Don't tell me you are so dumb not to find out through the internet? Even Lionnoisy can track down negative reports to portray a negative and loopsided view of Australia.Originally posted by Gazelle:cant to share with us what they are not happy about?
And how much I can reclaim for work purposes? I can buy a 500 dollar brief case with the tax money and still claim back in the following year for work purposes. I can buy equipment which I use occasionally at work and claim as well - my handphone bill I had to claim half for work use since the other is for recreational .Originally posted by Gazelle:how much of the 4 grand you spent goes into tax?
Can you claim that back if you buy a rolex?Originally posted by fymk:And how much I can reclaim for work purposes? I can buy a 500 dollar brief case with the tax money and still claim back in the following year for work purposes. I can buy equipment which I use occasionally at work and claim as well - my handphone bill I had to claim half for work use since the other is for recreational .
Plus I can get tax relief for education needs like textbooks, courses I paid in full for which is related to work, even my computer and internet access . If I use the phone to communicate with a lecturer for study , I get to claim that too.
There is alot I can claim back . Ged got 4k back , I got 3k back.
What can you claim back in Singapore? I remember I got nothing in Singapore.
same here, I just spend 10 grand on a HT system and on top of that I also bought my dad 2K worth of wine and I just got my wife a 10K watch, plus we are going for a holiday at pimalia resort at krabi which is going to cost us $1200 per night.Originally posted by Gedanken:Why should I care? I spend it without feeling any pinch.
Just like why should you care about what is happening in Singapore. If you decided to say bye to Singapore why border to waste you time at sgforum talking about Singapore policy etc etc. Just be a ozy lah, and I am sure singapore has got nothing to lose.Originally posted by fymk:Don't tell me you are so dumb not to find out through the internet? Even Lionnoisy can track down negative reports to portray a negative and loopsided view of Australia.
Anyways why do you care? You don't live there anyway and I doubt you ever lived there long enough to accumulate a good reason to care.
So detailed, have you tried writing fan-fiction?Originally posted by Gazelle:same here, I just spend 10 grand on a HT system and on top of that I also bought my dad 2K worth of wine and I just got my wife a 10K watch, plus we are going for a holiday at pimalia resort at krabi which is going to cost us $1200 per night.
My question here is not about how big or how deep is you pocket, but rather how much tax you have paid for that 4 GRAND.![]()
Because like I said before and let me repeat for your understandably slow comprehension ....I grew up there...Singapore ( not the government) has a place in my memories .Originally posted by Gazelle:Just like why should you care about what is happening in Singapore. If you decided to say bye to Singapore why border to waste you time at sgforum talking about Singapore policy etc etc. Just be a ozy lah, and I am sure singapore has got nothing to lose.
Why? you jealous that we get back so much issit?Originally posted by Gazelle:Can you claim that back if you buy a rolex?
Dont give me that co.ck and bull story, just tell me how much tax you have to pay for spending 4K in Australia.
Nah Gaz just wants to show off from his so called salary how much he has.*YAWN*. 10k watch only meh? why not spend 50k on a watch. Ai yo..fly to resort in your own private jet issit? Aye ...so rich - how come you have to put in a share for a place in Australia? Some persons own 5 or 6 fully paid off properties with their name solely in the title. OH WAIT U ADMITTED YOU LIE about THAT PROPERTY! How do we know you are not telling lies again?Originally posted by Gazelle:same here, I just spend 10 grand on a HT system and on top of that I also bought my dad 2K worth of wine and I just got my wife a 10K watch, plus we are going for a holiday at pimalia resort at krabi which is going to cost us $1200 per night.
My question here is not about how big or how deep is you pocket, but rather how much tax you have paid for that 4 GRAND.![]()
Gazelle, I hate to say this. Can you please stop being such a bollock. Frankly speaking I do not mind to pay 40% tax if i know there is social welfare benefit should i be unemployed.Originally posted by Gazelle:same here, I just spend 10 grand on a HT system and on top of that I also bought my dad 2K worth of wine and I just got my wife a 10K watch, plus we are going for a holiday at pimalia resort at krabi which is going to cost us $1200 per night.
Sorry to hear about your predicament.Originally posted by miserable:Gazelle, I hate to say this. Can you please stop being such a bollock. Frankly speaking I do not mind to pay 40% tax if i know there is social welfare benefit should i be unemployed.
Now I am unemployed for almost 11/2 year,yet still have to pay $600 monthly for the fcuking income tax til April. Blew my trading account,now at the verge of bankruptcy. Likewise with many of my counterparts who become taxi drivers. So what have gahment done for us? Increase GST ?![]()
No worries. I believe i will be able to get out of this predicament. It just that it is sad that there are people like Gazelle who just do not understand that the widening income disparity between the rich and the poor is getting very scary and it affect the middle income really hard.Originally posted by fymk:Sorry to hear about your predicament.
