Cigarettes harms people.Originally posted by Diesel_Dimension:as long as it harms some1?
Originally posted by maurizio13:Coz it brings in money to the govt.
[b]Cigarettes harms people.
Why is it legal?[/b]
Government is telling the people that profits is above law? Benefits is above justice?Originally posted by Boy Stratus:^ Yea so true. I think if they do have benifts they won't file it under illegal. Gambling oso illegal in my opinon, but we still got the 4D/TOTO stations all over Spore*cough casino opening cough*
Yes.Originally posted by (human):Government is telling the people that profits is above law? Benefits is above justice?
typical isnt it?Originally posted by foomwee88:they let a pte company to take the whole lot of stalls who then sub- let 2 an individual of more than 10 stalls each at say S$2000 who subsequebtly sub- let to unknown ppls for S$ 5k per stall each.
Do u know how much the pte company n the concerned ppls made just 2 play this game during Hari Raya seeson!!!!
Shaking legs at home making more than S$200k p.m
Sillyporeans!!!
But in our teachings, this $ is easy come easy go wont last long cauz no hard work involvedlOriginally posted by dragg:typical isnt it?
it is always the people with the money and the contacts that ended up making all the money.
The link was insightful.Originally posted by kilua:I think the government failed to see the larger picture. By allowing streets stalls, they are encouraging people to start their own business.
I was in Taiwan and there was the really Chio girl selling limewater in one of the street stalls. Looking at the number of people buying drinks from her, i can be certain she makes more money than graduates.
It boils down what kind of enviroment Singapore wants. Clean squeaky clean but a desert for small business? Overcharging small business with expensive internet and postal services to protect their monopolies? And also "protect those cushy posts for scholars" kind of meritorcracy?
If the government wants to encourage Singaporeans to start their business, the government should look at ways to lower cost and reduce barriers and close one eye at some cases if neccessary.
Perhap the worst thing the government can do is to copy the local entrepreneur's idea and fund a new business and compete against them.
i think there is a story on a GLC copying Sim Wong Woo's idea and got busted here.
http://igda.org/Forums/showthread.php?threadid=1846
I guess the need for order can also explain why there are so few muscians busking in the streets. I heard they need to get a licence and give some of the proceeds to the government! This according to my musician friend is really absurb coz these people dont make much and still have to give part of their collection to the government. Also the hassle of getting permit to busk in streets.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:If goverments allow us to setup roads stalls. This is what will happen.
1.Disorder.
2.Spoils the market.
In singapore the goverments wants total order. Things should be law by law.
About the cigratte thing. Yes making money is a issue.
But they are other things to consider
See if they stop importing cigrattes. Its a fatal impact to smokers.
Its telling them directly that smoking in singapore is a NO.
And i dont dare to say that they will be no "riot" kind of thing.
YOU ALL THINK THE GOVERMENT SO STUPID MEH !!
THEY SURLY CONSIDER MORE THINGS THEN US ONE LA.
NOT JUST NOW. BUT MAYB FUNDS IN THE FUTURE OR SOMETHING.
Bad image for sg. Imagine going through a underground tunnel with tons of beggar like musicians performing and begging for money.Originally posted by kilua:I guess the need for order can also explain why there are so few muscians busking in the streets. I heard they need to get a licence and give some of the proceeds to the government! This according to my musician friend is really absurb coz these people dont make much and still have to give part of their collection to the government. Also the hassle of getting permit to busk in streets.
Do we currently have VERY good "image"??Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Bad image for sg. Imagine going through a underground tunnel with tons of beggar like musicians performing and begging for money.![]()
Fully agreed!!!Originally posted by ShutterBug:Do we currently have VERY good "image"??
Let me tell you that there are a lot of well-educated but colorless people in Singapore because of the way the system here brought them up. For example;
>> there are alot of so called educated and "qualified" people who can't work for crap in the real world.
>> well dressed, well educated people who have no sense of respect or courtesy onboard MRT trains
>> educated but lack any REAL resourcefulness or creativity - especially at work, but very good at playing blame-games
Singaporeans have talents in many areas including music and dance. It's just that the system here, STUNTED every one's inclinations, and aspirations.
And FYI, BASKING is not the same as BEGGING.
Begging anyone can do, but can you dance well or sing or play an instrument????
Do you travel?
In New York city, there are tonnes of street musicians. And they make a daily living performing the streets. And mind you, their level of expertise can blow anyone in our region away hands down!
I am not saying I encourage begging, you just need to know the diff between BEGGING & BASKING, and that not EVERYONE must wear a shirt and tie to go to work for a living!
Yes, true.Originally posted by asdfzhao:govt will only allow basking if baskers are taxed income tax. period
Job hop 2 where????Originally posted by asdfzhao:so since they treat it like a company, we shall treat it like a company too
lets job hop!!!
Job hop 2 where????Originally posted by foomwee88:Job hop 2 where????
We r in their figures!!!
And what is illegal in spirit? Because someone disagrees with it? A basic feature of democracy is majority rule. The legislators agree that a particular law is good and passed by a majority vote, it becomes law.Originally posted by LazerLordz:what if the law is illegal in spirit? contravenes the spirit of the constitution and pays no heed to justice but to legal efficiency?
what then?
I'm not talking about street hawkers here.![]()