1) I can assure you that Singaporeans voted for the PAP not because we have a good government. It's just that the opposition's quality is suspect too.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:1) NPNT...btw, if you continue this line of argument, you can be sure that the Opposition will always lose. Who dares to vote for them in future? Shooting yourself in both feet?
2) The Opposition parties voted AGAINST HDB upgrading when it was first proposed by the government. If you vote for them, you indicate that you prefer their policies. So why kpkb when you don't have the upgrading you were against in the first place? Sheer hypocrisy
3) Ya...afraid that the racists in Opposition parties will damage the social cohesion of the nation. Why do you think it was the minority vote in marginal constituencies that tilted the balance in favour of PAP during the last Election? With GRCs, they have a voice. If the Opposition runs the show, there may not be a single minority MP in Parliament unless minorities group together geographically.We do not want ghettos divided by race and religion in Singapore.
4) Tell me one party that does not offer sweets if you vote for them? It's politics, silly. The policies introduced after the election are not studpid, they are designed to help the poor. You people talk alot about helping the poor but do nothing. Unlike Opposition parties who can only rant about it, the government is doing something active to get the funds to help them.
5) are you sure that every singaporeans voted?
You know well the reason why many could not vote was because of the walkovers. This is the most ridiculous of all. If you cannot even find enough people to stand for election, do you expect to find people to vote for you? If Opposition party supporters are not convinced by their own policies to stand for election, how can you convince your voters?
Next you will be saying that the government should help Opposition Parties get elected into Parliament
They have droven me away that is for sure. Now I am creating jobs for people in Thailand and helping their economy. I know you are going to insult me by telling me Singapore don't need me, but judging from what I have read, THE PEOPLE OF SINGAPORE don't need (self edited. let's not get personal but stick with the issue on hand.)Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Because that 5000 are the high income earners who provide jobs for the other 100,000 people. If you drive them away with direct taxation, that 100,000 will lose their jobs and you will also lose the $100 from the 5000 who have left.
pei le fu ren yiu zhe bing
It's never to late to learn. You guys would really do well to warn me, send me a PM at least.Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:Glad that i learnt my lesson earliar.![]()
Unless of course the person starts getting personal and starts calling names for which I detest...Originally posted by Gazelle:Why dont your bring us back to the issues you wish to discuss instead of barking like some crazy bi.tch in heat.
Originally posted by bangkokboy:Why do you give credit to others when they are not due for any?
The dog barks. If not for oxford I would like to think we have seen the last of your barking. Or whining for that matter... Stop hiding behind others. I've notice that your barking ceases, only to surface again when oxford makes some points.
OK. That's all from me. Time to go, afterall you guys are from the HIGHER ECHELONof the society while I am from the sewers. Nothing more to discuss with you.
[b]If you wish to insult me, just PM me, don't insult the poor. The poor has done nothing. If insulting me makes your inflated egos feel better, just go ahead and rant. But again leave others out of it.[/b]
Originally posted by bangkokboy:I would suggest not talking to animals and dogs, no point, at the end of the day they will still be barking around in circles. I have learnt my lesson.
The dog barks. If not for oxford I would like to think we have seen the last of your barking. Or whining for that matter... Stop hiding behind others. I've notice that your barking ceases, only to surface again when oxford makes some points.
OK. That's all from me. Time to go, afterall you guys are from the HIGHER ECHELONof the society while I am from the sewers. Nothing more to discuss with you.
[b]If you wish to insult me, just PM me, don't insult the poor. The poor has done nothing. If insulting me makes your inflated egos feel better, just go ahead and rant. But again leave others out of it.[/b]
For your information, Melbourne has a large asian population. Just shows how ignorant you are. Caucasians are just as human as asians. Are you being racist here? So they don't deserve healthcare just because they are white?Originally posted by Gazelle:Dont put words into my mouth dude, I am just reacting to fymk posting.
And why should I care is some nurses prefer to be serving some white cunt country?
haha...name calling is the calling card of Opposition party supporters here. To stop name calling, it would be easier to just ban maurizio13. Who started calling people dogs?Originally posted by bangkokboy:I suggest closing the thread, too much name calling here. Anyone agree?![]()
So I assume all PAP supporters are angels? Haha you will do well to check gazelle's post.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:haha...name calling is the calling card of Opposition party supporters here. To stop name calling, it would be easier to just ban maurizio13. Who started calling people dogs?
However, to find voices of disillusioned Singaporeans, just look at Ang Mo Kio, a bunch of newcomers and they gathered how many percentage of the votes?There will always be those who disagree with a policy, whether it comes from the ruling or Opposition parties. These people will oppose the PAP regardless of who is representing the party. I have a feeling that many of those who voted for the opposition have never even heard of the candidate. Rather than a mark of affirmation, the results demonstrate the displeasure of some voters. But nobody disputes that. There is an increasing minority of people who oppose the government's policies, although the majority supports them.
