Right now, it is the same as paying more tax. It's just that 30% is paid in cash.Originally posted by CM06:You are kidding right? Most of us cannot afford to be taxed anymore at this moment. Then what % do you want us to pay? 10/20? I feel that you will end up paying the same amount but it will become 20% cause the cost increase to pay doctors better.
Dont forget, not everyone gets sick all the time. What medisave does is to provide you with a piggy bank when you get into hospital.
More taxes = less for day to day expenses. No way. Living day to day is hard enough as it is.
What 'circumstances' are you talking about? The reason is money...you pay polyclinic doctors half as much as what private GPs are getting and expect them to work three times as hard. Only the stupid ones who cannot find a job anywhere else or cannot pay off the bond will stay...Why are they not paid more? Because Singaporeans like you will complain about medical costs rising. Why are they forced to work so hard? Because Singaporeans like you rant about long queues in polyclinics.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Yes, true you have a point. In this regard, the gov should SERIOUSLY DO SOMETHING about the pathetic Polyclinics - they lack doctors. Why? Because it isn't worthwhile for doctors to work there. Why? Because our gov created such circumstances wherein doctors won't work in Polyclinics!!!
As for smoking; why the HELL, did our gov come up with such a HALF-ASSED idea of dividing smokers from non-smokers at public food centers and coffee shops??? Half-assed solutions, will only yield half-assed results - if not more social problems - such as arguments and fights at food centers and coffee shops.Because non-smokers deserve the right not to be poisoned by carcinogens? Smokers have every right to kill themselves smoking at home, but why should we allow them to give our children cancer?
I'd say total ban of smoking at coffee shops altogteher. No yellow box or whatever. Just no smoking and sale of ciggies.I support that too...but businesses will close. Coffee shop owners will lose money and customers. And if that happens, I will open a private smoking club that charges for the well-heeled smokers to dine and smoke.
You still don't get it don't ya?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Your taxes go to subsidize the 8$ consultation fee at polyclinics and $5 school fees for your children. How much do you pay in taxes? Do you know that the majority of Singaporeans do not have to pay any taxes at all but benefit from all the services?
If you cannot compete, you lose out. The dodo died out when humans, foreign to the island of Mauritius, landed. They were not swift enough to escape and not sufficiently productive to replace their numbers. That's the law of natural selection. If you cannot outcompete foreigners who are more hungry and willing to take less and work more, you will go the way of the dodo and nobosy will shed a tear.
The majority of Singaporeans fall below the tax bracket and do not pay any income tax. Therefore if an increment of say, $300 a year per citizen is needed to implement it, tax payers will end up paying more than $600....because more than half are not liable for income tax at all. If you are prepared to pay more taxes for a welfare state, do most Singaporeans agree?Originally posted by ShutterBug:Right now, it is the same as paying more tax. It's just that 30% is paid in cash.
If Medisave is really meant to be a "Safety Net", it should not require people to pay in cash at all. Of course NO ONE falls ill ALL THE TIME, but all of us are BOUND to come down with some kind of illness when we come of age and die because of it. And if it is to act as a piggy bank of sorts when one is hospitalized, then sad to say, many marginal income earners will have no real piggy bank to bank on except the virtual one which requires a real one in order to use it??
Yes, more taxes equates to less for day to day, but if the high tax can provide sufficiently for us in our old age and in sickness, I say it is worth living with. Since we are young and healthy now, we can work harder to earn more for our daily expenses and whatever strikes our fancy.
For example, I hear a lot of people in UK grumble about high Tax, but when they finally retire and benefit from things such as pensions and FREE medicals, they are all smiles....Its all a matter bitter ending or sweet ending... which?
Right now for us here in SG, all ordinary folks have to work to their bitter end. And no I'm not saying that people shouldn't work when they grow old, but rather, gov should ensure the employment market employs older workers and or senior citizens (and I don't mean like in McDonalds, KFC, etc). I don't why our gov can't do this when the US and Japan are doing it so that the older generations can fend for themselves and not become societal or government burdens.
