Got two.Originally posted by shinta:eh? that guy is tharman meh?
i tot tharman is the other one... very dark skin colour de..
Aiya, same same lah.Originally posted by Hogzilla:Got two.
One is CMI one, a MP in Sembawang GRC. The other one is the Minister of Education.
u mean vivian?Originally posted by Hogzilla:Got two.
One is CMI one, a MP in Sembawang GRC. The other one is the Minister of Education.
agree wif uOriginally posted by maurizio13:Increase for foreigners, but citizens still pay the same; so how much better off are citizens? They just reducing their own cost to make more money for.
Thats abit racist oriented man...sg not only got chinese if you dunno...but you got a point....whats a person who's a scholar but not a teacher doing in an education position?Originally posted by anonymouscoward:This is what you get when you put that Ah-nah to head MOE. This guy has never been a teacher, has no experience with education and they put him there to solve our educational woes.
He can't even speak Mandarin and we expect him to solve our language issues??! No wonder the kids today are crap with Chinese.
Asking them to learn Han Yu Ping Yin before writing? He thinks this is Japanese? Japanese characters are formed from vowels and consonants; hence, it is possible to learn Romanji before learning Hiragana and Katangana. Totally different case from Chinese.
Darn Ah-nah, screwing up our education system.
Competition is good for Singapore....we must supplement our talent pool with able foreigners. If the PRC kids do better than our own, we should encourage them to set down roots here.Originally posted by Ponders:Please increase to the point PRC kids wun take up space meant for Locals.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/246797/1/.html
Competition good...yes...good...Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Competition is good for Singapore....we must supplement our talent pool with able foreigners. If the PRC kids do better than our own, we should encourage them to set down roots here.
Some of our cabinet ministers were foreigners before they became Singaporeans.
As a parent, I fully agreed with yr view!!!!Originally posted by Wakus:Competition good...yes...good...
But really i would prefer someone who knows what is the problems our singaporeans face right now rather than someone from a big country come down use economic policies as a whole, expect singaporeans to just swallow it, no matter how hard it can be for some people, and expect them to stay happy....isn't that why we have scholars in the first place?
If foreigners become our cabinet ministers, really there is a problem witrh singapore, that the government is afraid to face...we have grown into an elitist society, where honestly, the elites...(or the kids of our current elites) are given opportunities which our normal singaporeans aren't even offered...
Yes there has to be a balance...but now its really every man for himself...or in singapore's case EVERY ELITE FOR HIMSELF. So what if fees go up? The layman singaporean still has to take out his CPF or take up a loan to eventually cover his kids uni or even poly fees and sometimes these aren't even enough to cover their kids education...and this is the main problem for common singaporeans sending their kids to studies today...
Again the govenrment fail to recognise where our main problem is...our salaries are still low...tax us some more, and our salaries are not keeping up with all these rising costs...
AI YahOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:Competition is good for Singapore....we must supplement our talent pool with able foreigners. If the PRC kids do better than our own, we should encourage them to set down roots here.
Some of our cabinet ministers were foreigners before they became Singaporeans.
Maybe he is in UK to be the Ipswich Ripper; maybe Oxford Ripper even.Originally posted by fymk:AI Yah
U ALL STILL DON'T GET WHAT OXMUSH IS SAYING AH?
Must look at it the other way.....if Singapore and foreign talents were so good ...how come he is in UK?
but are local kids losing their seats because of the increase in foreign students?Originally posted by Ponders:Please increase to the point PRC kids wun take up space meant for Locals.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/246797/1/.html