Ok, now the topic went into different dialect groups.Originally posted by fymk:Sun Yat Sen is actually born into a hakka family in Canton. He is not cantonese by ethnicity.
Alot of hakkas speak cantonese for business or it was because their ancestry came down to Canton. Even Shanghainese speak cantonese to do business in HongKong.
Thanks for that info .Originally posted by Hogzilla:Ok, now the topic went into different dialect groups.
FYI, the hakkas speak hakka in their village, or living compound. But when they went out of their village to make a living, they would speak another dialect. Example, if they are making a living in Guangdong, they will speak Cantonese.
and i am proud of people like you.Originally posted by autumncs:How come nowadays Singaporeans are so fussy about very minor things (like one green bean in a red bean soup) and complain so excessively??? Then some of those english speakers hor, they think they speak English then very great lor... And because of a few inconsiderate black sheeps, the stupid bitch said mandarin speaking people are garbage. What if the youths who blasts mp3 loudly consists of 1 chinese, 1 malay, 1 indian and 1 ang moh? Will the stupid bitch hate every single Singaporean?
I'm so ashamed to see such short-sighted people in our nice little country. Such people are so insensitive and so arrogant, and they are a threat to our racial harmony...
For me, I'm proud to be bilingual. I'm proud of my Chinese roots and heritage, and I'm proud of my ability to speak English.![]()
Chill man. Don't get yourself worked up over a little kid.Originally posted by autumncs:How come nowadays Singaporeans are so fussy about very minor things (like one green bean in a red bean soup) and complain so excessively??? Then some of those english speakers hor, they think they speak English then very great lor... And because of a few inconsiderate black sheeps, the stupid bitch said mandarin speaking people are garbage. What if the youths who blasts mp3 loudly consists of 1 chinese, 1 malay, 1 indian and 1 ang moh? Will the stupid bitch hate every single Singaporean?
I'm so ashamed to see such short-sighted people in our nice little country. Such people are so insensitive and so arrogant, and they are a threat to our racial harmony...
For me, I'm proud to be bilingual. I'm proud of my Chinese roots and heritage, and I'm proud of my ability to speak English.![]()
What else you expect them to post ?Originally posted by Sagara:why does ST even post this crap ?
Rubbish letter from a stupid banana b!tch.
so now you know how hard they are working to maintain the ranking.Originally posted by GTO:Straits Times actually publish this type of rubbish?
No wonder its 146th![]()
You reminds me of Ah Baaaaaaaan (use English pronouncation, please. Thank you).Originally posted by fymk:Thanks for that info .
I met some hakka who keep insisting they are cantonese and then admit later they are hakka . Just find that odd.
for a record; punks don't blast hip hop. LOL! they listen to metalcore, punk rock - emo, emocore, screamo, metal punk, whatever sh*t, etc. Get your facts right. Pls don't disgrace yourself here.Originally posted by ah_kwang:another igonarant singaporean. i often hear english speaking punks on trains blasting hip-hop hits too. I hang ard with both english speaking and chinese speaking grp. realised that some of my mandarin speaking friends are less vulgar than those english speaking ones who adore american culture and use the word f**k non-stop. is that considered glamorous?
fucking punks.Originally posted by trendz:
for a record; punks don't blast hip hop. LOL! they listen to metalcore, punk rock - emo, emocore, screamo, metal punk, etc. Get your fact right. Pls don't disgrace yourself here.they are punks to me. or u can always say juvenile delinquents, if you like.
Hmmm.. the word 'f*ck' is a taboo. Whether it's socially-accepted or not, pls check out the meaning of the word 'f*ck' and its associates before you say it's a vulgarity in the extreme. If it is, the word 'f*ck' would never be heard even in cinemas. Please use your f*ckin' brain.
it is a vulgar, and it is treated as such.
I did catch the part about her qualifying her own stand by saying that not all Mandarin-speaking people are boorish and uncouth and that not all English-speaking people are angels as well.Originally posted by trendz:I could understand everyone slamming, blasting, criticizing and flaming her. Read her article carefully; she mentioned that 'she doesn't mean all mandarin-speaking people; as some English-speaking people ain't angels either'. (somewhere along that line.) Was this too vague or too subtle for people to overlook it? Or was it just a statement use to rebutt when we refute her article?
To perceive her as narrow-minded; I couldn't agree more. She has indeed perceived and classified such rowdy kids under the mandarin-speaking category. It so happens that none of the English-speaking kids were displaying such intolerant behaviour; or so it seems. Guess she didn't happen to see one?![]()
then chee bye just mean pus*y? lam jiao just mean dick? Food for thought?Originally posted by trendz:for a record; punks don't blast hip hop. LOL! they listen to metalcore, punk rock - emo, emocore, screamo, metal punk, whatever sh*t, etc. Get your facts right. Pls don't disgrace yourself here.
Hmmm.. the word 'f*ck' is a taboo. Be it being socially-accepted or not, pls check out the meaning of the word 'f*ck' and its associates in the dictionary before you say it's a vulgarity in the extreme. If it is, the word 'f*ck' would never be heard even in cinemas. Please use your f*ckin' brain.
Nope; using the word 'f*ck' doesn't link with the american culture. Any Tom, D*ck and Harry can use this word.
You're totally wrong that mandarin-speaking people are less vulgar. Hearing them let out a string of hokkien expletives 'kan ni na bu chao chee bye. na bei pu bor. kum lim bei lan jiao lah. yao siu kia.' - do you think it's equally 'glamorous'?![]()