IN future I forsee a lot of old folks with no children, and out of job plus ill. So therefore our fabled gov turns to foreigners for babies.. tsk tsk tsk.. and they think foreign wombs and sperm will solve the problem. The key factors in low birth rates is in High Living Costs, and NO or LITTLE financial backups in this so called Safety Nets - CPF and Medisave. What about Baby Bonus? Well if it is such a good idea, why isn't there a baby boom already? To make matters worse, they super extend Maternity Leave such that employers a terrified of hiring young females!
And who dares guarantee that if one has children, they will be assured of care and providence from their children when they are old??? Their children will be just as cash strapped as most locals right now - or likely to be worse off to provide for their aged parents sufficiently!
I think their haste to import citizens is basically just for the continued votes to remain in power, and float their empire of financial stash.
First, these foreigners accept lower pay and YET able to live on very little in Singapore to save enough to send money home. Second, what's wrong with the fact that their meagre savings translate into a small fortune at home? Singaporeans can do the same. If you are not earning enough in the face of global competition to maintain the standard of living you are used to, then you can retire in JB or Batam where the costs are lower. Animals migrate elsewhere if the feeding grounds have been taken over by stronger competitors. Third, it is good that foreigners leave when they no longer can work in Singapore. They will contribute to our economy and not consume our services in their old age.Originally posted by ShutterBug:You still don't get it don't ya?
The foreigners are not settling for less, because their less is their MORE when converted back to their currencies. ANd when inflation in their own countries catches up, they will be flying off elsewhere in swarms as they did arrive in swarms.
And this has nothing to do with Natural Selection, it is basically just dirty human POLITICS, and GREED.
About taking less; why don't our gov and their silver-spoon ministers take LESS??? Why should we vote them, pay them startospheric salaries to make us all slog our whole life and still die poor???
I know your usual template reply; "..foreigners accept lower pay and YET able to live on very little".Originally posted by oxford mushroom:First, these foreigners accept lower pay and YET able to live on very little in Singapore to save enough to send money home. Second, what's wrong with the fact that their meagre savings translate into a small fortune at home? Singaporeans can do the same. If you are not earning enough in the face of global competition to maintain the standard of living you are used to, then you can retire in JB or Batam where the costs are lower. Animals migrate elsewhere if the feeding grounds have been taken over by stronger competitors. Third, it is good that foreigners leave when they no longer can work in Singapore. They will contribute to our economy and not consume our services in their old age.
Ah...the usual peeve about ministers' salaries. Ng Eng Hen was earning more than a million a year as a private breast surgeon. If we want him to leave his lucrative job at the height of his career to work as a minister, why should he accept anything less than a million? A salary cut of 10-20% may be a sacrifice, but to half his salary will be too much to ask. If you want someone of his calibre, you have to pay almost the market price.
he may be a top-notch surgeon in the medical field but what has that got to do with his ability to serve as a politician?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:First, these foreigners accept lower pay and YET able to live on very little in Singapore to save enough to send money home. Second, what's wrong with the fact that their meagre savings translate into a small fortune at home? Singaporeans can do the same. If you are not earning enough in the face of global competition to maintain the standard of living you are used to, then you can retire in JB or Batam where the costs are lower. Animals migrate elsewhere if the feeding grounds have been taken over by stronger competitors. Third, it is good that foreigners leave when they no longer can work in Singapore. They will contribute to our economy and not consume our services in their old age.
Ah...the usual peeve about ministers' salaries. Ng Eng Hen was earning more than a million a year as a private breast surgeon. If we want him to leave his lucrative job at the height of his career to work as a minister, why should he accept anything less than a million? A salary cut of 10-20% may be a sacrifice, but to half his salary will be too much to ask. If you want someone of his calibre, you have to pay almost the market price.
Health is an individual responsibility indeed. Smokers decide what they want to do with their own help. You can stay away from cigarettes if you want to.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Health should be an individual responsibility. No point giving a liver transplant to an alcoholic and no reason why non-smokers should pay for treatment of smoking-related diseases. The role of exercise and sugar in the pathogenesis of diseases is harder to quantify, unlike smoking, which contains multiple known carcinogens.
Tax smokers till they smoke no more!
ShutterBug,Originally posted by ShutterBug:You still don't get it don't ya?
