further up the ladder.
I'm just correcting a technicality lah.Originally posted by Chelzea:Does it actually matter?im doubtful that e opposition would gain any additional seats aniway
I am very different from oxford mushroom so dont compare me to that fungus. And i don't support the opposition just to gain popularity. By the way, only a couple of candidates in the opposition are up to standard.Originally posted by Cystaire:Whatever the reason, most Singaporeans vote for the PAP, thus opposition not only have to face the government, they also have limited support from the people.
You shouldn't blame the PAP at all if you voted for them. If you voted for them but pretend-pretend to support opposition just to be popular, how are you different from oxford mushroom? Except he is more honest?
But many of us are out there? Five? 200?Originally posted by LazerLordz:I have similar visions. But I choose to see myself not as a dreamer, and although one man cannot make a difference, but each of us, doing our little bit, does have an impact.
Look at our blogosphere, it is growing day by day. That's one sign that people have not given up caring for this country.
most singaporeans maybe, but not ALL singporeans voted.. is selective posting in your opinion more honest? so oxford mushrooms more honest than most of us here who are against most policies of the s'pore gahmen just becuz he openly supports the gahmen while most of us are against it? Dun assume most of the ppl here voted for pap, not everyone here voted for pap. you think supporting the opposition is just to pretend and to gain popularity? popularity in what? in this forum here?Originally posted by Cystaire:Whatever the reason, most Singaporeans vote for the PAP, thus opposition not only have to face the government, they also have limited support from the people.
You shouldn't blame the PAP at all if you voted for them. If you voted for them but pretend-pretend to support opposition just to be popular, how are you different from oxford mushroom? Except he is more honest?
My apologies, I didn't realize oxford mushroom is that unpopular.Originally posted by TYING:I am very different from oxford mushroom so dont compare me to that fungus. And i don't support the opposition just to gain popularity. By the way, only a couple of candidates in the opposition are up to standard.
For your information or maybe you would not be even interested in knowing, I do not agree with the way PAP handle their policies implemented. As i still cant vote, i have tried to persuade my parents to vote for the opposition instead to give it a try.
So I am not what you make me out to be.
Should change. Is the government give people what they need, but never enough. People want things that can help them even more, but they have not been given out by the government yet.Originally posted by Cystaire:The government has often given the people what they want; dreamers have given the people diddly-squat.
Its ok, your views are very much appreciated anyway. So no offence if i did make you unhappy in some ways.Originally posted by Cystaire:My apologies, I didn't realize oxford mushroom is that unpopular.![]()
Huh? Not all meh?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Did you know that only a small percentage of people in Singapore actually had the chance to vote?
goshOriginally posted by TYING:Huh? Not all meh?
I still young not yet see the world mar, but who come only small persantage can vote? The others all foreigners or what ar?Originally posted by Chelzea:goshare u singaporean?
Firstly, only Singaporeans above the age of 21.Originally posted by TYING:Huh? Not all meh?
At the polls, most Singaporeans do not support the opposition. This is despite the turn-out of tens of thousands at opposition rallies.Originally posted by 4getmenot:most singaporeans maybe, but not ALL singporeans voted.. is selective posting in your opinion more honest? so oxford mushrooms more honest than most of us here who are against most policies of the s'pore gahmen just becuz he openly supports the gahmen while most of us are against it? Dun assume most of the ppl here voted for pap, not everyone here voted for pap. you think supporting the opposition is just to pretend and to gain popularity? popularity in what? in this forum here?![]()
, Geez.. not trying to slamp you here, but you need to look at your posting b4 you make assumption. This is not your typical 10yr old or teens forum where people are interested in being 'popular'..
this is Speakers Corner.
Do you know why are opposition candidates not up to standard?Originally posted by TYING:I am very different from oxford mushroom so dont compare me to that fungus. And i don't support the opposition just to gain popularity. By the way, only a couple of candidates in the opposition are up to standard.
For your information or maybe you would not be even interested in knowing, I do not agree with the way PAP handle their policies implemented. As i still cant vote, i have tried to persuade my parents to vote for the opposition instead to give it a try.
So I am not what you make me out to be.
Originally posted by spinsugar:The mainstream media and voting results are a very, very poor reflection of public opinion. They're heavily controlled by the government.
With GRCs that give PAP an unfair advantage, the 1997 Cheng San election rigging cover-up and the pro-PAP media, it's no wonder you're starting to think if there's not so much support for opposition after all - the MIW make sure anything remotely pro-opposition never reaches you!
Don't lose hope.
Do tell.Originally posted by maurizio13:Do you know why are opposition candidates not up to standard?
These kind of changes takes years, 10, 20 maybe 50 years. It takes generations and generations of people to effect the change and consistently apply it. The changes might bring good, but might bring along another set of issues. You cannot control the fact that we had also external influences to deal with and influx of foreigners who bring their own culture,expectations and etc.Originally posted by Cystaire:Let me tell you what I dream of:
1. I dream of a Singapore which has its own culture, traditions and language, contributed from our ancestors, but distinct from the other nations. I dream that our culture and language can flourish and create its own art and applications.
2. I dream of a Singapore with a strong national identity that transcends race or partisan views. Where Singaporeans are proud of their common heritage and are willing to stand for fellow Singaporeans rather than foreign nationals of their own race.
3. I dream of a Singapore with a sustainable economy that doesn't have constantly run on a race to benchmark itself with huge Western nations, but with small rich-poor gap that is the envy of the world.
4. I dream of a Singapore that values individual creativity and freedoms and a society more tolerant of bizarre ideas, because the most desperately creative agents that bring about world leading changes are necessarily individuals. That one day someone would say "who made this crazy device/provocative play? Only in Singapore of course."
I have these dreams - the dreams of a loser. For an individual who is always a nobody and whose ideas are always whiny complaints can never make a difference.
Only society as a whole, powerful people and organizations can make a difference, but why should they fix something that isn't broken? Singaporeans themselves are happy with the way things are - people who see any different are definitely losers, because they have no support of the people.
Winners will determine the future; dreamers like me are just passing gas in the footnote of history.
You mean...other than pap candidates or its officials...there'e no other people could perform equally or better than pap?Originally posted by TYING:Come on...
Its not as though that singaporeans really meant to vote for the PAP or with sincerity at least. They have to think about their future. Yes, call us cowards, but in order to live safely and properly (), we HAVE or are FORCED to vote for them.
Those constituencies who did not vote for them end up not having the funds to upgrade their area. This caused a lot inconvenience to the elderly and the disabled as they need the installations a lot. You never know, they might list down those people who did not vote for them and deny them the rights to packages given out by the government.
Hence, we are being force to vote for them. Because, PAP tricked many people into thinking that they are the government when they are not. Also, they abused their authority just because they have the larger number of people in the government, thus they made use of the money meant for the community.
Therefore, the only thing we can do is pray that they will drop dead one by one and be banished to the 18th level of hell. TO HELL WITH THEM!![]()