You must understand Gazelle will sing to their tune as long as he reaps benefit. He will only understand what you are going through when he is in your shoes and by then there will be another gazelle to give him a taste of his own medicine.
Like I said, why should I have to worry about the tax on that money? What we're discussing here is the bottom-line effect of the tax system, and to those ends I'm saying that I can spend my money without pain. If I did want to buy another Rolex, the more telling point is that I could buy one without worrying about it, rather than wasting my time going into the ins and outs of tax figures doesn't change that bottom line.Originally posted by Gazelle:Can you claim that back if you buy a rolex?
Dont give me that co.ck and bull story, just tell me how much tax you have to pay for spending 4K in Australia.
fymk, dont act like you are the only smart one in town ok? what I am asking Ged a simply question, how much of the 4 Grand goes into Tax. Period!!Originally posted by fymk:Why? you jealous that we get back so much issit?
Let me make it clear and easy for you to understand how the Australian Taxation works. It is different from Singapore's :
If it is towards education in a tertiary university - 4k spent - no tax
If it is spent on purchases - GST 10% - 400 dollars but if it is on something for work - reclaim 4k the next year . If it is a laptop - u claim depreciation. And rolex don't come so cheap.
Dont get so defensive about your beloved australia my friend. What I am asking here is a very simply and direct question. How much of the 4 grand that you spend goes into tax. I didnt ask you do you feel the pain in spending 4 grand in australia.Originally posted by Gedanken:Like I said, why should I have to worry about the tax on that money? What we're discussing here is the bottom-line effect of the tax system, and to those ends I'm saying that I can spend my money without pain. If I did want to buy another Rolex, the more telling point is that I could buy one without worrying about it, rather than wasting my time going into the ins and outs of tax figures doesn't change that bottom line.
Yes, if you can spend 20 grand in Singapore, good for you - the Singapore tax system obviously works in your favour then. On the other hand, going back to the theme of this thread, that in no way says that tax is a downside in Australia.
Why would you say I'm getting defensive? After all, didn't I say that if you can spend ten grand in Singapore, it's a good thing?Originally posted by Gazelle:Dont get so defensive about your beloved australia my friend. What I am asking here is a very simply and direct question. How much of the 4 grand that you spend goes into tax. I didnt ask you do you feel the pain in spending 4 grand in australia.
Ehh, I was just posting while having my first coffee of the day to get over the effects of last night's champagne.Originally posted by miserable:G'day,Gedanken san. Why are you still here hiding beind the screen. Go, bring your family to the beach and enjoy the summer breeze. Misses the life Under Down.![]()
Havent you noticed that your friend here is broke and out of job? Instead of going for some retail therapy, why not give your friend a helping hand?Originally posted by Gedanken:Ehh, I was just posting while having my first coffee of the day to get over the effects of last night's champagne.
Anyway, it's time for some retail therapy! If you're ever in my neck of the woods, make sure you PM me!
Dude, Is that a personal attack on me ? Anywhere can you afford to lose the amount that I had lost within a year ? Approximately 3/4 of your Sunshine Coast apt.Originally posted by Gazelle:Havent you noticed that your friend here is broke and out of job? Instead of going for some retail therapy, why not give your friend a helping hand?
O'Mate. shall do that when I am in town.Originally posted by Gedanken:Ehh, I was just posting while having my first coffee of the day to get over the effects of last night's champagne.
Anyway, it's time for some retail therapy! If you're ever in my neck of the woods, make sure you PM me!
Ged is in melbourneOriginally posted by miserable:O'Mate. shall do that when I am in town.Btw you are in Melbourne or Sydney ?
I dont really care too much if you are a gambler, but have you ever consider selling your full paid apt and use your 500K CPF to buy your next apt so that you will be able to convert your CPF monies into cash?Originally posted by miserable:Dude, Is that a personal attack on me ? Anywhere can you afford to lose the amount that I had lost within a year ? Approximately 3/4 of your Sunshine Coast apt.
Anywhere there is still another 500 K sitting in my CPF with my apartment fully paid for.But hey,wait a minute.
Now I am in need of fund urgently for basic needs and hopefully to re kick start my career (10% will do). Guess what have the Gahment said ? I can only withdraw the amount when I am sixty
. Dun they understand my need is now, not 20 years later ?
Please take note with the slowing US economy, should our economy really takes a downturn. The middle class burden with such heavy loan commitments (housing, car,credit card),higher GST,FT issue,widening income disparity and protential social problems from casino. We can expect more suicides. I hope you will do well then than boasting your ego now.