The foreigners are not settling for less, because their less is their MORE when converted back to their currencies. ANd when inflation in their own countries catches up, they will be flying off elsewhere in swarms as they did arrive in swarms.
And this has nothing to do with Natural Selection, it is basically just dirty human POLITICS, and GREED.
About taking less; why don't our gov and their silver-spoon ministers take LESS??? Why should we vote them, pay them startospheric salaries to make us all slog our whole life and still die poor???
I respect dracky the way he presented himself.Originally posted by dracky:Health is an individual responsibility indeed. Smokers decide what they want to do with their own help. You can stay away from cigarettes if you want to.
Life is about compromises. Government is also about compromises. There will not be a way to satisfy everybody. There should be some smoke-free places and there should also be some places where smokers can smoke.
Originally posted by ShutterBug:Why is it wrong for the government to keep inflation low and the nation competitive by allowing employers to hire foreigners to do the jobs Singaporeans don't want at the price offered? Without these FT, employers will have to move their businesses elsewhere and more Singaporeans will lose their jobs.
Of course there is nothing wrong with foreigners coming here working for less and still send home money, but it is wrong when our gov doesn't put a limit to the amount of jobs lost to foreigners - be it specialized, skilled, or unskilled and or even a humble sales assistant, leaving locals at wits end as to how to support their families.
Don't go talking to me about how one must out-compete and all that jazz... coz no matter what, a local's living cost cannot be compared to that of foreigners who are here to scoop and go.Your usual comment. Well, Singaporeans can scoop and go by working in Europe and US in the same way..
If they are so friggin qualified and glorified, why on earth are they now incorporating Casinos, turning to foreigners for talents and babies, putting up such an expensive wayang over the NKF saga, and many other blakang puseng policies and bright ideas???Haha...if any other political party has better ideas, why is it that they cannot convince Singaporeans to vote for them over the past 41 years? The casinos will provide jobs for low-skilled Singaporeans who cannot otherwise find well-paid employment. Governing a nation is not easy and everyone makes mistakes but on the whole, they have done extremely well to bring Singapore to where we are today without any natural resources. No wonder so many Malaysian Chinese want to be PRs here...ask Khaw Boon Wan, he was from Penang..
Originally posted by Lowclassman:How typical of you...tsk tsk...no wonder Opposition parties never do well at Elections. With people like you supporting them, who needs enemies? Resorting to vulgarities when you cannot win an argument seems to be your forte
ShutterBug,
Don't waste your breath talking to the two idiots.
They simply talking with their arse holes.............they have not seen the world and talking like big arse holes. They don't understand the logic behind.
What we are saying is hoping the govt would relax a little bit more. Hoping PAP would spare a thought for the average and poors by letting us have more air to breath and have slight more pocket $$$ to cope with living cost.And what I am saying is that you cannot expect the government to stop the clock. The world will merely pass us by. Do the Chinese and the Indians care that you cannot catch up?
Now, Tobacco taxes are collected on the expense of smokers.And I say the taxes are not enough. If you want to smoke and pollute the air, you deserve to be heavily taxed for that right. Singapore is not the police state you advocate, where people are not allowed to choose an unhealthy personal lifestyle if they wish to, as long as they do not become a liability to non-smokers. If you want to poison yourself in your own home, there's no reason why anyone should stop you, so long as you do not expect non-smokers to pay for your smoking related diseases.
Not all smokers died from lung cancer or heart diseases or relate illness due to smoking.................
The fact here....on one hand they collected so much revenue and taxes$$$ and had surplus at most time; on the other hand, they keep increasing taxes, fares and fees....................so what is the logic here?You have no figures to back you up. Singapore's taxes are among the lowest in the world and even Shutterbug wants to increase it further to pay for more comprehensive healthcare subsidies. Singapore's polyclinic consultation fees are so low that they are ridiculous...school fees are sp negligible it appears our teachers are working for free.
knn, dun talk so much. R u living in singapore now in the first place? U should shut up and be happy what u have now. If u want to argue, come to singapore work and live. And ya, u r so patriot, u should work in singapore for free to help the poor? U should lead an example. Dun talk so much of figures and theory if u are not even in the shoes.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You have no figures to back you up. Singapore's taxes are among the lowest in the world and even Shutterbug wants to increase it further to pay for more comprehensive healthcare subsidies. Singapore's polyclinic consultation fees are so low that they are ridiculous...school fees are sp negligible it appears our teachers are working for free.
