The article is written by an ITE chap trained in IT who just got laid off.Originally posted by the Bear:can someone translate that?
This guys a local Singaporean, born and raised in Singapore, graduated from ITE, works as computer technician, started out as an apprentice, worked for above 10 years before he was promoted to supervisor. He said his current salary is only $1000 plus only, yet he can't compete with foreign talents, he said foreign talents are cheap and work long hours, which Singaporeans aren't able to do.Originally posted by the Bear:can someone translate that?
That's why I never train anybody skills that I know, not even Singaporeans, most I will teach is 10-20%, if you want to learn, go to school. I am not paid to be your teacher.Originally posted by fishbuff:i fully understand this chap's predicament. this happened to me when i was working in ncs. first few month slog at one project all by myself, after system is up and running, boss hired PRCs to be my "assistant".. trained him, after he got the hang of it.. i was kicked out of the project.
wah liew...how can so selfish....Originally posted by maurizio13:That's why I never train anybody skills that I know, not even Singaporeans, most I will teach is 10-20%, if you want to learn, go to school. I am not paid to be your teacher.
Originally posted by Mid9Sun:http://www.zaobao.com.sg/yl/yl061222_504.html
Well, this is from today's zaobao which send shivers ..cos i can forsee the same circumstances staring down at me..![]()
come here foreign worker, give them training, education, den become foreign talent lor. den replace local talents.Originally posted by play_n_play:they are not called FT, they are foreign worker...
If you teach all your skills to someone, there won't be any need for you liao.Originally posted by Mid9Sun:wah liew...how can so selfish....
Not selfish la...it is protecting ownself...Originally posted by Mid9Sun:wah liew...how can so selfish....
The old man took the faster road leading to short term higher growth rates at the expense of long term maladies. We took the pill that make us fat in the short run, but lead us to long term starvation in the long run. We are not like Hong Kong who has lots of local home grown industry, their policy of less governmental intervention provided a conducive environment for local industry to grow.Originally posted by kilua:well the government is playing double headed snake. Encouraging people to upgrade their skills, then open the flood gate of foreigners to depress wages. Their policies are the real reason for the widening of income gap.
And because they failed to create an enviroment to grow the local SME, Singapore is over reliant on MNCs to create jobs unlike countries like Taiwan and South Korea. I think Singapore was criticized by Micheal Porter over the FDI strategy.
its not about work attitude, performance, citizenship or skin colour.Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:i think i would value work attitude and performance more than citizenship and skin colour.
if u wanna reserve all the jobs for useless Sinkeeporeans then a lot of FT will KPKB liao loh..
What "just blame urself for staying in sinkapore where things are more expensive then china or india"Originally posted by asdfzhao:its not about work attitude, performance, citizenship or skin colour.
its about the $$ emplyers have to spend on workers.
just blame urself for staying in sinkapore where things are more expensive then china or india.![]()
Like I've said many times, we are bowing to the lowest common denominator in manufacturing, the cost factor, instead of marketing ourselves as a premium brand.Originally posted by kilua:well the government is playing double headed snake. Encouraging people to upgrade their skills, then open the flood gate of foreigners to depress wages. Their policies are the real reason for the widening of income gap.
And because they failed to create an enviroment to grow the local SME, Singapore is over reliant on MNCs to create jobs unlike countries like Taiwan and South Korea. I think Singapore was criticized by Micheal Porter over the FDI strategy.
Please dont blame your boss if he decided to fire you because you kind of approach is incapable to becoming a leader.Originally posted by maurizio13:That's why I never train anybody skills that I know, not even Singaporeans, most I will teach is 10-20%, if you want to learn, go to school. I am not paid to be your teacher.
you need help?Originally posted by BrUtUs:future looks doomed...![]()