Like I said, she's just a kid.Originally posted by Hogzilla:In response to the potato's article, I think he / she only saw how teenagers behave and it should never be any way connected to a language superority. Btw, the issue of language superority is outdated. If you talk about language superority with those into lingulistic, I think you are going to be a laughing stock.
x2.
Singlish is cool. Cooler than English and Mandarin.
Singaporeans, don't you feel comfortable speaking with the "lah"s and "lor"s? Of course, Singlish isn't just not about "lah"s and "lor"s, it's the identity and uniquely Singaporean signature.
The "invention" of Singlish as a dialect shows the world the integration of the multi-racial society in Singapore. Any attempt to diminish it shall be seen as an attempt to undermine the unity of SIngapore's multi-racial society.
So we should speak proper English to those who wants us to speak proper English. When we are talking among Singaporean, Singlish, please.
Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:hong kongers speak mandrin? hai mai ah? yao moh gao chor?
Go Chinese cities like Taipei,HK,Beijing etc observe the eloquence of the language.
Chinese languages are a really beautiful language, be it official ones or dialects.
Although i am a Singaporean, english educated and grew up in english speaking family. I am definately proud to be a Chinese and i would never do anything to degrade Chinese langauge or culture.
I think the ban dialect is lan lan one. When Singaporeans are divided by race, I'm sure that no one hopes to divide the Chinese population by differentiate it with dialect groups.Originally posted by dragg:not just chinese, many cant even speak their own dialects.
knn, what stupid speak english champaign. the banning of dialect programs on tv should be lifted.
it is obviously not working.
ah biannn speaks with a strong hokkien accent, nothing wrong his standard of mandarin i am sure.Originally posted by vito_corleone:hong kongers speak mandrin? hai mai ah? yao moh gao chor?![]()
taipei = eloquent mandrin? one look at president "ah baaaaan" and you know somewhere along the way the taiwanese messed up their competency of proper mandrin
chinese is made up of many different dialects like mandarin,cantonese,hokkien,teocheow...etc.Originally posted by vito_corleone:hong kongers speak mandrin? hai mai ah? yao moh gao chor?![]()
taipei = eloquent mandrin? one look at president "ah baaaaan" and you know somewhere along the way the taiwanese competency in proper mandrin screwed up big time
You can't expect Taiwanese to be native speakers of Mandarin, considering that they are Hokkien by descent and their native language is Minnanese.Originally posted by dragg:ah biannn speaks with a strong hokkien accent, nothing wrong his standard of mandarin i am sure.
You're right. The Chinese diaspora is mainly Cantonese and Hokkien speaking.Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:In our Singaporean money loving environment, money speaks.
If I were a millionaire, and i speak Singlish, people will still lick my boots regardless.
Has Singaporeans value langauges like dollars and cents?
I just could'nt understand why a formal language like cantonese, official language of HK could be banned in Singapore? What rule is this? 80 million people worldwide are cantonese speaking, mainly the chinese diaspora.
If one day cantonese or malay language would become an economic power, would PAPpies lead a speak-malay campaign and butter-up to malaysia or indonesia?
i wonder who came up with the great idea to ban cantonese on local tvs.Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:In our Singaporean money loving environment, money speaks.
If I were a millionaire, and i speak Singlish, people will still lick my boots regardless.
I just could'nt understand why a formal language like cantonese, official language of HK could be banned in Singapore? What rule is this? 80 million people worldwide are cantonese speaking, mainly the chinese diaspora.
If one day cantonese or malay language would become an economic power, would PAPpies lead a speak-malay campaign and butter-up to malaysia or indonesia?
Of course.Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:In our Singaporean money loving environment, money speaks.
there is still cable channel 48...Originally posted by dragg:i wonder who came up with the great idea to ban cantonese on local tvs.
dun liddat lehOriginally posted by dragg:not just chinese, many cant even speak their own dialects.
knn, what stupid speak english champaign. the banning of dialect programs on tv should be lifted.
it is obviously not working.
ch 48 is in cantonese?Originally posted by udontknowme:
its a hongkong channel...how on earth can they dub EVERYTHING????Originally posted by dragg:ch 48 is in cantonese?
arent the programs all dubbed?
so is it dubbed or not?Originally posted by udontknowme:its a hongkong channel...how on earth can they dub EVERYTHING????
i dont think they can dub EVERYTHING...
~~~TVB~~~
if they really dubbed it...![]()
i have nothing to say
Dear, i would prefer in govt encouraging chinese language, but its banning dialects on media we are talking about. Isn't banning a bit extreme?Originally posted by Hogzilla:I think the ban dialect is lan lan one. When Singaporeans are divided by race, I'm sure that no one hopes to divide the Chinese population by differentiate it with dialect groups.
But I would love to see more actions bt civilian organizatiion to promote dialect.
i dont know cos im not in singapore...Originally posted by dragg:so is it dubbed or not?
will dialects really divide the chinese population? i seriously doubt so.Originally posted by Hogzilla:I think the ban dialect is lan lan one. When Singaporeans are divided by race, I'm sure that no one hopes to divide the Chinese population by differentiate it with dialect groups.
But I would love to see more actions bt civilian organizatiion to promote dialect.
True, for the first statement. Partially true about the latter.Originally posted by LazerLordz:You can't expect Taiwanese to be native speakers of Mandarin, considering that they are Hokkien by descent and their native language is Minnanese.
Mandarin as a common language, is a product of the Commies when they unified China in 1949.
Meaning they know that some people cannot understand mandarin and english, and they dont want these people to get sars and run around doctor hopping because to be unable to understand both mandarin and english you must have been living under a rock your whole life.Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:And when i MAJOR castatrophy like SARS came too Singapore,
Govt would use dialects to communicate in main-stream media to reach out to all Singaporeans, then after SARS fiasco ended,
Dialects are dumped aside again.
Just what is the meaning of these? Can someone tell me?
Well, the founding father of China, Mr Sun Yat Sun was a cantonese. Much of the chinese diaspora overseas were rich and were cantonese too. they were much involved in donations and war efforts.Originally posted by Hogzilla:True, for the first statement. Partially true about the latter.
They actually want to use Cantonese as the offical dialect one, but the Mandarin-dialect (yes, mandarin is a dialect. Mandarin is also a phrase used to call the Manchurian officals. You can check the dictionary, I'm sure it can provide more insights) speaking population is too big liao. Then they use mandarin as offical dialect lor. In this case, (population) size does matters.