Yet Singaporeans demand ever better services...you want more, you have to pay more!
Talking through yer ass again....Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Why is it wrong for the government to keep inflation low and the nation competitive by allowing employers to hire foreigners to do the jobs Singaporeans don't want at the price offered? Without these FT, employers will have to move their businesses elsewhere and more Singaporeans will lose their jobs.
Those who cannot compete with foreign workers can bring their skills to Australia, Europe and US if they can get a higher pay. After all, following your own argument, their income in wealthier economies will go further for their families in Singapore. If the Indians, Chinese and Filipinos are willing to make that sacrifice for their families, why not us?
Your usual comment. Well, Singaporeans can scoop and go by working in Europe and US in the same way..
Haha...if any other political party has better ideas, why is it that they cannot convince Singaporeans to vote for them over the past 41 years? The casinos will provide jobs for low-skilled Singaporeans who cannot otherwise find well-paid employment. Governing a nation is not easy and everyone makes mistakes but on the whole, they have done extremely well to bring Singapore to where we are today without any natural resources. No wonder so many Malaysian Chinese want to be PRs here...ask Khaw Boon Wan, he was from Penang..
Well said!!!Originally posted by SpeedStar:knn, dun talk so much. R u living in singapore now in the first place? U should shut up and be happy what u have now. If u want to argue, come to singapore work and live. And ya, u r so patriot, u should work in singapore for free to help the poor? U should lead an example. Dun talk so much of figures and theory if u are not even in the shoes.
Knn......Since when did pap keep the inflation down?????Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You have no figures to back you up. Singapore's taxes are among the lowest in the world and even Shutterbug wants to increase it further to pay for more comprehensive healthcare subsidies. Singapore's polyclinic consultation fees are so low that they are ridiculous...school fees are sp negligible it appears our teachers are working for free.
Yet Singaporeans demand ever better services...you want more, you have to pay more!
YEs..many Malaysian want to be PRs....have you wonder why are they NOT becoming singapore citizens....Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Haha...if any other political party has better ideas, why is it that they cannot convince Singaporeans to vote for them over the past 41 years? The casinos will provide jobs for low-skilled Singaporeans who cannot otherwise find well-paid employment. Governing a nation is not easy and everyone makes mistakes but on the whole, they have done extremely well to bring Singapore to where we are today without any natural resources. No wonder so many Malaysian Chinese want to be PRs here...ask Khaw Boon Wan, he was from Penang..
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:where r u, joker?
Haha...if any other political party has better ideas, why is it that they cannot convince Singaporeans to vote for them over the past 41 years? The casinos will provide jobs for low-skilled Singaporeans who cannot otherwise find well-paid employment. Governing a nation is not easy and everyone makes mistakes but on the whole, they have done extremely well to bring Singapore to where we are today without any natural resources. No wonder so many Malaysian Chinese want to be PRs here...ask Khaw Boon Wan, he was from Penang..
Originally posted by Lowclassman:Bro.,
YEs..many Malaysian want to be PRs....have you wonder why are they [b]NOT becoming singapore citizens....
I knew a friend, he was senior civil engineer or in fact he was promoted to principle Engineer working in HDB.....He told me what for I become sinkapore citizen...I would retire in Malaysia when get old and enjoy life in my own country.
You believe the craps of Pap? Singapore have no natural resources?
Without the deep sea port and situated in an ideal location of the world...sinkapore will NOT be what is today!!! LKY is not satan that he could transform singapore with magic....
Knn....our natural deep sea port and God gifted locality that situated in the middle of West and East that made our port an excellent terminal for Ocean liners and cargo vessels to transist. Sir Stamford Raffles knew this hundreds of years ago......or otherwise he wouldn't have chosen sinkapore!!!