If I voted against the PAP does it mean I don't have to pay 7% GST? Do I get to pay less taxes? If I pay less taxes than go ahead, count me out of the upgrading (not that I need one). Please explain.Your taxes go to fund the government's operating budget. Funding for upgrading comes from budget SURPLUS arising from good management by the ruling party. As to how this surplus should be used, PAP wants to use it to upgrade HDB flats, the Opposition parties are against it. So why ask for it when you have been opposing it in Parliament in the first place? What credibility is there?
Don't you know Singapore is divided? You so called Elites and us ghetto dwelling people who unfortunately is able to point out dumb and questionable points brought up by you so call fake elites. I assume you are at best an arrogant ignorant government puppet.Resort to calling names when you cannot win an argument. All so typical....
I ask you again how does a 7% help the poor? Are they really being helped? Can you give me examples? If it really helps the poor then why can't you explain it to me?Details will be announced in the next Budget as to how the additional revenue generated will be used to help the poor. As it is, the ministers have mentioned that part of it will go towards payment for revised workfare packages that will improve the pay of low income earners who remain in work.
And be sued? Singapore is not exactly a good place to be an opposition.You won't get sued if you do not go against the law. What has the MP said that is defamatory? On the other hand, Opposition party members time and again have made defamatory remarks, daring government officials to take them to court.
you should get banned also for posting that websites like sgforums.com should be closed down by the gahmen.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:haha...name calling is the calling card of Opposition party supporters here. To stop name calling, it would be easier to just ban maurizio13. Who started calling people dogs?
Originally posted by maurizio13:This reminds me of another George Bernard Shaw's quote
Be kind to animals and dogs!!![/b]
There is an increasing minority of people who oppose the government's policies, although the majority supports them.Support for policies that come after the election? I clearly cannot see how they can support such policies? Perhaps most Singaporeans have the gift of the foresight. Unfortunately I do not possess such gifts but I did have a feeling that hikes were forthcoming AFTER the election. If you want to argue that the majority supports the government policies, I would strongly urge the government to hold the elections AFTER the policies are implemented.
P/S. the government had already clarified that they are not against the principle of upgrading flats in Opposition wards. It's about priority. It does not make sense that those who opposed the government's upgrading policy should ironically get it before those who supported it.The overwhelming feeling is that upgrading uses PUBLIC MONEY, which should be used equally for all Singaporeans and not to blackmail voters for one partyÂ’s gain.
It's about treating supporters of Opposition Parties well, but treat supporters of the ruling party better.
Resort to calling names when you cannot win an argument. All so typical....I respond in kind. Tit-for-tat.
As it is, the ministers have mentioned that part of it will go towards payment for revised workfare packages that will improve the pay of low income earners who remain in work.To this I have no comment as they have not release any info yet. I do not, like most Singaporeans, possess the gift of foreseeing the governmentÂ’s policies.
You won't get sued if you do not go against the law. What has the MP said that is defamatory?I must agree that the opposition party member in question has it coming. Prior to this election, the quality of our opposition is indeed suspect. I wouldnÂ’t be surprise with the lack of votes for the opposition. Singaporeans must not vote blindly, with such questionable characters as opposition candidates, I would be hard-pressed to vote for them too.
http://www.sfdonline.org/sfd/Link%20Pages/Link%20Folders/Human%20Rights/repealisa.htmlOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:You won't get sued if you do not go against the law. What has the MP said that is defamatory? On the other hand, Opposition party members time and again have made defamatory remarks, daring government officials to take them to court.
I think because defending gazelle's comments helps him to practise... The more absurd the comments made by Gazelle, the more interesting it is for Oxford Mushroom...Originally posted by fymk:Bangkokboy
If OM says Singapore is as good as it is , he is in fact actually in UK practicing there...am I not wrong OM? Why don't OM come back to Singapore then?
Do you see something wrong with the picture? Gazelle is in Singapore and we know he is in blind defense of the policies because it serves his purpose somehow. However should he fall into the category of needy in the future, we will see him drumming a different tune.
OM is abit too pro government when he is supposedly in the UK instead of staying in Singapore. Smells of a rat somewhere.
maybe they are both brothers in real life..Originally posted by bangkokboy:I think because defending gazelle's comments helps him to practise... The more absurd the comments made by Gazelle, the more interesting it is for Oxford Mushroom...
Originally posted by maurizio13:Wow who said that?
Can anybody tell me what kind of person tells you that,
"I just spend 10 grand on a HT system and on top of that I also bought my dad 2K worth of wine and I just got my wife a 10K watch, plus we are going for a holiday at pimalia resort at krabi which is going to cost us $1200 per night."???
A person who lacks confidence, therefore he needs material needs to justify his status and position?
You don't see Bill Gates going around telling people how much he has just spent on his yacht or plane.
You might be rich in wealth, but poor in soul and spirit.
One of the 2 brothers.Originally posted by bangkokboy:Wow who said that?
Tsk tsk tsk..putting words into my mouth eh? Well, what to expect from you lot...Originally posted by 4getmenot:you should get banned also for posting that websites like sgforums.com should be closed down by the gahmen.![]()