Knn.........................![]()
Hahaha...that was my point..if you think you can earn more somewhere else, nothing's stopping you from going elsewhere to work. Why rant about PRCs who are willing to accept lower pay and yet have a comfortable life in China? If people want you, go to Europe, USA, Australia and do the same as FT.Originally posted by SpeedStar:knn, dun talk so much. R u living in singapore now in the first place? U should shut up and be happy what u have now. If u want to argue, come to singapore work and live. And ya, u r so patriot, u should work in singapore for free to help the poor? U should lead an example. Dun talk so much of figures and theory if u are not even in the shoes.
As usual, talking without a shred of evidence. Look at the figures for inflation:Originally posted by ShutterBug:Are they, the Gov, REALLY keeping inflation down or ACCELERATING it by introducing a 2% increase in GST? Even with all these foreigners, businesses are already eyeing other countries to operate in. What you talking? You think our gov so farking perfect?? Why then the about-turn in aceepting Casinos?
They ran out of ideas and are BACK TRACKING into the PAST!!!!
You and your comparisons with 3rd world countries. First off, local families cannot afford to go into the jungle to shoot or trap wild games for food while the bread winner goes abroad to work.Who is shooting in the jungle? While you are shooting off in bed foreign workers leave their families behind to work in Singapore so that they can remit money back to their families. Families of foreign workers enjoy a much better quality of life, which is why they are flcoking to work in Singapore, Malaysia, Europe etc.
Singaporeans can are indeed doing likewise, scooping and going in other countries. The difference that you continue to ignore is that our population vs the population size of those countries you compare us with; USA, Europe, etc. If the entire population fo Singapore go to these countries to take jobs in USA, the won't even feel a thing because of their sheer size in population. What's the matter with you? Too crap jammed up there to understand this??Haha...just shot yourself in the foot. If the entire Singaporean population can take jobs overseas that pay better, what are you ranting about here? This is the global economy...if it is better for you to work somewhere else, go..
Originally posted by Lowclassman:Nothing is stopping you from buying a cheaper but bigger house in Malaysia and do the same. Singaporeans who cannot afford the lifestyle they want here are free to obtain it elsewhere. That's precisely the benefits of globalisation.
YEs..many Malaysian want to be PRs....have you wonder why are they [b]NOT becoming singapore citizens....
I knew a friend, he was senior civil engineer or in fact he was promoted to principle Engineer working in HDB.....He told me what for I become sinkapore citizen...I would retire in Malaysia when get old and enjoy life in my own country.[/b]
You believe the craps of Pap? Singapore have no natural resources?Haha...Nigeria has plenty of oil and other natural resources but its people are far from wealthy. Natural resources that are ill-managed is a curse. The ruling party has done well to capitalize on the few advantages we have but our ports will diminish in importance very soon. Shanghai is quickly overtaking Singapore as the busiest port in the world...we are doing a good job holding out for so long but eventually they will beat us. China is the factory of the world...
Without the deep sea port and situated in an ideal location of the world...sinkapore will NOT be what is today!!! LKY is not satan that he could transform singapore with magic....
Knn....our natural deep sea port and God gifted locality that situated in the middle of West and East that made our port an excellent terminal for Ocean liners and cargo vessels to transist. Sir Stamford Raffles knew this hundreds of years ago......or otherwise he wouldn't have chosen sinkapore!!!
I can and some locals can, but majority don't have the means to work abroad. Re-read my posting to understand my pointer to population size differences.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Haha...just shot yourself in the foot. If the entire Singaporean population can take jobs overseas that pay better, what are you ranting about here? This is the global economy...if it is better for you to work somewhere else, go..
My guess is that you are ranting because you cannot compete with the foreigners and yet do not have a marketable skill that other countries might want. In that case, get off your bed and upgrade yourself
Those figures yuu call concepts, are in my eyes, LIES.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:As usual, talking without a shred of evidence. Look at the figures for inflation:
Annual Growth in Labour Productivity (%) 1.9
Annual Inflation Rate (%) 0.5
http://www.singstat.gov.sg/keystats/annual/indicators.html
An inflation rate of 0.5% is among the lowest in the world...FT have contributed to the increased productivity and the low inflation rate. But these are concepts that are too difficult for you to understand...